9/20 Gracie PMPS 143 +1 166 +4 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

9/19 Recap:
AMPS: 254 8th cycle f1u lev
+169
+5: 217
+10.5: 274
PMPS: 298 9th cycle f1u lev
+4: 226
+6: 206
+9: 239


Good morning LL. Sending Mannie and Elsa good dental vetty vines today!!! Keeping them in our prayers.

Gracie is doing fine....she's had breffis #1 and is in her fav spot on her catio condo having a lovely bath. I'm not particularly happy with this dose...she is spending more time in what appears to be a bounce. The 1.25u gave her GREAT numbers but she was nadiring at +15...it appeared. I'm now wondering if that is not such a bad thing and that I shouldn't have taken her down just because of a really late nadir. I'm really not liking her numbers. Her only good ones on this dose were bounce clearing. So I've got to mull that one over.

I'm out the door now to take Tobey and Gus in for dentals. I hate doing them on the same day but it was the only day the anesthesiologist could do them. Please send our boys healing vines, too. I'm nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile I always stay and wait for them in case there are any questions so I'll be gone most of the day. Will try to catch up with you all later. THank you!!! Have a great day.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265

Sending good vental vines for both Tobey and Gus today. And special calming vines and hugs for you! Keep us posted.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265

Hi guys ... I hope you can figure out what to do with gracie as far as her dose and her nadir .. these choices are tough aren't they? What to do, what to do .. I'll send good dental vibes your way for an easy dental recovery for your guys .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265

Sending healing dental vines to Tobey and Gus. Not very pleasant but better in the long run. Poor guys! The dosing question will likely clear up in a few cycles. That's what seems to happen here. :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265

Morning guys!!! GOOD DENTAL VINES FOR TOBEY AND GUS!!!! I am sure all will go well, but do understand the worry. I have been through so many dentals, and after all this time I still worry about them. Kudos to you for waiting... I just came home, will head into town so I don't spend all morning in worry mode. :shock: :lol: I think I will still worry. It was nice though that when I dropped them off the vet came and talked with me about both off them, so good to go I think. I will be thinking of Tobey and Gus today.

Good luck with Gracie's dose. I know how you feel about her numbers. I am in the same boat with Mannie... I am not convinced that this new dose for him is a keeper. I do think though that LEV has proven to be a good move for Gracie.

have a good one today!

Gracie!!! I am so nervous... that carrier came out today, and the next thing I know, I'm at the vetty! I want to come and help with the KTSS for Tobey and Gus... I may be a little loopy, and somebody may have to drive the bus, but I am coming! See you alter! ~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265

Good dental thoughts coming your!!! You are such a good mama bean waiting for them.

Hope you get the dose figured out. Gracie looks much better in blue!

Have a wonderful day Marj! Will be thinking about you.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289

I think Gracie knows something is up and is a little nervous that her bud isn't there. Sending good vetty vines and I'm sure all will be well.

I don't think there is a definitive reading of a late nadir. I keep in mind that post by Monique, but there is also info that Lev can just overlap so much that the nadir is very late, +12 or later. Tess is generally having late nadir now too, but since she hasn't gone really low as well, I'm holding the dose until I see that she really needs the reduction. I hope that this will even out the bounces. Then again, maybe too much insulin in the shed is causing them. Right now I'm wearing the patience pants to bed at night! :roll:
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289

sending safe & painless dental vines your way!!!

7f2a6_funny-pictures-put-tooth-fairy-on-hold.jpg
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 Tobey update

Still at vet..sending from my phone. Thank you all for wishes.

They are done with Tobey....he had to have two extractions due to resorptive lesions into the pulp. This seems to be a Scottish Fold thing. Bummer since he is still a baby. Vet said these cannot be prevented but still encourages brushing which we do. They are just starting on Gus.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'm not particularly happy with this dose...she is spending more time in what appears to be a bounce. The 1.25u gave her GREAT numbers but she was nadiring at +15...it appeared. I'm now wondering if that is not such a bad thing and that I shouldn't have taken her down just because of a really late nadir. I'm really not liking her numbers. Her only good ones on this dose were bounce clearing. So I've got to mull that one over.
imho, working with a late nadir like +15 can be a real advantage.

levemir is known for it's later onset... around +4 or even +5 in some kitties. a nadir at +15 allows for coverage during the first part of the cycle before the action of the next shot kicks in. this is what using overlap to your advantage is all about.

