9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +3 56 +4.5 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

9/11 Recap
AMPS: 323 5th cycle 1u
+3: 299
+5: 277
+7: 292
+10: 294
PMPS: 280 6th cycle 1u
+4: 312
+7: 337


Happy Harvest Moon Monday!! Sending healing vines to Rusty, Rocket, Garland, and others who need them today.

:YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: I increased Gracie's dose again this morning to 1.25u. She hasn't been on that high of a dose since last Nov/Dec on lantus and it was too much juice for her. I'm trying to not get bummed at these high numbers and hope today's is just NDW from the dosecrease but it might be too soon to just be that. Course....she's just f-l-a-t. So that's good but wish it was lower f-l-a-t. Well..then life would be perfect wouldn't it :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
We're still testing frequently (at least once a day) for ketones although she's now getting a pretty good dose of insulin for her. But we'll keep it up and we have always added extra water to her food even though she is a good water drinker. She's a little quieter today but only a tiny bit.....she's still very sweet, purry, and has that darling expressive face. Many of you said something about it after the last few pics on Binks' condo. She does have a very expressive face and it is just so adorable. I wish I could get a picture of the look she gives me after I brush her teeth (not one of her fav activities). It is priceless.

So just chillin' at home today...yippee!!! DBFF is coming by later and we are thinking of having the pavement pulled up in the driveway/front sidewalk and brick pavers put down so I have a guy coming by for that estimate. It was 7 am when I got everyone taken care of this morning and decided to get out for a walk and walk down to the grocery as it is very cool and overcast but before I could even get my shoes on, it started pouring down rain and thundering/lightening. So I had to drive to the store....AT 7:30 AM!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: AND I also have another stack of pet insurance claims to file.

Have a great day. Gracie and Tobey are headed to Camp Stu to join the KTSS crew and then the kitchen krewe for the party. Gracie bought an orange dress.....guess she is sick of the colors on her SS :lol: :lol: :lol: They are very excited and Tobey is hoping Aunt Ellabean made him some "cimmamun cake"....
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 New Dose

I don't envy you at all right now. I can understand if you want nothing more than to bang your head on the wall right now. These numbers!!! I mean....ugghhh!! I hope something kicks in soon. I'll keep my fingers crossed for you!!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 New Dose

Hi guys .. I know it's hard to see our kitties higher then usual .. and to keep inching up the dose amounts is disheartening as well .. but Gracie is going to get there, I know she will .. Just keep giving her kisses and lubs and know you are both on the same team and doing awesome!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 New Dose

Hi Marje, I guess you'll have to keep on wearing those patience pants for a little while longer. Is it possible that you might have gotten a bad pen (or a weakend pen, maybe one that wasn't stored properly)? Do you have another, and are you willing to open it so soon?
I'm sorry that I don't have any hands-on information about what the dose should be after switching from Lantus. (Rusty had already been switched about 8 months before he came to live with us.) I know that the Lev. stickies say that the dose is a little lower than a comparable Lantus dose, but I'm not so sure that this is the case. What was your last dose on Lantus? It looks like you will have to do "trial and error" to find the right dose for Gracie.

Rusty is so looking forward to seeing Gracie and Tobey tonight at the barn party celebrating the Harvest Moon. Don't tell Tobey, but I baked a cinnamon cake with his name on it. KTSS will be very welcome.
Rusty is still at the vet's, in the "recovery" room. All apparently went well. No extractions needed. We pick him up in less than an hour.

Good luck with your dosecrease!

Ella
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 New Dose

Hope the new dose works! I am with ya sista. We keep going up up up. Oh well. It's all a marathon anyway right? :lol:

Sounds like a wonderful day at home with the kids. Enjoy yourself!!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 New Dose

As you know I am no feline diabete expert but I want to say that when I looked at Gracie's SS on Lantus and saw all those numbers bouncing around on her I kept thinking that she seemed to need more insulin at times but then she would dive. Maybe the Lev. is going to flatten her out but at a higher dose. Just want to encourage you to hang in there, keep a close eye on her numbers as you always do and see where it goes. Gracie is clearly not a typical case and it must be a little frustrating.

We have our paws crossed for you.

