9/15 Gracie PMPS 59 +2 103 +4 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

9/14 Recap
AMPS 182 5th cycle 1.25u lev
+3.5: 92
+4: 97
+5: 127
+7: 169
+10: 180
PMPS: 142 6th cycle 1.25u lev
+1: 209
+3: 210
+5: 247
+9: 283


Good morning and Happy Fursday. Guess it's afternoon for some of you ;-)

Baby girl is in a bit of a confused_cat confused_cat this morning but she is her usual self....lots of purrs, cuddles, and chirps to go around. She was so sleepy when I woke her at +9 to check her but since her cycles have not become a typical lev cycle, I wasn't sure if she might onset late last night. We're still testing a bit more than we would with lantus until we see how/when she will adjust and give us something that resembles the typical lev cycle with a later onset and later nadir. Actually I should say a "definable" onset and an earlier nadir as Mike and I think she might be nadiring at +15 recently. We have been truly ecstatic with her flatness and hope this will be another quick bounce.

We have some errands to run so we'll do one more test and see if we both can go out or just one of us. Have a great day.
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +3 297

Keeping my fingers crossed this is as high as she goes!!! I don't need to remind you that Gracie will probably always do what's not expected...she's one sassy little miss!!!

I hope you and Mike got to do the running around together. Makes it so much more bearable!! And good for you with the golf. I envy you TREMENDOUSLY!!!

And remember...smile, smile, smile. It makes people wonder what you've been up to!
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +3 297 +5 185

Yay...bounce over.

Patty: looks like I'll be staying at home!!! Yes, I have to admit the bounce got me a little down because we are hoping the lev will get rid of the bouncing, but here's my smile now -------> :-D
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +3 297 +5 185

aw, yay for gracie's bounce-finishing! great cycle for her yesterday - i'm seeing all those around 100 numbers - super! i think this was a smart move for you to switch her to Lev!

enjoy your time with the kitters this afternoon! perhaps mike can bring you a margarita to go to soften the blow of being left behind! :lol:
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +3 297 +5 185 +6 121

Ok Miss Gracie....slow it down a bit; this is a little fast for lev. I know you are in a hurry to clear that bounce but you have lots of time left in this cycle. whooooaaaaa!

perhaps mike can bring you a margarita to go to soften the blow of being left behind!

You, my friend Julie, are a GENIOUS!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: And I agree with you.....it does seem to be gentler on her so far. Paws crossed.
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +3 297 +5 185 +7 99

:lol:
4400055206_8efb01f99c_o.gif
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +3 297 +5 185 +7 99 +8 71

Wow! Gracie obviously wanted company this afternoon. :lol: Or just more pokies. Glad to see some green. Way to go Gracie in drama queen fashion. Have a great evening!
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +3 297 +5 185 +7 99 +8 71

Wow, that's getting a little low there, Gracie girl! I thought Lev had a later Nadir'r, or am I mixed up? Grace keeps you both a hopping.
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +3 297 +5 185 +7 99 +8 71 +9 72

Wow, Gracie got low all of a sudden. Her numbers are looking like Garlands have been today LOL
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +5 185 +7 99 +8 71 +11 50 Lev Dose

She was having a nice cycle today but clearly breaking her bounce. At +9, she had levelled off to 72 and then at +10 was at 51. I fed her to bump her up but she's just surfing around 50.

This coupled with what "appears" to be a +15 nadir on other days makes me wonder if I should go ahead and shave her dose tonight to a f1u? The weird thing is that, other than the bounce breaking cycles (PM 9/12 and today), she hasn't gone below 72.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated as we just aren't confident with the lev yet.

Thanks!!
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie AMPS 263 +5 185 +7 99 +8 71 +11 50 Lev Dose

Hi Marje, I can't help you out with this cycle today. It's possible that a lower dose is in order. Gracie is unique! It will be interesting to see if she does indeed keep going down to a very late nadir (+15??). I have no idea what dose you would give at PMPS in such circumstances. I don't really understand "overlap". I hope that someone knowledgeable will be along to help you.

