11/16-Cini Mini PMBG/198, +2/158 ATrak -Skipped PM Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56538

So this is how yesterday's readings went:

AMPS - 260
+2 - 185
+6 - 76
+11 - 108
+12 - 89
+13 - 124

I didn't give a PMPS because of the low readings at +11 and it looked like it was going down at +12. I fed Cini some 8% food and gave him his evening Pepcid in some Nutrical which is 30% carbs.

When I do his AMPS this morning should I reduce it from .50 to .25? Or give .50 anyway? This will be the 5th cycle at .50 units.

Also, if you read the condo, I am using an Alpha Trak meter so I am confused as to how much bearing that has in Cini's BG readings.
 
Re: 11/16- Cini Mini - Need Help dosing for AMPS

I'm not experienced enough to provide dosing advice. Hopefully someone will be along to help you with it soon. Good luck!
 
Re: 11/16- Cini Mini - Need Help dosing for AMPS

Hi Cathy, have you tested Cini this morning? We have read that the Alpha Trak reads 30 points higher than a human meter but we haven't done any testing ourselves to compare. Anne just adjusted our spreadsheet to adjust the ranges for the colors to reflect that. Sure made us feel better! :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 11/16- Cini Mini - Need Help dosing for AMPS

Good morning! Since you use the AT, Cini Mini earned a reduction yesterday from the 76. Your target range for AT meter is 80-150....reductions are earned by falling below 80 for newly diagnosed cats. Your new dose starting this morning is 0.25u. Congrats on the dosecrease!

Could you please add a prominent note on your SS about the AT meter? We want to make sure everyone knows about it...it's important!

I looked at your condo from yesterday...I'm a big fan of compounded meds. I had ABs compounded by a local pharmacy for Mr T when he had a chronic URI (I had to give them for 3 months)...it made our life MUCH easier! He loved the taste, he would open his mouth and let me squirt the chicken flavored liquid right in! :-D
 
Re: 11/16- Cini Mini - Need Help dosing for AMPS

Thanks for the info Laurie.

Cini's AMPS reading is 195 on the AlphaTrak so I will go ahead and give him .25 of the Lantus.

I'll update his spreadsheet as well.
 
Re: 11/16- Cini Mini - AMPS is 195, Gave .25 units Lantus

OK, updated the spreadsheet with a heading at the top. That will help me as well to remember to look at the BG readings in a different light now.

Laurie, I can't wait to get the new compounded meds today. I am going to try to put it in a little soy sauce dish first and see if Cini will just lick it up.

Thanks everyone for your quick responses and well wishes. It's so nice to have found a group that cares so much :-D
 
Re: 11/16- Cini Mini - AMPS is 195, +2/126 Alpha Trak

Hi guys .. congrats on the dose reduction! This mornings numbers are looking mighty nice too, great job guys! I hope you get the meds soon, sounds like it will be much easier for you .. have a great day!
 
Re: 11/16- Cini Mini - AMPS is 195, +2/126, +4/67 Alpha Trak

Wow, this day brings more surprises. Cini was 67 at +2 using the Alpha Trak(which if I understand correctly would be 37?)

Another reduction for tonight? What's less than .25 units?
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini-AMPS/195,+2/126,+4/67 ATrak- More Questi

Cathy, you definitely need advice from a dosing expert. I suggest you put a stronger message in your subject line like "HELP dosing advice". :smile: I think the dosing experts are very busy right now with Jill being with her DH and Laurie and Mr. Tinkles said on our condo that she was busy and didn't visit unless someone asked for help. Looking good! Yes, we are all as crazy about our cats as you are about yours.

You need to bring Cini up to over 80 on the Alpha Trak. Did you give him high carbs? Test again in 20 mins. I'm off to class. Be back in a little over an hour.
Liz
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini-AMPS/195,+2/126,+4/67 ATrak- More Questi

Hi Liz,

Yes. I fed Cini Friskies Chicken and Gravy (16% carbs). I just took his BG again 30 mins after the +2 and it was 70 so I gave him some more of the food.
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +2/126,+4/67, +4.5/70 ATrak- More Questi

Hi Cathy,

Not too much food -- you want Cini Miini to have an appetite until he's stabilized.
1 Tbsp HC gravy generally does the trick, with a drop of karo or honey.
I'm at work but will try and keep an eye out.

Test every 15 mins and "lather rinse & repeat" as needed until the BGs are over 80. Then continue to test every 3- 30 mins as karo as HC/karo can wear off and number may go down again.
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +2/126,+4/67, +4.5/70 ATrak- More Questi

Thanks Sandy.

I just tested him again +5 is now 101 on the AlphaTrak. I did remember this time not to load him up too much on the HC food and gave more like a tablespoon which he licked off all the gravy and left the solids. He hasn't had anything else to eat since then.

Otherwise he seems to be fine, he's sitting in a chair in the window listening to the birds and occasionally batting at me as I walk by.

I'll test again in another 30 mins.
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +4/67, +4.5/70, +5/101 ATrak- More Quest

Great.