Much needed rain here but boy do I ache from the humidity.
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 New Dose

Patty: well, I know you've been there done that .....everyone has to some extent.

Devon: thanks :-D I think she will, too!!

Ella: hmmm...hadn't thought about a problem with the pen. I know the store them in the frig at Costco. I guess if she doesn't turn the corner here in the next few days, I might need to consider another pen. Our last dose on lantus was .75u but I think she needed a little more but we knew we were going to switch. I'm glad Rusty is doing well!!

Melissa: me too!! It is a marathon....we've just been running it a while already :lol:

Rosalie: well....I do value you your thoughts because Morgaine looks so good! I do agree she needed a little more than the .75u on lantus but we got into the situation where sk1u (one drop more) caused her to get into the 20s. She just isn't done with LTS. Frustration....yes but I guess we're used to it. I just worry about her.
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 New Dose

Morgaine was not ever very high to begin with so it really surprised me that she needed 3 units to keep her regulated. I know that I am fortunate that she has a nice flat curve. I think, because Gracie is so young, she may experience things a bit differently. There is something about how her numbers run that indicate to me that her pancreas is working on things. I think you just need to see how this goes for her and if it doesn't bring her better results you can always go back to Lantus. I think that the flat curve is a indicator of better things to come.
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 +7 293 New Dose

Hi Marje, good luck on the new dose. It just seems like it's finding the right dose for little Gracie. As long as she's feeling good and eating and all, I'm sure numbers will come down. Her numbers sure do give you time to run out if needed, so one nice thing about it. Maggie is looking forward to seeing Gracie and Tobey at the party, two peas in a pod, those two! I didn't think it rained and thundered in AZ, don't ask me why! That's nice you can walk to the grocery store. Ours is a little too far. Have fun today.
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 +7 293 New Dose

sometimes you have to go up to be able to come back down! patience! that flatness is so very awesome - a little more juice is gonna be just the ticket!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 +7 293 New Dose

Dont know much about Lev, but NDW I do! Patience Pants will help you right now, as it is a little different than lantus, & I feel Gracie will come around by tomorrow night(just a feeling)!
Think she needs some good time partying to boost her energy level & she will do just fine :lol:
You have worked so hard, I'm sure all your efforts will pay off!! Enjoy your night--Hugs & Lub from us!

See you tonite at the Big Partay!! Get your singing voice ready!! Rusty is OK!! My bean spoke to his bean & he are fine--We celebrate~~ Hugs from Moonie!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 +7 293 New Dose

I keep missing your condo... bummer! sorry... and another late post from me.

Good luck with the dosecrease for Gracie. I hope this is the one. I think the flatness of her cycles is really good, now you just need to find the right dose. I know you are bummed on having to keep upping the dosage, and that this is the largest dose she's ever had, but I wonder if one can really compare the two insulins. I dunno.... hang in there - once you find the right one I think she will just take off, and you will see really good things. :-D :razz: :razz:

On the good side at least until you find the right dose you have some free time! It's bee the same in a way with Nannie's new dose - it will take him time tio settle into it, and in the meantime once I know he's at a good level I can get some things done. that part has been nice.

Haw did the pavers estimate go? I've always wanted to do that, but I wonder how practical it would be for us, weather wise... ?? The guy up the street did it though, and WOW: looks really nice!

Bummer on the rained out walk.. at least you tried!

Gracie!! I gots the drinks on the menu!!! They are so cool - make sure and ring lots of the "harvest moon" - i wanna sample on the way there... This will be one cool party! See you there! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 +7 293 New Dose

I hope you get Gracie's dose figured out. I'm sure this is like starting from square one, and with any luck she'll remain flat, but at lower numbers once you hit her magic dose. I won't toss the "Patience Pants/marathon" schpeil at you, 'cause you already know all that ;-) :lol: !

Have a great evening!!!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 +7 293 New Dose

Fingers and paws crossed that this new dose does the trick and Gracie starts heading downward! The flatness is definitely a positive... you'll find the right dose to drive those numbers down! Good luck with the driveway decision!

