06/30/11 Zener PMPS 352; +2 359 ATrak

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Anne & Zener GA, Jun 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Zener's Condo 6/29/11

    Last night was a little exciting. At the time I did Zener's PMPS his BG was 189. Because he has cerebellar hypoplasis making it difficult to see any hypo symptoms we are being conservative and not shooting if BG between 180-210. Thanks to those of you who stayed up and talked me through this. Here are the values from last night and this morning.
    06/29/11
    PMPS 189 - no shot, stalled
    30 minutes later - 194
    1 hour later 216, so gave shot and this became our new PMPS (at 9:15 pm)
    PMPS 216
    +1 262
    +2 253
    +10 321

    Will get his AMPS shortly and have another go today!
     
  2. Melissa & Tarragon

    Melissa & Tarragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253; +10 321

    Zener's numbers aren't that bad for a skipped shot. Hope you have a great day!
     
  3. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 PMPS 216; +1 262; +2 253; +10 321

    Hi Melissa, I am still sorting out all the jargon here! Zener did not miss his PM shot, we just stalled for an hour. So he got the 1.5 u but at 9 pm instead of 8 pm. So, my new AMPS time is 9 am this morning. Sorry I wasn't clear and thanks for taking a look! I'll post his values this morning shortly. :mrgreen:
     
  4. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 AMPS 335 ATrak exciting evening

    Here we go again today. Gave Zener his 1.5 u at 9 am and he ate about an ounce of wet food. Will get a +3 and post throughout the day.

    AMPS 335
     
  5. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335 ATrak exciting evening

    good morning! glad you got to sleep last night - he probably appreciated it too!
     
  6. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335 ATrak exciting evening

    Hi Julie, yes I think Zener did appreciate it as he spent quality time on my chest purring loudly this morning!

    I got up at 3 and checked on him, fed him a little, then up again at 5 am and let him outside for a bit. The upside of a kitty with cerebellar hypoplasia is that he will stay in a fenced yard, can't climb or jump, so about as safe as one can be spending any time outside. No inappropriate peeing inside this morning either. There is a neat and tidy pile of feathers at the base of the kitty condo when I got up, but neither Zener nor Tillie (non-diabetic) are talking.

    Thanks for checking on us!
     
  7. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335 ATrak exciting evening

    Hehehehe Cats won't tell you anything that they've done. Believe me, I've tried prying it out of mine, but they'll never talk. LOL

    Nice #s today. :) I hope that Zener will come down for you and surf a bit. :)
     
  8. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335 ATrak exciting evening

    Hello Angela, you are so right, those kitties can sure be rascals! I'll be posting numbers throughout the day, thanks for the support!
    cat_pet_icon
     
  9. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335;+3 307 ATrak

    Continuing on this morning, after low value and stall last night, with slowly decreasing BG at +3. This is Zener's 4th cycle at new 1.5 dose.

    06/30/11
    AMPS 335
    +3 307

    Will get +6 and +9 or +10 today and post. Zener's appetite is decreased today but I got him to eat three small meals between AMPS and +3.
     
  10. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335;+3 307; +6 269 ATrak

    Still not eating very well this morning, but threw up a hairball early afternoon, so perhaps he will be more interested in eating tonight. The good side of cleaning up the hairball - he is finally feeling good enough to groom, thus the hairball!

    06/30/11
    AMPS 335 1 oz Blue Buffalo flaked tuna entree sprinkled with fortiflora;
    +1 ate a little freeze dried Halo liv a little chicken
    +2 ate most of 1 oz BB flaked tuna with fortiflora
    +3 307 ate some of 1oz BB tuna, a littel freeze dried Halo liv a little
    +6 269 ate a little (less than 1 oz) FF whitefish and tuna classic

    Just a little anxious that his later values will drop, which seems to happen with him sometimes. Will get +9, maybe +10 or +11 too. Will see...
    nailbite_smile
     
  11. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335;+3 307; +6 269 ATrak

    How funny! Do they both want a pat on the belly? I used to feed a stray kitty, and she would leave presents at my door! Thanks for your visit to my condo. Yes, the Relion Micro is a nice back-up. I was surprised, too, with the small difference in meters with the high bg! My Vet uses the ATrak and monitors Maggie's ss, so I keep with the AlphaTrak and have gotten used to it, too. You're doing a good job with Zener and hope you can get some sleep tonight.
     
  12. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335;+3 307;+6 269;+9 288 ATrak

    Nope, no kitties demanded belly pats, but neither one has been all that keen to eat today. But then, Zener did hack up a big hairball! My vet uses the Alpha Trak too, so that is why I got one and now I'm used to it too. There seems to be so much to manage all at once, that I couldn't take on a new meter yet. I should be receiving the relion this week as my back up and will test them against each other. I have found a bit cheaper test strips for the ATrak at http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/

    Thanks for the kind words for me and Zener!
     