As far as whats lower than .25u, when BK was ready to reduce we went to 0.1u.
You can get a good look at doses under .25u here.
(time for a magnifying glass)
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +4/67, +4.5/70, +5/101 ATrak- More Quest

Hi Cathy, just got out of class. Good job! I had a little panic attack when I saw the 911 icon on your condo so I'm really glad to see he's doing fine. Very exciting! I think you can take off the 911 icon unless you are still worried.
Liz
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +4/67, +4.5/70, +5/101 ATrak- More Quest

Wow! I definelty will have to get a magnifying lens! Suddenly I am dealing with drops instead of units.

By the way, his +5.5 was 132 and Cini is getting aggravated with the ear poking cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini+4.5/70,+5/101,+5.5/132 ATrak- More Quest

Another kitty on a mission! The numbers may drop again when the HC wears off, so you need to keep testing, any updates? Good job catching the low!

I think you can take off the 911 now.

I used reading glasses and a lighted magnifier to measure doses. You also can buy a syringe magnifier inexpensively, you might find one at your local pharmacy. I haven't used one, but it looks like it might work pretty well. I would practice measuring the 0.1u dose...remember that consistency is more important that having an exact dose. You want to give the same amount each time.
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini+5/101,+5.5/132, +7/154 ATrak- More Quest

Hi Laurie. Just took a +7 reading and it was 154 with the AlphaTrak.

So, I think we're good for now.

Too bad I can't use the syringes I just got with the liquid meds that just came. They measure in .10ths of a unit, but they say for oral use only and they don't come with needles.
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/214 ATrak

+11 looking pretty good at 214 (or 184 for AlphaTrak adjustment)

I also made a second tab to Cini's spreadsheet with a color coding and formula that adjusts the numbers entered in the first tab to what they would be on a regular BG monitor.

Boy that second tab paints a whole different picture :shock:
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/218, +12/198 ATrak

His +12 went down to 198.

This morning it was 195 and I had all that trouble with him. I think I am going to skip again tonight.
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/214 ATrak

Cini Mini's Mom said:
+11 looking pretty good at 214 (or 184 for AlphaTrak adjustment)

I also made a second tab to Cini's spreadsheet with a color coding and formula that adjusts the numbers entered in the first tab to what they would be on a regular BG monitor.

Boy that second tab paints a whole different picture :shock:
I think you made a double adjustment in that you subtracted the 30 points AND changed the color ranges. It seems that you could do either one but not both to make a fair comparison. Cini is looking great.
Liz
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/214 ATrak

Anne & Zener said:
I think you made a double adjustment in that you subtracted the 30 points AND changed the color ranges. It seems that you could do either one but not both to make a fair comparison. Cini is looking great.
Liz

Oh ok, I thought I had to do both? So if I subtract the 30 points I should leave the color coding with the ....oohhhhhh ok, I get it. The color coding is for a regular monitor that's NOT an AlphaTrak. Duh... ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/218, +12/198 ATrak

The 218 and the 198 are pretty much the same number. There's up to 20% variance that's attributable to the meter. I think you'd be fine to shoot the reduced dose.
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/218, +12/198 ATrak

I would now be a half hour late on schedule if I gave it now which means I would have to give a further reduced dose tomorrow morning if I want to stay on schedule. I don't think I can see what less than .10 would be @-)
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/218, +12/198 ATrak

Cini Mini's Mom said:
Anne & Zener wrote:I think you made a double adjustment in that you subtracted the 30 points AND changed the color ranges. It seems that you could do either one but not both to make a fair comparison. Cini is looking great.
Liz



Oh ok, I thought I had to do both? So if I subtract the 30 points I should leave the color coding with the ....oohhhhhh ok, I get it. The color coding is for a regular monitor that's NOT an AlphaTrak. Duh... ohmygod_smile

I'm not getting it :?
Why not change t he colors as well?

It's a great idea and the colors do paint a different picture.
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/218, +12/198 ATrak

Cini Mini's Mom said:
I would now be a half hour late on schedule if I gave it now which means I would have to give a further reduced dose tomorrow morning if I want to stay on schedule. I don't think I can see what less than .10 would be @-)

Are you skipping tonight's shot?
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/218, +12/198 ATrak

wow cathy, i work 3 days and look what you've had going on! cini mini appears to be tired of this poking/insulin routine - hang in there with that tiny dose for the next little bit and you're going to be set!
 
Re: 11/16-Cini Mini +5.5/132, +7/154, +11/218, +12/198 ATrak

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I'm not getting it :?
Why not change t he colors as well?

It's a great idea and the colors do paint a different picture.


Hi Sandy. Because the original spreadsheet color coding is set up for a non-AlphaTrak monitor. So if I make a formula on the second tab to automatically subtract 30 points from the BG readings then the numbers will be in line with the spreadsheet color coding.
 
Cini Mini's Mom said:
Hi Sandy. Because the original spreadsheet color coding is set up for a non-AlphaTrak monitor. So if I make a formula on the second tab to automatically subtract 30 points from the BG readings then the numbers will be in line with the spreadsheet color coding.
I can't wrap my mind around that. :oops: To me, the 2nd tab is the real picture.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top