7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, +3 276, +9 175, PMPS 182, +3 132

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Mr. Howell

Member Since 2011
Good morning, Lantus Land!
Mr. Howell hates getting his BG checked before breakfast; he is soo impatient. I'm having a hard time getting any decent-sized samples (ruined 4 strips yesterday, two gave me an E-2 and two gave me E-3 (not enough sample and faulty strips maybe). His ears have been through a lot this week!
He got 3/4 can of Chicken and Liver FF today. I'm going to give him the other 1/4 in a few hours. He use to be very good at grazing on his dry food, but with the introduction of this new delicious wet stuff, he has been gorging himself! Slow down, buddy!
Here's to another day of checking the BG curve. I have an unavoidable trip this weekend and have to be gone for his Friday night, Saturday, and Sunday morning shots. I've got a friend who knows to come by at his 12/12 and give him insulin, and another friend (currently without a place of her own) going to watch my TV, eat my food, and hang out with him so he doesn't get overly stressed by our (BoyF + I) absence. If I didn't have to go now I absolutely wouldn't, but it's a job thing and I need it if he's going to get better!
Hang in there, Mr. Howell!
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, well better than yesterday!

Hi guys .. don't think I have stopped into Mr Howells condo before, so welcome from us! Have you tried using a warm sock on mr howells ears? Some people find that helps, just nuke it for a few seconds and apply it to the ear to get the blood flowing .. we did that with mocha during the winter when her ears were freezing .. anyways, glad you have back up sources to hang with your kitty while you are gone .. have a great day!
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, well better than yesterday!

If your friend giving Mr. Howell his shots has never done it before, I would recommend setting a used (capped) syringe to his dose and leaving it for reference so that she knows what it looks like. I do this whenever my brother or boyfriend are going to be giving Bandit his shot, since the half marks can be confusing at first.

Is your friend going to be preshot testing, too?
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, well better than yesterday!

I usually try to rub his ears for a good couple of minutes before I do a test, I'll try the sock as well though.
Julia, thanks for the suggestion. I do not know if I can convince her to do his blood testing - she and her husband agreed to watch him as a favor to me since I am unable to pay anyone for the care he needs and deserves. I will ask and explain that there's a higher chance she will 'hurt' him more if she doesn't do the preshot test (she maybe reluctant to draw blood because people assume it is very painful) and gives him too much insulin. I think that is enough incentive to convince anyone how necessary his preshot test is, it's logic after all.
How low is too low of a preshot test to NOT shoot insulin, or at least not as much? Since he's been at 440-460 the last few days I'm not overly concerned, but if he tests a 180-240 should I modify his dosage?
'
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, well better than yesterday!

I only asked because he just changed from wet to dry, so there's a possibility his numbers might drop soon...there's a few things you can do. If they don't want to test, then you could drop the dose a little just while you're gone to be on the safe side. I had some friends who didn't feel comfortable blood testing come over to give Bandit his shots for a couple days one Christmas, and so I cut his dose from 1u to .5u just while I was gone to be safe. Mr. Howell is so high though--maybe you should edit your subject to ask for dosing advice while you're gone? I would feel better if one of the more experienced people gave you advice with that.

Sorry if I missed this in a prior post, but has Mr. Howell had ketones, and are you testing for them? That could also affect your decision.

If they are willing to test, then it's all good. You could always try wooing them with gifts and have them come over and practice with you there so they can see how easy it is and get comfortable doing it. I convinced my boyfriend to test Bandit while I'm at work during the day at first by bribing him with dinner once a week.
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, well better than yesterday!

good morning emily & mr howell!

eta: Here's your post from yesterday: yesterday

we try to always include a link to our last post so that anyone helping can read the recent past and be up to speed quickly.


we used a warm sock for probably 3 months until his ears finally starting bleeding really easily. put 1/4 cup or so of uncooked rice in an old white sock (all cotton) and nuke it just til it's warm, not hot enough to burn. that will make the blood flow easier. also, the more you poke,the more they grow capillaries and then it gets so 100% of pokes bring blood. i think it was about 2 months before we got to that point - and yes, we wasted a ton of strips trying before then.

also, usually one ear bleeds easier than the other.

also, do you know about the neosporin ointment with pain relief? you can put that on and it numbs their ears a bit. i've heard people say they put it on 20 minutes before a poke. i just put it on at the end of the day and it seems to heal them overnight. it kind of substitutes for vaseline and helps the blood bead up and not get soaked into the hair, but you do have to wipe off most of it before you poke otherwise it goos up the strip.

he's so high i wouldn't worry too much about the testing, although that can change quickly, so of course, i'd rather have testing than not. not sure what to suggest on that.
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, well better than yesterday!