  13. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335;+3 307;+6 269;+9 288 ATrak

    Here is the latest so far:

    06/30/11
    AMPS 335 1 oz Blue Buffalo flaked tuna entree sprinkled with fortiflora;
    +1 ate a little freeze dried Halo liv a little chicken
    +2 ate most of 1 oz BB flaked tuna with fortiflora
    +3 307 ate some of 1oz BB tuna, a littel freeze dried Halo liv a little
    +6 269 ate a little (less than 1 oz) FF whitefish and tuna classic - hairball shortly after
    +9 288 no food

    Looks like he is on the way back up, so unless PMPS is below 210, I will shoot 1.5 u. I'll post if there is a problem with his PMPS.
     
  14. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335;+3 307;+6 269;+9 288 ATrak

    Hi Anne, yes, that is where I buy my AlphaTrak strips, much cheaper than the Vet's, and they get here in no time. Looking good for Zener. No wonder they're not eating with the catch and then the hairball...Maggie isn't eating all that great either, but she's indoors here as I live in an apartment. It's hot here today though and that throws off their appetite with the heat. I'm about to put the A/C back on tonight. Have a good night.
     
  15. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335;+3 307;+6 269;+9 288 ATrak

    looks like zener is going to give you a little gift tonight - sleep! :D
     
  16. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener AMPS 335;+3 307;+6 269;+9 288 ATrak

    Thanks Ann & Julie for all your support! I'll be getting Zener's PMPS, feeding and shooting. Then checking a +2 and off to Snoozeville - at least that's the plan right now! I keep forgetting that the furry wonders had bird ala mode this am, and poor Zener had a hairball this afternoon. That's enough to throw a finicky feline off his feed!

    cat_pet_icon
     
  17. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener PMPS 352 ATrak

    Here's the summary for a much calmer day - completed 4 cycles at 1.5 u

    06/30/11
    AMPS 335 1 oz Blue Buffalo flaked tuna entree sprinkled with fortiflora;
    +1 ate a little freeze dried Halo liv a little chicken
    +2 ate most of 1 oz BB flaked tuna with fortiflora
    +3 307 ate some of 1oz BB tuna, a littel freeze dried Halo liv a little
    +6 269 ate a little (less than 1 oz) FF whitefish and tuna classic - hairball shortly after
    +9 288 no food
    PMPS 352 fed 1 oz BB Wilderness turkey, then 1 oz flaked tuna

    As soon as the big guy finishes dinner (he hates to be distracted) will give 1.5 u. Then get a +2 before bedtime.

    Today was a less exciting day, at least for me thank goodness. Zener or Tillie, no one is talking, left me a lovely present of a pile of finch feathers this morning, and had to chase a neighbor's cat out of their yard this evening, so they had a very exciting day!
    dancing_cat
     
  18. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener PMPS 352 ATrak

    hmmm, makes me wonder if zener had a better appetite this morning than you may think! :lol:
     
  19. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener PMPS 352 ATrak

    You are so right Jill! Usually, Zener is the stalker, but he has a hard time making a catch with his CH, so Tillie (the Queen of Everything) takes the credit for it all! Things are looking much smoother tonight, thank goodness. :mrgreen:

    But I am starting to stress a little about being away next week. Zener will be in the care of our vet tech, who will stay here (except when working) and overnight. We left him with her in May and he was fine. Still, I worry a little!
     
  20. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener PMPS 352 ATrak

    remind us again a day or two before you leave. we usually suggest a reduced dose while the caregiver is gone.
    will the vet tech be testing? how long will you be gone?
     
  21. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener PMPS 352 ATrak

    I will do that, thank you! I'll post a reminder on Monday. The vet tech will be testing AMPS, around +6 (she works at a clinic about 10 minutes away and comes on her lunch break to check on him), and PMPS. He also does not eat as well while we are away. Will be leaving on Wednesday (after AMPS, shot, and +3) mid-day July 6 and returning on Tuesday early afternoon July 12.
     
  22. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener PMPS 352 ATrak

    happy to hear she'll be testing! yes, remind us again right before you go.
    with a reduced dose and a VET TECH as your petsitter, you should be able to enjoy your trip! :D
     
  23. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 06/30/11 Zener PMPS 352 ATrak

    Will do, it's on my Monday "things to do" list! Thank you! :mrgreen:
     
  24. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Here's the bedtime story for tonight.

    06/30/11
    AMPS 335 1 oz Blue Buffalo flaked tuna entree sprinkled with fortiflora;
    +1 ate a little freeze dried Halo liv a little chicken
    +2 ate most of 1 oz BB flaked tuna with fortiflora
    +3 307 ate some of 1oz BB tuna, a littel freeze dried Halo liv a little
    +6 269 ate a little (less than 1 oz) FF whitefish and tuna classic - hairball shortly after
    +9 288 no food
    PMPS 352 fed 1 oz BB Wilderness turkey, then 1 oz flaked tuna
    +2 359 ate another 2 oz flaked tuna

    Things seem to be pretty good at +2, so we're off to bed! Will post BG values again in the morning.
    I-)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page