Last year Monique (Spooky) in Germany posted the following in Pat's (Shadow) condo. You may have already seen it. She quotes Jock and adds her own observations. :
by Monique & Spooky » Thu May 27, 2010 1:36 pm

ock's typical curve on Levemir appears to be pretty typical.

Blood sugar tends to continue going up for the first 2 hours after shot.

By about 3-4 hours it's down past preshot.

By about 7 hours it's having some serious effect, which tends to gradually descend to a nadir around 10-12 hours.

Somewhere between +11 and +14, just after peak, blood sugar starts rising again, and rises very fast.

This may help with your own observations.

But note: Levemir's action is sensitive to two things:
1) Dosage. If you're giving a bit less than optimal, peak time will be shortened. Too much, and peak time will be later.
2) Previous doses. Levemir leaves a "storage shed" of previous doses which keep blood sugar lower, so if previous doses were inadequate, current dose will be less effective.


The tendency for the nadir to be later and the largest drop occuring between +7 and the nadir at approx. +10 (even more so than with Lantus) and following the nadir a slow rise and frqeuntly I have noticed a "dip" again at Preshot. So the +10 is Nadir then a slight rise and a little drop to just above or almost the same as nadir (double nadir?) then a rise continuing about +3 to +4 into the next cycle.

This is of course when the dose is just right. When it's to low then the nadir comes sooner and is not as low and the rise begins earlier and is higher, leading to a much higher following preshot.

When the dose is too high the peak will come later often after +12 (which would be +1 to +3 in the next cycle) this is what you are seeing today. The previous few days on this dose (when it was just right) you had nice flat numbers with late nadirs and the "dip" at preshot.

I find all of this complex. And since I give so many fur shots I wonder if it has relevance for Rusty. But it may help you figure things out with Gracie. This description doesn't really address the issue of the "typical, flat Levemir curve". In fact, it seems to suggest that there can be quite a bit of movement up and down. (but see Monique's last sentence).

Good luck!! Enjoy the evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie PMPS 59

Ella: thank you very much because what is described in the last part of that sounds just like Gracie:

When the dose is too high the peak will come later often after +12 (which would be +1 to +3 in the next cycle) this is what you are seeing today. The previous few days on this dose (when it was just right) you had nice flat numbers with late nadirs and the "dip" at preshot.

I feel certain that she has been getting very late nadirs and she has also been getting dips at preshot....when she isn't breaking a bounce like today.

We shaved her to f1u. We can always take her back up...
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie PMPS 59

:shock: Wow, Gracie. Just reading your condo...lots of new stuff to learn....Sounds like you're keeping your beans nice-n-busy!
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie PMPS 59

Nice hooting! :thumbup Glad to see she came up a little. That's just what I was talking about when we talked earlier.. If the shave doesn't work you can always go back up. Just call this BCS. :lol:
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie PMPS 59

Looks at that PMPS!!!!!WOW!
Glad you did what you wanted for her with the lev--Today her numbers look awfully good!
With my schedule lev wouldnt be that good, but now as you are semi-retired, you have more time for such things!
What a good momma bean! Hugs & Lubs from us AND hoping for the very best for Gracie cat_pet_icon :thumbup cat_pet_icon :thumbup
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie PMPS 59

Gracie darlin', you are holding up the prize as a wild girl. You keep everyone guessing and do the unexpected. Please stop scaring your beans and will you tell Zener to get more consistent too, while you're working on that! :roll:
 
Re: 9/15 Gracie PMPS 59 +2 103

Hi guys - sorry for the late visit. I hope all is going well with Gracie. nice input from Monique. Sorry for the bounce, ut it seemed to be short... guess they still can bounce some while on Lev. All in all she seems to do well with it. Good luck! Nice cycle tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top