10/31 Junior AMPS 220, curve done 10/29

Status
Not open for further replies.
The curve looks fine and negative ketones are always good.

The curve isn't the issue. In many ways, it can be better to get spot checks -- at least one every AM and PM cycle -- than a curve. Is there any way humanly possible that you can do this? You could easily be putting Junior at risk by not getting any tests other than pre-shot tests and an occasional curve.

Ordinarily, we would be making suggestions regarding dose changes. I can't do this without feeling that I could be risking Junior's safety. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir. One curve and 3 spot checks in a 3 week period means you could miss catching low numbers. Please see this post from Jill about testing and dosing.
 
Hi Kay! First, consistancy is very important with lantus..It takes time to find the right dose..Looks from this particular curve that he had a late nadir on 10/29..You have had some blue along the way, but you need to test more as the data is so so important...I see that you do work, so some members here get up earlier & shoot earlier, so that they can get at least one test n before leaving for work, but many work all day...
Do you give some real or freeze dried chicken when testing? It does distract them & makes testing much easier..
Please remember if you are going to increase, the protocol here is to increase by 0.25U -most vets have different ideas. I suggest you ask our dosing helpers-Sienne, Libby, CD, Jill about increasing Junior's dose..
You are doing very well & Yellows are consistant..You can put dosing help in your subject line.
Is anyone home to test him while you are out?
Also a good thing to have is an auto feeder, so food is available while you are gone..
You are doing fine..Keep asking questions, and posting.
 
I am going to look at an automatic feeder for mid-day, or midnight, I do have to work, and the distance is time consuming, therefore the 6 & 6 on his shots and feedings.
DH is at work all day too, and can handle shots but not testing.

Saturdays is day off, Sundays is often work., for me.

I can do a spot check at midnight if that would help, but then should I feed 3rd meal/snack during the day or at night?

He gets PureBites freeze dried chix for tests/treats, and all lo carb wet food, am I not feeding enough, or to much, he gets 2.75 oz per meal ( 1/2 can ) and his third meal is about 1/2 that.

I am trying to get together a few locals just for shots as DH's mom just had surgery, and my mom is still ill. As it is, we split visits to parents back home, we don't mind, it just means working it out!
 
wow - you do have alot on your plate. Roni has some great suggestions - I hope some will help you out. I know they did for me. The auto feeder will really help, as will spot testing when you can. after a while the overall picture of what junior is doing becomes more clear. It should be cool if you can get someone to help you - that is really nice!
 
Hi guys .. great job on getting in that curve! Like others have said, spot checks are so important, but I can see you are juggling a lot right now .. An auto feeder would probably help you guys out greatly .. I hope junior comes down to some blues today .. have a great day!
 
i took care of both of my parents as they aged - it's an overwhelming responsibility and can be so stressful. you do have a lot going on. good job on getting that curve in! i think your idea of a midnight test every night is fabulous! that would tell a lot about how low junior might be going at night.

are you saying you're feeding him about 3 times a day? i feed punkin 4 times a day (with shot and +3) and if anything, i think i'd go to more often over less often. it's helpful to keep their food in the first 4ish hours after each shot. that keeps the main bulk of the food when the lantus is most potent.

if you don't have/want a feeder, you can also freeze the can of food and leave a "puck" out to thaw and be eaten later. mix the food with some water and try using a muffin pan.

good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top