Julia, thanks so much again. :-D Ideally, I would like him to stay at the same units for the sake of consistency - he has not been very consistent on Lantus the past few weeks, so I am trying to stabilize a dosage to watch his BG curve. I, too am worried about a sudden drop. I will try and coax them into testing, now that I think about it her husband was telling me how he applied to be a vet assistant at a cat hospital, so he should appreciate the practice!
I am really struggling with getting a urine sample from him. For most of July he was urinating a LOT, so I bought the ketone strips, but ever since I bought them he has stopped urinating as much. I don't know to take it as a good or bad sign; on one hand he could now be so severely dehydrated that he is retaining all of his water, on the other hand maybe he is getting better? (He does not have other signs of dehydration; his gums are moist, skin is springy, and no more lethargic than usual). In any case, he only seems to urinate during the night, and I haven't had success in testing anything yet. Any suggestions on how to get a sample?
He uses CatAttract litter, it's one of the only kinds he tolerates.
Thanks again!
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, well better than yesterday!

Julie, thanks for your suggestions as well. Good to know testing will get easier, and I will try the rice sock, it sounds like a good idea.
Also, I will start to include links to past posts, thanks for the reminder!
I'm a bit confused on his dosage as well, I'll make an attempt to edit my subject to get a broader opinion.
Have a great day everyone.
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, looking for dosage advice!

I switched Bandit to the Breeze litter system http://www.breezeforcats.com/, which makes it super easy to collect a urine sample because it drops down into the tray. You just take out the pad and wait (it's also a little noisy so I can hear when he goes. However, it sounds like Mr. Howell is a picky pee-er and may not take to a new type of litter. So the best options for you are probably trying to catch it in a ladle in action, or maybe saran wrap. Some bold people just stick the strip under the cat while it's peeing.

One thing I did with my other cat back when we used clumping litter was that she peed in the same spot in the box every time, so I put a little tupperware container in that spot. Bandit pees whenever he thinks he's getting a bath, so for a while I put an empty litter box in the bathtub, put him in it and turned on the water in the tub at the other end. It was the only way I could get a sample from him back before we got the Breeze, because he was a night pee-er, too.
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, looking for dosage advice!

+3 276... WOW never thought I'd be happy to see a number like that! He is in good spirits.
He is the most anal (no pun intended) cat about his litter I've ever met. He will only use CatAttract, will only use his litter box if it's spotless, and if my BF leaves any of his clothes on the floor, Mr. H pees on them (I had Mr. H before my boyfriend and I lived together... he is a little possessive of me :-D )
I think I can get a sample with the saran wrap. He, too, only pees in one spot of his box, so I might try the tupperware thing too.
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, looking for dosage advice!

Looks like he's starting to drop from the diet change! Can't wait to see how low he ends up going. It's crazy how much some cats' blood sugar will go down once the dry is gone. :-D

Just so people don't have to find the post in your thread that explains what's going on, maybe you should edit your subject to say "Not testing while away--dose advice?" Might get you some quicker responses.
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

When Mr. H is hungry (especially first thing in the morning) test his BG while he's eating. There's no way Champ is going to wait for me to test him while he's waiting for his breakfast!!! I usually get his food together and then get the test stuff together, put the food down on the floor, and as soon as he sticks his head in there to eat, grab the lancet, poke, and get my sample. Later in the day, when he's napping, he doesn't require food for the poke. I usually just kneel behind wherever he's napping and he just about sleeps through the test. I taught my neighbor how to test her cat and she was amazed at how easy it is. I'm sure your friends will be willing to test once they see how easy it is. Good luck!!
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

+6 210 YIPPEE! :-D
Patty, I gave Mr. Howell a little snack to distract him while I did this test. I got the Neosporin as suggested before as well, and put it on his earlier today to help with his ears.
I am so happy with Mr. Howell's number this afternoon! Now to get him below 200!
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

yay - that's all great news! if you start feeling impatient for any reason, ask marjorie (and grace) to borrow her patience pants. it's like the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants - they fit all of us and look very cute. she sent me some yellow sparkly patience pants once and i felt very special!

another thing that i saw someone suggest about getting a urine sample - somebody said they poke some small cups into the litter and hope they catch some that way. are you adding water to his food? that's about the only insurance you can provide while their numbers are high. i add about 50% water to punkin's food - when he was high i'm gonna guess it helped, but now he's not usually high enough for me to worry. i have yet to test him for ketones, though. got a substitute box ready and filled with lentils, because someone told me that was safe to use as a litter substitute, but he's never gone in it. aquarium gravel was another suggestion.

for a sub litter box, i take a lid from a box of computer paper and slip it inside a new garbage bag. then pour the litter on top of the garbage bag. it's good anytime you need a spare box.
 