in order to keep her from going too low at the end of or in the first few hours of the next cycle you might have to switch up the amounts you're feeding early. for example, i usually feed alex (who is also on lev) 1/2 of her allotment of food for that cycle at shot time, a 1/4 of that allotment at +1, and the remaining 1/4 of the allotment for that cycle at around +6 or +6.5. that mid-cycle feeding (it's after onset) slows alex down enough so she won't drop too fast or too low towards the end of the cycle resulting in a reduction. i don't necessarily want reductions earned by an incidence of dropping too low in a single cycle because i want a late nadir to keep her flat while combating her horrendous food spikes (same principle applies to bouncy kitties). alex earns reductions by maintaining flat green numbers until i feel comfortable knowing she has stabilized on the dose and she's ready to attempt a reduction. keep in mind, alex was diagnosed over 5 years ago so i'm probably a little more cautious about attempting reductions than most.

my goal is to achieve a flat green cycle 24/7 (if only her health issues didn't get in the way :roll: ) by using that overlap. using food manipulation and overlap works well for bouncy kitties and kitties who experience huge food spikes. you'd have to play around with the amounts of food and times offered to find what kind of schedule works best for gracie. I'm already thinking a mini-meal fed at +7 or possibly +8 might work out for her, but the only way to know is by experimenting. trial and error. i dislike that phrase because it always means more work! :lol:

to those following gracie's story: using overlap to your advantage in combination with food manipulation is considered an advanced technique and should not be attempted until one not only has enough data to support one's decisions, but truly knows thy cat's response to food and the action of the insulin used.

hope this helps.


sending positive thoughts for smooth and easy dentals for the boys...

ps --- just saw your update on tobey. sorry to hear about the extractions. :cry:
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 Tobey update

Oh, Tobey, I'm sorry you had to lose 2 teeth, but it's better than having them hurt you. I'm going to send some cinnamon smoothies along with Rusty when he and KTSS get to your house to visit you. Be brave, big, strong Tobey! In a few days I'll bake a cinnamon cake just for you. Your Auntie Ellabean lubs you very much.
Help Gus when he comes out of his dental, OK?

Auntie Ellabean

Tobey, my pal, you're gonna be OK. I've lost lots of teeth (only have 6 left) and I can still eat cinnamon cake with the best of them. Feel better soon. I'll be along later with KTSS. Keep an eye on Gus.
Rusty


Hi Marje, I find these Lev cycles weird, too. Rusty used to have really nice cycles--all green and blue and not much movement one way or the other. Now I never know what he's going to do. I don't think it's all because of fur shots!!! Sending lots of healing vines to Tobey and Gus. I hope they'll be home soon and that you all will have a relaxing evening.

Hugs,
Ella
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 Tobey update

Sorry to hear about Tobey's teeth extractions. Sending lots of healing vines and love to him and all your kitties.

Also hoping you can figure this all out with Miss Gracie.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 Tobey update

Awww I feel bad for Tobey. Wonder if he'll feel better with those two teeth gone. Wishing they both bounce back from their dentals quickly.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 Tobey update

Hi Marje, so sorry Tobey had to lose two teeth to resorbtive lesions. Maggie has had a few of the same resorbtive lesions, and Vet said the same thing, can't be helped. I know Tobes is so young, too! I hope Gus is doing okay and sending more vines for him.

Hey Tobey, we'll all be seeing you later and I'll bring you some ice cream, something to make your mouth feel better, Maggie
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 Tobey update

Aw, poor Tobes! cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon But it is better to have them out sooner rather than later. Tess was missing teeth when we got her and she was only 4. Only one gone since then and that was loose at the time. She does very well with the fuds , thank you very much, even chunks of raw.

Thanks for the insight on the late nadir, Jill. Marje and I have been discussing that and the late snack sounds like a good option to try. Although they both still do the bouncy thing, too. :? :?
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 +6 234 Gus update

Het everyone, DH here. Marje tried to post a Gus update but was having trouble with her phone. Anyway, Gus also had two teeth removed, one resorptive, and one with a big hole in it. Both he and Tobes are done and doing fine. Marje will get to bring them home in an hour or so.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 +6 234 Gus update

YAY!!! on the successful dental! Good news... sorry for the extractions, but they will do just fine without them. Gives hen character too... :-D
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 +6 234 Gus update

