07/07/11 Zener PMPS 396 ATrak Update Pet sitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener"s Condo 7/6/11

Hello all,

The pet sitter had a BG at PMPS of 402 and an AMPS of 489. She is a vet tech and I think panicked a little at the high values and gave Zener 2.00u this am. I emailed her to keep his dose regular but am worried now that after 5 cycles this is too soon to increase from 1.75 to 2.00. Should I be freaking out? She will email his +6 to us and I should be near a computer tonight to advise about his dose. I posted his information from her on his SS. The other problem is she can't get him to eat wet food but he is eating dry food - Core Wellness. I know any food is better than no food, but this will have an effect on his BG.

Any advice would be great. I can email it to her tonight. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 07/07/11 Zener AMPS 489 ATrak PS dose help

Hi Anne
I sent out a message for ur dose help, hope ur doing well on ur vacation!
Giving u a
Bump!
 
Re: 07/07/11 Zener AMPS 489 ATrak PS dose help

Anne & Zener said:
The pet sitter had a BG at PMPS of 402 and an AMPS of 489. She is a vet tech and I think panicked a little at the high values and gave Zener 2.00u this am. I emailed her to keep his dose regular but am worried now that after 5 cycles this is too soon to increase from 1.75 to 2.00. Should I be freaking out? She will email his +6 to us and I should be near a computer tonight to advise about his dose. I posted his information from her on his SS. The other problem is she can't get him to eat wet food but he is eating dry food - Core Wellness. I know any food is better than no food, but this will have an effect on his BG.
sigh... many in the veterinary field tend to adjust the dose based on preshot numbers. the longer-lasting insulins are relatively new in treating feline diabetes. not everyone is up on their use.

yes, it is too soon to increase to 2 units since zener was blue the day before yesterday. it can take up to 72 hours to clear the bounce. however, if zener is eating dry food only (btw, dry food IS better than no food) his insulin requirements are likely to increase. the increase to 2u may be ok if for that reason alone. getting those mid-cycle spot checks is the only way to know if 2u is too much.

i don't know if it's too much to ask a sitter, but if she looks at zener's spreadsheet she can see he often nadirs towards the end of the cycle. i don't know her schedule. if it's possible she may want to get an "in-the-door" spot check before the PM shot, a before bed spot check, and/or if she gets up for any reason during the night... ask her to grab a test. every bit of data collected is a piece to the puzzle.
 
Re: 07/07/11 Zener AMPS 489 ATrak PS dose help

Thanks Jill, I will email to her tonight. Should I advise her to decrease to 1.75 until we get home? His +5 was 412, but nothing else from the pet sitter yet. I will email her what you wrote and see if she can get those mid cycle checks. Thanks!
 
Re: 07/07/11 Zener PMPS ATrak Update Pet sitter

7/7/11 Zener Alpha Trak

Just got email from the petsitter, after sending Jill's information. She agreed her vet tech instincts went off and she should have contacted us first before increasing his dose, and acted prematurely, so I think we are all on the same page now. She took a look at his SS, I keep a hard copy in his log book and that was very helpful to suggest, thanks Jill!

I've posted a +3 from last night, today's AMPS, +5 and a PMPS from tonight of 396. He is now eating his wet food with the fortiflora, so she went back to the 1.75 dose tonight as requested and will keep us posted on his +3 before going to bed.

Will keep posting to the SS as we get more test values from our pet sitter. I'll ask here on the message board if it looks like a dose increase is in order before next week, and we can let our pet sitter know. Zener is acting very social and energetic with her.

Thanks for your help today, managing from afar is tough and thank goodness for technology. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top