8/3 What do I do?? Casey's +4 higher than PS, ?fur shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Member Since 2011
Casey's AMPS was 190, I gave her 1u lantus at reg. time...I did not feel any moisture around the injection site, but her +4.25 was 235. I plan to test her again shortly to see which way it is swinging. ( :sad: I was expecting her to have nice low #'s when I came home for lunch) Possible fur shot? Or would there be another reason for the up turn at +4?

If it was a fur shot, should I be doing anything at this point? And for the future, since I did not see anything re: fur shots on the potocal, what do I do if I windup giving her a fur shot?
 
you don't reshoot and you leave it at that, calling it a furshot or possible furshot.

its possible Casey just ate right before you tested,
but you might need a little bit more time on current dose, as long as you stay consistent.
does Casey have food available while you're gone?
 
Hi there!

I can't see Caseys ss from tbp, so I can't comment on the numbers.

Regarding fur shots - you just chalk it up to rotten luck. Never re-do, just wait for the next shot time.

We've all had our share. . . :smile:
(there were times I had 2 in a row!!! Ugh!!!)
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
you don't reshoot and you leave it at that, calling it a furshot or possible furshot.

its possible Casey just ate right before you tested,
but you might need a little bit more time on current dose, as long as you stay consistent.
does Casey have food available while you're gone?
Thank you, and yes she does. It usually gets picked up around +5.5, right now, so she has some fasting for the up-swing leading to the next PS. (She had been used to grazing small amounts of food all day. My attempt to tightly regulate her feeding schedule did not go over well, causing her to stress-out, so I went with this feeding regiment for now.)
 
The other possibility is that this is a result of the shifting around of doses. It may be either the result of inconsistent dosing (Lantus likes consistency.) or from increasing the dose. While it's completely counterintuitive, sometimes raising the dose causes numbers to temporarily go higher. We refer to this as New Dose Wonkiness (NDW). I linked a post on the topic.

Like others said, never, ever re-shoot if you think you gave a fur shot. There's no way to know if any insulin got where it was supposed to go and you could overdose your cat.
 
FYI: Just did a +5 test ~ 232...very slight drop.

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hi there!

I can't see Caseys ss from tbp, so I can't comment on the numbers.

Regarding fur shots - you just chalk it up to rotten luck. Never re-do, just wait for the next shot time.

We've all had our share. . . :smile:
(there were times I had 2 in a row!!! Ugh!!!)

Thank you, I am glad to get the info... I was thinking 1 would be bad enough, so I would add to you Ugh for 2 in a row.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
The other possibility is that this is a result of the shifting around of doses. It may be either the result of inconsistent dosing (Lantus likes consistency.) or from increasing the dose. While it's completely counterintuitive, sometimes raising the dose causes numbers to temporarily go higher. We refer to this as New Dose Wonkiness (NDW). I linked a post on the topic.

Like others said, never, ever re-shoot if you think you gave a fur shot. There's no way to know if any insulin got where it was supposed to go and you could overdose your cat.
Ok, thank you for the info, I will not reshot...ever. And thank you for the link, I figured the was info re: unexpected #'s but was not finding it.
 
yeah, for some reason every time a dose is changed the numbers might go all wonky and take up to 3 days to settle down. expect that - you have to wait out the wonkiness and then see what the dose is really doing. it's just part of it.

we all joke about wearing patience pants because this really is a game of patience with our cats.

when i say that you have to wait, that doesn't mean if the cat's BG goes too low, however. that's different - but as long as you are in safe numbers you wait out the numbers wonkiness.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top