10/11 Leo +12 92, +15 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53961

The day is here nailbite_smile. I know i didn't sleep well, kept tossing and turning and waking up, Leo won't sleep with me when i get like that so he spent the night in his kitty bed.

This morning we had a good test, shoot and feed. I tried to eyeball a skinny 0.50 this morning and fed Leo a teaspoon of 10% FF elegant medley to keep him from dipping too low while he's at the vet. I think he wondered where the rest of his breffis was, but he's sitting on the couch with me right now purring up a storm and we had some good cuddles and headbutts.

Please please please LL, keep Leo in your thoughts today for a good dental.
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Many thoughts and prayers for Leo today! We all understand how nerve-wracking it is, but he'll be back home before you know it. We'll be watching for updates!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Morning Tracy, oh I forgot, today is the day. Sending good Vetty vines for all to go well and calming vines for you. That's a good idea with the Elegant Medleys to keep Leo from dropping. The rules have changed, thank goodness. I had to withhold food from Mags at 9:00 pm the night before dental, much too long! Good luck, stay calm, and we'll be waiting to hear. Hugs.
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Hi guys .. of course we will be sending good dental thoughts leo's way .. I know he will be fine, he's a trooper and a small thing like a dental isn't going to slow that little man down .. hugs and prayers from us!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Hey Leo, my pal: I'm sending you some really good vetty vines for your dental today. You'll do fine. And tonight you'll be ready to party at the Full Hunters' Moon party in my barn. We'll all be mousering and we'll grill them up real tender so you can eat them easily. See you later.
Rusty


Hi Tracy, Don't worry. All will be fine. Sending positive thoughts and good dental vines to your boy.

Ella
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

sending good dental vines Leo's way...and The KTSS
will be ready for his spa treatment when he gets home!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

LEO!! My buddy! Don't worry dude - ti will be A-OK. I just had mine a few weeks ago... piece of cake! Be good - cuz we gots a party tonight - full moon party and we need your help with the mouse hunt! I will picks you up later - Mannie

Good luck Tracy - he will be fine. Let us know when you have an update. :-D
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Sending good vetty vines and positive thoughts to Leo and you today. Tess says the spa is restocked and the kitty masseuses are on call.❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Healing good mouth vibes for Leo and calm down mama bean vibes for Tracy. Oh how we hate to leave our babies in the care of anyone else!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Well I dropped Leo off at the vet clinic. He will be the 2nd dental today and won't go in until after lunch at the latest. His bloodwork results will be in right now at 8:30.

The vet Andrea and I had our usual argument about metacam. She tried making me feel guilty about putting Leo thru unnecessary pain by not giving metacam and putting him at risk for infection. She said she would be forced to give him a really high dose of bupe to compensate. He would spend the next few days "gorked out" from bupe, that was her medical term....hahaha gimmie a break! What kind of dosage of bupe should Leo be getting? He weighs 7.9 kg, or close to 18lbs.

She also wants me to stop giving insulin, she saw Leo's SS and feels he's going too low and should be between 5-10 mmol/l. I'm going to print out a copy of the protocol to give to her when I pick Leo up this afternoon.

I gave Leo lots of hugs and kisses when I left, I brought along his favorite blanket as well to have while he's waiting.

Andrea will call me as soon as he's out from the procedure and I will update LL then.
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Sending easy dental vines for Leo.....((((Tracy)))) Will be watching for an update!

Our vet doesn't even blink anymore when he sees Zoe's SS......he just says, "I know you have the FD tightly controlled, let me know when you need something from me". Don't feel guilty about giving bupe.....Zoe was on 0.2 three times a day for the pain from the cystitis/UTI last week and she wasn't "gorked" out......she slept more than usual, but she was still alert and came when called, responded to her name etc....she even played a little each day. She weighs about 10 lbs.....
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Sending good dental vines.

Give your vet this article vs. the condensed form of the protocol:. It's much more impressive when you give them an article from a vet journal. Then, they can't argue.


And this is a link to the FDA warning re. metacam. Just in case you want to add to your vet's light reading. I'd print that out for her, as well.
 

Attachments

Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

Ok so I've been pacing around my place all day, I've cleaned absolutely everything imaginable, then I sat down and couldn't take it anymore.....I had to phone to see how Leo was doing and if he was out of surgery yet. He did awesome!!!!!! Just spoke to his vet and they pulled 2 teeth, one upper canine that was badly abscessed and something about the tooth growing into the bone ( I wasn't really paying attention I was just so happy he was ok) and a tooth beside it that basically fell out on it's own. There were 2 teeth on his lower jaw she was concerned about before but says they are ok for now. His cleaning went good and he will be ready for me to pick up in an hour. She said he was a little trooper and a good cat. WHEW I can breathe again!!!!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day-update!!!

