8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +6 122, PMPS 271, +3 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Mr. Howell

Member Since 2011
Good Morning, LL!
Yesterday
AMBG 65. We are at yesterday's situation again.. I don't know what to give him. I hate shooting this low! I haven't fed him yet and he usually gets his food/shot right at 8a.m. (aka Now), so I guess I'm stalling because I don't know what else to do - shoot .5u? I will be around until his +6 or so but after today I will not be able to sit at home and test him all dilly-dally day long. That's just life.
I would really appreciate some dosage advice. I can hold off and give his +12.5 and +13 readings if that is helpful.
 
Re: Mr. Howell AMBG 65 - Dosing Advice, Please!

Good morning. I am not sure if I have posted in your condo before but I have been following along.
I am looking at ss.....brb.
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMBG 65 - Dosing Advice, Please!

It would be great if I could shoot him before 8:30 rather than 9 because I won't be able to wait that long tomorrow. He is giving me the most unamused glare right now because I have never withheld his breakfast before..
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMBG 65 - Dosing Advice, Please!

Sienne posted this in your condo yesterday.

It looks like you reduced the dose. That's fine. I do think that you need to try to shoot at least something every cycle. What it looks like to me is that you panic and skip the shot which results in a high number at the next pre-shot time or Mr. H is bouncing after a lower number. At some point, if you want to see Mr. H continue to make good progress, you're going to have to steel yourself to shoot lower numbers. Maybe not a 55 quite yet, but shooting a 68 should be OK.

I agree that you need to shoot something every cycle. You don't want Mr. Howell (love the name) to bounce so high. A 65 is pretty much the same thing as a 68. I think you need to find a dose that you are comfortable shooting twice a day and stick with it for a while. Maybe the 1.50u or 1.25u until Mr. Howell earns a reduction.
If you feel more comfortable why don't you stall for 30 minutes (don't feed) and retest to make sure it is not a dropping number.
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMBG 65 - Dosing Advice, Please!

Thank you Miriam. I'm waiting until 8:30 and I'll test again and probably give him 1.25u. I know it's a wonkiness and he should be okay being shot at +12 since it won't take immediate affect, but when I can't guarantee that I will be home during a full cycle, I hesitate.
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMBG 65, +13.5 83

Make sure you get a +1 and +2.
Are you around to post a +11? You do know that you now have to shoot your PMPS 12 hours from the time you shot this morning.

If you can post a +11 depending on the number you may be able to shoot a little earlier to make up the time.

Be a good boy today Mr. Howell. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMBG 65, +13.5 83

Can do! He's set to get his PMPS at 8:30 tonight and I'll plan for 8:15 tomorrow morning. I have to leave tomorrow at 9 a.m. and I don't know when I'll get a chance to run home and check on him.
Thanks again!
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +1 107

I'm glad you were able to shoot. Remember, that for most cats, Lantus onset is about 2 hours after you shoot. Between the time it takes for the insulin to start working and food, you are actually shooting whatever the number is a couple of hours after your pre-shot test. (I hope that makes sense.) The shorter acting types of insulin kick in immediately -- Lantus typically doesn't.
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +1 107, +2 91, +3 79

+3 79. Really hoping I don't have to deal with numbers in the 40s today... I didn't expect him to have such a dramatic reaction to the diet change.
Thanks Sienne. Yes it makes sense.
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +1 107, +2 91, +3 79

mr howell has a flair of drama queen in him, doesn't he?

glad you got some help this morning!
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +1 107, +2 91, +3 79, +4 83

+4 83. Mr. Howell I don't know what you're doing but I'm not going to start complaining yet.
He is so dramatic and picky and fickle! What a wiener. I should say he poo'd right NEXT to his LB this morning when I stalled his breakfast. It was perfectly clean. :roll: That's what I get for waiting 30 minutes!
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +6 122

+6 122. He's doing well, I think I'm going to slow down with the testing for a while, I need to get some stuff done and need to be stingy about the test strips.
Have a good afternoon everyone.
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +1 107, +2 91, +3 79, +4 83

dasypus said:
He is so dramatic and picky and fickle! What a wiener.
At least he is a green wiener. :lol:
greenhot-dog.jpg
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +6 122, PMPS 271

:lol: :lol:
PMPS 271. I think Mr. Howell had a good cycle today, even though it got a little high. He sat and waited for me to give him his insulin before he went to eat dinner. :-D These guys are so smart, it's scary! He didn't stay at his food too long though, I slipped in some Turkey&Giblets and he hates it. I also decided to get him freeze-dried beef liver treats and he won't eat those either! Like I said, a wiener.
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +6 122, PMPS 271

Beautiful cycle for Mr. Howell!

His name brings to my mind Mr. Howell from the old Gilligans Island TV series from the 60's...
"Mr. & Mrs. Thurston Howell III" ...they were my favorite characters on the show...
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +6 122, PMPS 271

that's who i think of too - but she said he's named for Howell street.

just tossing out there - i would guess that this 271 tonight is a bounce from him getting lower this morning or last night than he's used to. when they drop down (and it doesn't have to be extra low, just lower than they've become accustomed to being) their livers will release counter-regulatory hormones and a stored form of glucose to keep the cat alive ("scared" of those low numbers) and it send the kitty soaring. over time this happens less and the cat's numbers flatten out so you will (hopefully) see fewer of those bounces.

in the meantime when you see an oddly high number like this, look back over the previous 24 hours and see if perhaps mr howell got a little bit lower than usual. it can take 72 hours for a bounce to clear - so don't look at this and think "i should increase his dose" because of it.
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +6 122, PMPS 271

I love Mr Howell's name! Looks like you all have had a nice day too, and hope you have a calm and drama-free night!
 
Re: 8/09 Mr. Howell AMPS 83, +6 122, PMPS 271

+3 115. How I wish he would not drop so much in three hours.
I hate to complain, but this time I just need to vent/explain: I originally adopted Mr. Howell as a way to cope with overwhelming stress in my life. I really needed that companion kitty and I was matched up with Mr. H. Ever since his FD and especially since I started being more vigorous about checking him it has definitely not decreased any stress in my life, rather it's compounded exponentially since now I have additional time and money constraints. I know, I know, if I didn't want to deal with the responsibilities I should never had adopted a cat. I just have never met a cat that needed so much friggen attention.
I am a chronic migraine sufferer and take preventative medication to help it, but I can't take my meds and expect to wake up before 7 hours because it's a sleep aid, and interrupting the sleep to get up and check his BG is enough to trigger a next-day migraine. So I stopped taking it so I can get up at his stupid +3 and +6 in the middle of the night and now my migraines have returned. It's going to be a choice between my health and his and I can't take care of him if I can't even take care of myself.

I threw out his stupid Turkey and Giblets because he didn't even touch it. I put out the Chicken instead. I hate myself for going to bed but I just cannot wake up to check on him tonight. I'm suppose to start a new job tomorrow and now I'm afraid I blew it because I can't get rid of this migraine and I can't miss my first day.
Sorry LL, I just feel like there's no way I can justify this without explaining my situation fully, not that I wanted to disclose this much, I just don't want to be judged harshly for feeling incapable of doing his evening cycle testing.
 
sounds like you have a lot going on! i'm so sorry - it's definitely not easy having a special needs kitty. i hope you get a good night's sleep tonight and i'm sending you good vibes for your first day tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top