Oh So sorry I didnt write this am for Tobey & Gus to have a good dental, so please forgive...
Good that you took those bad toofies out as they can lead to bad stuff!!
Tobey & Gus will feel much better--Dentals are stressful, but necessary...Hugs & Lub--
Comforting Hugs to The kitties--Moonie came home from all her dentals soooo hungry & was just fine( had 4 teeth out 1st dental & 5 the last time)-Helps us save on kitty toothpaste :lol: :lol: :lol:
Feel better sweet Tobey Gus &Marje!!!
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 +6 234 Gus update

tobey & gus both? have you guys been into the candy jar? huh? :shock: see my eyes on you, boys - time to fess up!

here's hoping they feel better after those bad toofs are gone. you know what's funny - the street our hotel is on is called "Horsetooth" and in my head it's "toof" every time. that's LL's effect on me! hahahaha

i got a chance to see yesterday's video - they looked very cute with the kitter wrestling. like they even loved each other - i didn't catch any glimpse of a stinkeye! :lol: :lol:

interesting info about the lev! good to know.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 +6 234 Gus update

Awww they both got teeth pulled. I've never had a cat have this done. Wishing they bounce back quickly.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 +6 234 Gus update

Poor Tobey and Gus!!! At least one can't make fun of the other because they both had to have extractions!! What a long boring day for you, too!! I hope they both bounce back quickly!
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 +6 234 Gus update

Poor kitties .. mocha says she sends her get well wishes to them both .. she had 8 teeth extracted at her last dental .. well, her only dental as well .. She understands their pain :sad:
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie AMPS 265 +3 289 +6 234 Gus update

I didn't realize the boys were having dentals today. I'm so glad to hear all went well with them, even though they both had icky extractions. I hope they're feeling better ASAP!!!
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie PMPS 143

I'm sorry I didn't get to send good dental vines this morning! Sorry to hear they both had extractions. Thinking of you all and hoping for a speedy recovery for them both. Muffin is with the KTSS today, so she'll be glad to see Gracie!
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie PMPS 143

Ok...first Gracie since this is her condo:

Jill: thank you very much for popping in and letting us know that info. For some reason, when I read Monique's description of a "typical" lev cycle, I thought that if they are nadiring really late (+15), that it was too much insulin but I can really see where the overlap would be an enormous bonus. The weird thing is when Gracie was on the higher dose, I could clearly see her nadir but could not figure out when she was onsetting because she was so flat. I didn't take her up tonight for two reasons (1) she was dropping from either clearing a bounce or a late nadir and (2) lots going on with the boys. We'll see how she does this cycle and then decide but I'm glad to know it's ok for her to have a late nadir. I should have left her on the 1.25u.

Thank you all SOOOO MUCH for your wonderful support. It is late here (almost 8); we got back late as they wanted them to be pretty much awake and mobile. They are both doing just fine although Gus says he has not eaten in a WEEK :lol:
Vet said not to let them have too much food and so we've been trying to give him very small amounts frequently and he is extremely demanding. Tobey is wide awake and moving around just fine but he seems kinda stoned...in a good way...like "peace love hope dude". :lol: :lol: :lol: Every time we say his name he arches his back and purrs and then flops over and rolls and rolls.....he is normally a very affectionate kitten but this is personified. So they've both had their evening bupe; Gus finally laid down...Tobes is out on the catio with Gracie.

Your healing vines and the KTSS made a world of difference for them. Thanks, Sienne, for the baby food idea but they are going at their own food like nobody's business!

Ella: Tobey said he loves you very much too and will gladly take the cinnamon slurpy.

Glad Mannie is doing well. I"m so sorry we didn't get to your condos. We haven't had dinner yet and I have to get to bed early...TBP tomorrow. Thank you and have a great evening.
 
Re: 9/20 Gracie PMPS 143

Sending healing vine ivy from the PNW for the kitties.

Nice PMPS for Miss Gracie.
 

Attachments

  • Vine-Ivy.jpg
    Vine-Ivy.jpg
    75.4 KB · Views: 721
Re: 9/20 Gracie PMPS 143

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I didn't take her up tonight for two reasons (1) she was dropping from either clearing a bounce or a late nadir and (2) lots going on with the boys. We'll see how she does this cycle and then decide but I'm glad to know it's ok for her to have a late nadir. I should have left her on the 1.25u.
good thinking. i wouldn't have taken her up tonight either... for exactly those reasons. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top