bump

hi

just so its clear, you will have a shooter but not testing, and you are still in the food transition right?
currently on 3u

giving u a bump
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

+9 175 WAHOO!!!
I take this as indication his wet diet is causing his numbers to come down... I will of course do another preshot test, but what should I do if his number is below 200? I haven't actually had to deal with that before and I don't want to be giving him too much! Should I stick to my guns and maintain the 3u or is he going to need a dose decrease?
He has earned himself a couple extra snacks today, putting him at about 1.5 cans... I'm flip flopping between thinking he needs 2 or 3 cans a day. I have noticed some feed 5 oz, others feed 2 cans, some feed 2.5? He is a big boy (14 lbs) and the can suggets 1can for every 3.5 lbs, but that'd be 4 cans and that's too much. :roll:
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

Ronnie, you are correct. Mr. Howell has been off of his dry food entirely for about 2.5 days and I'm giving 3u at 9/9.
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

if u can, a little heads up, +11 or +11.5 spot check.

im hoping others will stop by and offer their thoughts too on what to do with your dose for your shooter.
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

For sure, I will let you guys know at +11 where he's at to give some time before the shot.
Thanks so much, you guys are awesome!
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

Just as you suspected, you can't go by what the pet food manufacturers say to feed your cat...they would all explode from too much food. With Mr. H being 14 pounds, I suggest you start at 2.5 cans spread out over the day. If Mr. H gains weight, reduce the amount. If he loses weight, add more food. Champ is 18 pounds and is only getting 5 oz. a day and stays the same. He should be losing, but he's such a lump!!! He doesn't play very much and is very inactive. If Mr. H is an active cat, he'll be able to have more food!
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

If you're going to post your +11, I'd suggest putting the info in your subject line. To edit the subject line, go to your first post and click on the "edit" button. Revise your subject line to include the test data and then click "submit."

When I travel, Gabby will not permit anyone to test her. She's given a feline vet tech a pretty good swat and just growls her head off if anyone besides me tries to test her. She'll barely tolerate anyone else giving her a shot. I reduce her dose when I travel. It's the only way that I can keep her safe if no one is testing.

Given what you're seeing with Mr. Howell's numbers today, I suspect a similar strategy would be wise. I'd reduce his dose to either 1.5u or 2.0u. As was suggested I'd also set up a demonstration syringe and use a colored liquid (milk, OJ, etc.) so the lines on the syringe are visible. If your friends are not familiar with how to use a syringe, this is essential. There have been too many people who have posted about a friend giving their cat a shot and instead of giving 0.5u, gave 5.0u. I'd also make sure to leave info re. vet care -- the phone # and address of your vet as well as the phone # and location of the closest 24 hour emergency vet.
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

I agree on the sample syringe, very important for your back up shooters.

plus a safer dose for them since they wont be testing, Sienne's points are very valid - we do the same thing for Luna, and just recently it was done here for the kitty I'm petsitting (Cow), althou myself and previous sitter were testing, it was still the owner's choice to have a reduced dose, plus a no shot number (for testers)

dont forget your hypo tool kit, with a selection of higher carb canned foods, kitty treats like freeze dried chciken for example.

maybe your contact info too where u can be reached.
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

Mr. H is looking really good with his diet change. Congratulations on seeing some blue!

As for when you have to be out-of-town.... I am with Sienne and Ronnie and would definitely reduce the dose for safety. We usually call this a "petsitter dose." I think most everyone does this ... even if the petsitter is able to test their kitty. I like all the other suggestions, too, like having an example syringe.

Good luck!
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

Hey guys, we're at +11 171. I'm going to reduce his dose to 2.25 and hold that for the sitter during the weekend.
She's all up for doing a preshot test! WHOO!
 
Re: Mr. Howell: Not testing while away+diet change=dose advi

PMPS 182. The Sitter did a great job getting his reading and only needed a few practice pricks! I decided to keep him around 2.25u. I'll watch him for tonight and see if he gets too low on it, but I'm also going to give him another can of FF throughout the next few hours since he's only had 1.5cans today.
He has expressed an entirely new kind of enthusiasm today. I'm happy to see him with so much playful energy again.
Thanks so much everyone! In 5 days I have gone from hopeless to confident that he can live a happy, healthy life as a diabetic.
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, +3 276, +6 210, +9 175, PMPS 1

Okay. I got the extra carb food, the example syringe (full of 1/2&1/2, great idea!!), instructions to give him 1.25cans+50% H20 Fancy Feast chicken 2 times a day with 2 - 2.25u of Lantus.
Plus Neosporin, a rice sock, lots of test strips and lancets, next to a 1gallon jug of honey!
I think I'm set! I appreciate ALL of your suggestions and advice, thank you, thank you, thank you!
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, +3 276, +9 175, PMPS 182, +3 1

+3 132.
I think I'm going to have the sitter definitely lean on the smaller side of things, as low as 1.5u, if he keeps this trend up!
 
Re: 7/28 Mr. Howell AMPS 442, +3 276, +9 175, PMPS 182, +3 1

:lol: a gallon of honey?
lol!!
sounds like you are set go, good luck, have a good trip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top