YAY That is awesome great news! you know - 2 bad teeth could really impact his numbers - so you'll have to watch his dose and responses over the next little while.

good for you for standing your ground about the protocol and the metacam. yay. better the vet be annoyed than our sweet leo be dead.

you'll be so glad to have him home! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day

1074.gif
486.gif
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day-update!!!

dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat
I Am SOOOOO HAPPY For Leo & YOU!!!! The Bupe will really help so much! Moonie has had both & even My first dumb ex-vet(who gave her metacam but only 1 dose the evening of the dental) said not to give again if I dont have to!
But bupe is great & both Moonie & my civvie had it after the dentals-
Just Watch His Numbers tonite--SOME CATS can have a lower bg because the anesthesia eats the bg's(nom nom effect), so I would monitor him tonite a bit--OK?? I said Not all cats have that reaction, but some...
So Paws & Fingers crossed for a Speedy recovery!!
Feed him small amounts as you dont want a scarf & Barf! They are usually starving when they get home!
GOOD BOY LEO!!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day-update!!!

Great news Tracy on Leo. I thought you would be pacing around, as it's what we all do! So glad Leo is okay. Maggie was on Bupe for pain and did well. I know you can't wait to get him home. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day-update!!!

Tracy, so happy that Leo came through with flying colors (except for two less toothies). Simon had 4 teeth pulled and had no problem eating his regular food the same night. Of course, he also had some bupe which helped.

Hoping and praying for an easy night and fast healing.
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day-update!!!

Great news! Hopefully you and Leo will have a relaxing evening........can't wait to hear he is home with you where he belongs.
 
Re: 10/11 Leo AMPS 149 Dental Day-update!!!

Hey Leo, I knew you would do fine. Take your Bupe and we'll see you later.
Rusty


Hi Tracy, Wow, what a day. Kudos to you for standing up for Leo! Have a relaxing evening. We are so glad Leo is fine.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

Leo is home! He is totally out of it, he's finally sitting still at the moment but for only a few minutes I would imagine. He's already been pawing at his mouth and acting like there is something in it. He just ate a teaspoon of supper and I'm not feeling comfortable giving him his insulin, so no shot tonight.

We got bupe, 0.3ml three times a day. I haven't given it yet, I wanted to make sure he keeps his supper down first.

Thanks everyone for stopping by!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

Hi Tracy,
So glad Leo is home. Good idea not to give a shot tonight. The KTSS will be along later with some soothing mouse smoothies for Leo's extraction sites. Just let him rest. Hope the Bupe works its wonders.

Hugs,
Ella

Leo, I know how it is. I only have 6 teeth left. But I can eat everything. it's good to get rid of bad teeth. Hang in there, pal!

Rusty
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

KTSSSSSSS I feel sooooo looooooopy!! Please come over and take away this vetty smell
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

Hi Tracy, I vote for what you think is best for Leo. The anesthesia can eat up their glucose is what I've been told. I had a traumatic experience with Maggie after her dental, but there were also other factors with her health. Scritches to Leo.
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

mmmmm mouse smoothie! nom nom nom! :lol:

sending wishes for no barfing for leo tonight! hope you feel better soon, little guy!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

No barfing yet, he's still looking for food tho, and had 2 big poops since we got home! :lol: we've only been home for like 45 minutes!

I had to basically hog tie him to get the bupe into the "good side" of his mouth, he growled at me and has been wandering around growling ever since. Must be some "trip" he's on!!!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

I just got on and you're my first condo....I'm SOOO glad Leo did well!!! I can imagine how relieved you are that he's home and is okay!! Thinking of you guys!!!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

KTSS to the rescue!! Leo we are coming!! and we will bring some of the full moon party fuds to you too!!!! Don't eat it all at once though OK - it will make you puke and stuff. You rest on your blankie and stuff we will be there soon, and no mousies for a couple of days OK? ~~ Mannie

YAY!!! Leo is home, and he passed his dental!!! I am glad that all went well. Good for you too that you stuck to your guns on the metacam. It is beyond me why they still think they can give that stuff - it's been black boxed! Have a great night - relax with your boy.
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

I've been gone all day so I missed the whole dental visit but I am sooooooooo happy everything went well and he's home!!!

Question: did they send him home with an AB like clindamycin? My long-time vet always thought if you were extracting teeth and rooting around in the mouth, you were stirring up bacteria and so they always got clindamycin for extractions. The latest vet did not send Tobey home with any even though I asked for it; now I'm fighting this infection in his gum and it is not pretty. So please insist on some AB.

Hope you all rest well tonight.

WELCOME HOME LEO!!!!
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

Hope KTSS gets here soon, I need this smell off and pureed mousies sounds delish! Not too fast or too much tho, cause that's what that mean lady who pulled my teeth said.

Wow do I ever have a paranoid cat on my hands, he's got ants in his pants, can't sit still and is still growling, that is until I figured out it was the shadows the tv was throwing off, so I shut it off and he's a bit better. I'm glad I didn't give him his insulin because he hasn't eaten a thing since we first got home. No sleep at all yet! Even after 0.3 ml of bupe! Sheesh I could be in for a long night. I don't think it's the bupe that's causing the paranoia, we didn't see this the last time he was on it.

Marje, no AB's were given to us. The vet doesn't believe in dosing Leo with AB until it is needed. I'll keep a close watch these next few days and we go in for a post dental checkup next week.
 
Re: 10/11 Leo PMBG 92 Leo's home

Hi Tracy, when Maggie had her dental, she had the same reaction. She couldn't sit still, as if she had ADD, pacing all night, really wired. I don't know what it was - the bupe or the whole dental and anesthesia thing! Then she slept for two days. Leo will calm down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top