07/11 +47.6 149 Nala PMBG 144 (+48), +51 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

rosannaf

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47344
Saturday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=47329

Hello all:

Nala did not invade the fortress I made for her automatic feeder! :-D I will continue to feed her only wet food for now.

She's doing pretty well for her AMBG, so I'll be skipping her shot this morning.

I will not be home for another 10+ hours for work, but I'll try to get another reading before I leave.

Thank you,

Rosanna

The lengths we go to for our cats - Nala is still pretty upset she can't flip her feeder open .... yet nailbite_smile
IMG00516-20110710-1829.jpg
 
Re: 07/11 Nala +35.5 124, AMBG 135 (+36)

Good morning guys .. wow, that is quite the contraption in that picture :shock: This morning's blue is such a nice way to start out .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 07/11 Nala +35.5 124, AMBG 135 (+36)

Good morning! We have never stopped by to say hello. Nice numbers for this morning. Hope you have a great day!!
 
Re: 07/11 Nala +35.5 124, AMBG 135 (+36)

OMG that picture cracks me up! Somehow I have a feeling that Nala is going to try and outsmart you. Where there's a will, there's a way!

Her numbers are good so far but I'm getting a little nervous that she hasn't gotten her shots in 3 cycles. I know you work and it's good that you don't want her to be alone if she dips. Just a little worried.
 
Re: 07/11 Nala +35.5 124, AMBG 135 (+36), +38.5 143

Thank you for the replies.

Yes, I have a feeling that Nala will eventually get to her food tray. I'll just have to wait and see.

I did do a test before going to work

+38.5 143
So she did go a bit higher after her breakfast.

I'm also a bit nervous her not having her shot, but I think I would be even more nervous if I didn't have enough information and gave her a shot.

I'll see how she is when I get home in another 7-8 hours.

Thanks again,

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/11 Nala +35.5 124, AMBG 135 (+36), +38.5 143

Good morning, guys!! Okay, the picture CRACKS me up!!! And makes me very thankful that Willie, bless his heart, isn't always the sharpest tool in the shed. :lol: :lol: :lol:

I suspect that Nala does still need insulin, but likely a very small dose. Are the syringes you currently have ones with 1/2 unit markings? If not, you'll definitely want to get some. Walmart's Relion brand has them and they are only $14 for a box of 100. You'll want the 3/10cc 5/16" ones.

The idea is that you want to keep Nala's pancreas supported for as long as possible while it heals so that when you do go off the juice, the remission will hold and the pancreas can function completely normally. I know you're on a tight schedule, so if you can get what would be a +11.5 (if you had shot) and post right away, people will be around to chime in with advice on how to proceed.

Looks like we'll be celebrating for Nala soon!!!
 
Re: 07/11 +47.6 149 Nala PMBG 144 (+48)

Hello again:

I managed to do a test at +47.6 and she was at 149.

I figured I was going to do a reduced shot of 0.50u but then them PMBG was 144 (+48), so she dropped a bit. I'm on-call tonight so I decided not to do a shot since I'll probably be called in and will not be able to check on her.

I know Nala probably needs a reduced dose so I'm trying to figure out in my schedule when I can time it that I'll be free for the entire cycle to check up on her. It looks like it may be Tuesday night that I can try the reduced dose of 0.50u.

Thank you again for the help. I do have syringes with the 1/2 unit markings. I'm not sure if they are 3/10cc 5/16" ones, so I'll look into that when I get home again.

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/11 +47.6 149 Nala PMBG 144 (+48)

If you've got the 1/2 unit markings, you're fine. I just gave the specs in case you had to go to the pharmacy and ask... they can be pesky if you don't know exactly what you need!

With numbers this great without insulin, I might lean towards a 0.25u or even 0.10u dose (.25 is halfway between the .5u and 0u line, .10u is right on the zero line). When shooting doses that low, I tend to hold the needle in for a bit while pushing the plunger really hard, and then treat the skin as if it were a kleenex, catching that last drop by pinching the skin around it as I pull out the syringe. With doses that small, the risk of hypo is significantly reduced, and you can always work your way up if you're not getting lower numbers you'd like. With numbers below 200 without insulin, you're really not at risk for ketones, so I think starting a bit lower would be advisable, especially given your tight schedule that doesn't afford you the opportunity for many spot checks during the day.

If you put "dosing ?" in the subject line, I think you'll get some additional input! Nala continues to look amazing!
 
Re: 07/11 +47.6 149 Nala PMBG 144 (+48)

I'm looking at your dose a bit differently than Christie. Nala's last dose was 0.75u. She earned a dose reduction to 0.5u but you didn't shoot with blue numbers. If it were me, I'd have been shooting for the past 4 cycles. Nala's numbers have not been in the normal BG range.

At this point, Nala's shed is pretty depleted. I'd shoot the 0.5u. I think it may take some work to get Nala back into green numbers. It's going to take a lot of work to get her into green numbers if you start at 0.1u.
 
I managed to come home and did another test,

Nala +51 is 112! :-D

As happy as I am, I'm still thinking about the shot I'm going to give her tomorrow night when I have the time to test her through the cycle. Thank you for all your advice, it's a lot to absorb and trying to figure out what's best for Nala in consideration of my schedule is so tough.

Yes, she did earn a dose reduction from 0.75u to 0.50u. But I can't help to think that it wouldn't hurt if I could try a 0.25u and see how that goes? Ahhhh! It's funny to think that I wasn't this nervous when Nala was in the 200s, but ignorance was bliss because I wasn't testing enough and I've learned my lesson. Nala potentially may have earned a dose reduction during those times and I missed it.

I think I will test 30 minutes before Nala's PM shot, and put "dosing question" in the topic and see where that brings me. Also, Nala's vet has been on vacation for a month and I will try calling her tomorrow and see what she says.

Back to work.. thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top