11/9- Cini Mini - PMPS is 155,+3/166, +9/172

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - AMPS 174, +2/139 - Hey, looking good :

hey cathy - really looking great. just fyi - some cats don't spend much time on insulin, and while none of us has a crystal ball, i wonder if cini mini is going to be one of them.

you're getting a great response on a very small amount of insulin, and it looks like the bouncing factor is very, very small (ie, his bounce of the morning of the 7th resolved by the evening) - i'm just thinking you should really stay on top of his testing. if his pancreas is sputtering back to life and putting out insulin as well, you will have to respond quickly by giving the high carbs and reducing his dose, just like you did yesterday. i would probably try to get a pm test around +4 so you know if he's going lower. an 83 at +8 last night was probably already on the rise. you don't want him dipping into the 40's at pm +5 or +6 without you catching it.

i could be way off base, but you've done a great job of getting tests and the picture that is emerging looks to me like a really awesome one. so be of good cheer and keep it up! :-D
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - AMPS 174, +2/139 - Hey, looking good :

Hey Julie, I just took Cini's BG and it's 83 at the +4.5 mark. I was just about to feed him a little as well (not HC food, just a little treat).

Yes, I am really encouraged by the results I'm getting on this protocol as well. Actually before he had the emergency Vet issue he was on a once a day in the morning schedule for insulin, but i didn't keep the dose steady instead the Vet had me dose to a scale for his BG reading that morning. (i.e if it was 150 or below give none, 151 to 250 give .5 units, etc)

I now have his PMPS time moved back to 10pm so I can stay up another hour and get a +1, in fact I have to stay up late for work this weekend so I can get some evening readings. I am trying to get him back to his original 8am/8pm schedule which was great because I could get a +2 or even a +4 reading if needed.
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - AMPS 174, +2/139, +4.5/83

I'd actually give Cini a teaspoon of LC food and see if you can keep the surf going.
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - AMPS 174, +2/139, +4.5/83

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd actually give Cini a teaspoon of LC food and see if you can keep the surf going.


Yep, that's what I did :-D

I'll check his BG again in about an hour.
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - AMPS 174, +2/139, +4.5/83, +6/99

+6 is 99 and looking fine :-D

I have to leave the house for a few hours so I won't be able to get his next reading till his PMPS at 10pm MST tonight.
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - AMPS 174, +2/139, +4.5/83, +6/99, +10/

Jealous!!! Tiki's numbers aren't doing a dang thing! They mock me! LOL
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - PMPS is 155, shoot or no shoot?

Well Sandy, glad you asked. Cini's PMPS is 155.

Confused here on what I should do. If I give .75 units and it's bedtime I won't have the ability to check him every hour so. I could give a reduced doe of .50 units and feed him? Or should I feed him and skip all together tonight?
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - PMPS is 155, shoot or no shoot?

did you decide already?

if it were me, i'd shoot something. if it were me, i'd shoot the regular dose, actually, then set an alarm and check at +2 and see what he's doing. you don't have to check every hour, you check and then decide when you should check again.

your other options include waiting 30 minutes without feeding, retesting and deciding on that number if you feel ok shooting or not.

you can shoot a token dose as well, say 1/2 of a regular dose.

i'll check back to see what you decided and if you need someone to stay with you.
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - PMPS is 155, shoot or no shoot?

Hey Julie, I fed him and decided on .50 units. (I didn't know how to get half of .75 exactly)

My guess was that he needed to get something so that's why I went with the almost half dose.

No need to stay up with me. I'll set the alarm for 2 hours from now and see what kind of reading I get then.
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - PMPS is 155, gave .5 units

sounds good.

so looking at his ss, look at the preshot numbers and the +2 numbers. if the +2 was quite a bit less, you saw a lot of action with cini mini. that's what you're going to look for tonight at +2 - how far the movement is. you had an amps of 169 the morning of the 6th, and then 126 2 hours later. by +6 he was under 50.

nothing repeats exactly, but that's a guideline for you at least for what you might expect. if i think punkin might go under at +6, i would definitely be checking 1-1.5 hrs earlier to catch it.

i set the alarm, test, feed if necessary and go back to bed all within 5 minutes. no snuggles from me - back to sleep! i'm sure things will go ok tonight - you're like an old pro!

if you're going to be around tomorrow to monitor and he doesn't go below 50 tonight, return to your regular .75 dose in the morning.
 
Re: 11/9- Cini Mini - PMPS is 155, +3/166

Slept past the alarm for +2 but woke up at +3 because I thought I heard a noise. Cini was sleeping next to me the entire time and when I moved he grumbled as if to say "Would you mind?!? I'm sleeping here!" :lol:

Anyway, 166 at +3 ... really? really?

I think he is falling back in to his old pattern of "once a day kitty" for the insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top