Miss Gracie! Can't wait to see u in ur new orange dress! So excited that Tobey iz coming too! See you guys soon! --Willie
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie AMPS 288 +4 305 +7 293 +10 263

Wow, that is flat. Very nice. Hope you can dial in the dose to bring it down.
Liz
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83

MIchelle....yes and +2 :shock: :shock: :shock:

I thought she was supposed to be going up from PMPS to +2. I'm glad I checked her!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83

Hi, Marje.. I was following the Magical Traveling Patience Pants, and I understand YOU have them! Looks like they're green tonight! :mrgreen: Scritches to Gracie.
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +2.5 50

Yup....rechecked and then checked again in 30 mins and here she is at 50!! GRRRRRRRRR. I would have been happy with F-L-A-T blue.

Hey Kathy...yup....shucked those patience pants!!! Now I just need beer.....and I don't even LIKE beer! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +2.5 50

Don't I wish!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: A sniff of alcohol and I'll be out like a light.....and looks like Gracie has a long night planned for me!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +3 56

Whoa Gracie!!!! So much for those flat numbers. Hope things settle down, er, I mean up some please.
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +3 56

heehee so will the real gracie please stand up? are you the flat gracie or the high diving gracie?

what a drop! she is missing her nighttime attention from you, it seems! that or her gravy! i guess you'll be up for a bit and she'll be getting the good stuff tonight. i'm just guessing, but i'd guess that the new dose wonkiness has resolved. ;-)
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +3 56

Hey Rosalie...you are up late!!! Oh yes....this caught me by surprise. Funny...all the rain, thunder, etc, has not bothered her in the least.

Julie: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I was going to put "911" up and see if you were around :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: She dropped to 50 and I gave her LC with a drop of karo and she's coming back up but I have no idea when she onsets so am having to stay vigilant. Oh yeah....I'll be up or sleep/testing. How stupid of me to think she might do something different like flat blues, then flat greens!!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +3 56

OMG action from the Lev!!! :shock: :o How exciting!

But how about coming up into some safe numbers Miss Gracie......Kay?

Hope you're able to get some sleep tonight Marje.
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +3 56

Hi Tracy......well, I've been waiting so long for something other than yellow or pink that I guess it will be ok if I'm up!! I can sleep tomorrow while Mike is home!!
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +3 56

Sleep when your dead right?? :lol: :lol: I'll bet going without a full nights sleep will be a good trade for some nice greens :mrgreen: :mrgreen: right?

Have a good night Marje
 
Re: 9/12 Gracie PMPS 219 +2 83 +3 56

Well, Marje, you are not alone. the girls are up to something. Tess just went from 322 to 92 in 4 hours. ohmygod_smile Yeah, you'r right, so much for gentle curves on Lev. :roll:
 
Mike just called and told me about Tess!!!! No kidding on the flat. HA!

Time for me to sleep/test. Probably will check every hour if she's up at +5.
 
we need some chill pills in this condo! :lol: :lol: :lol:
gracie's been on lev for only a week. after switching insulins, it can take weeks or even months to get back to where kitty was on the previous insulin.


copying and pasting my response to marjorie's PM sent after gracie's big break last night:

lordy! leave it to gracie to break... in a big way!

i'm glad you caught this slide at +2 and was able to bring her up right away. no, i don't think it was a bounce breaking. my gut reaction the other day was to hold the 1u dose for as much as 8 cycles, but when it came down to it i just couldn't justify it based on her numbers up til that point. i knew you'd remain vigilant about testing and would catch any possible drops... like you did!

as far as when to take reductions... you'll have to play that by ear. i'd start with 50 and see how it goes. you don't have enough data (on lev) to push the envelope. ss is filled out thru PM+4.5. i have no idea if you had to fight to keep her numbers up the entire cycle or the worst was over by then.... and i don't know where she'll end up at amps.

"if" she bounces hard, you might want to stick with 1.25 unit. if not, i think i'd shoot less than 1.25u this morning. it'll be your call as to whether you reduce to 1u or take a shave based on your ability to monitor today. clearly, 1.25u is too much insulin to have her drop that fast and that hard on lev.

since we really don't know when gracie's lev onset or nadir is, i urge you to take things slowly until you obtain more lev data.




edited to add: is gracie by any chance a moon kitty? if she is, it could very well explain that drop last night. if that's the case, a 1.25u dose may not be too much insulin. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top