6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last entry)

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46388#p498074

His #'s are so wacked! How can his nadir change so much?

I had to feed him because he was about ready to bite my head off...so I guess this means testing him like crazy again tonight.... Although I have to give him a glucosamine shot which is gonna stress him out (and me!), so I'm sure his #'s will rise!
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

giving you a bump if you need it.

do you shoot for +12?
do you have everything you need? strips, foods..
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

Yes, I shoot at +12.
I seriously don't get it!
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

well when you get your +12 number, you may see a food influenced number cuz of the early feeding
what do u plan to do?
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

He's at 87 at +12 (that's with food in his belly). Hmmmm....not sure what to do. I think I'm going to wait till and test him again at 12.5 or 13. It's going to screw up the schedule again, but...
I'm just trying to figure out if all these low #'s are a good thing or if his body is just really wacked out with starting the glucosamine and zobaline for his neuropathy and arthritis??
He just looks so tired and sick of all this stuff! :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

what had you fed him at +11.5? LC, MC or HC? and how much?

I would suggest a 30 minute stall rather than an hour, save you 1/2 an hour wait in case he's got a good rise comfy enough for you.
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

I fed him about a 1/4 c raw food (but it's cooked).
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

it looks to me as though you just had his bounce from the 39 clearing today. That's why he's dropping. It's good that his bounces are clearing so quickly. :smile:

If you're stalling, let's see a +12.5. You don't want to wait too long - the idea is to catch it the minute he starts to go up.

By the way, next time you see a number in the 30s, don't wait 2 hours to test again, ok? 20-30 minutes, max. You need to be sure you have gotten him up a bit and past nadir before taking a break.
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

When you say "his bounce was clearing" can you explain what that means? What is his body doing?
Yeah, I know better than to go that long between testing when he's so low....not sure what I was doing! :)
New test # coming shortly....
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

+12.5 is 76. It's going down.... Something doesn't seem right here....
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

When a cat bounces, it's a result of the liver reacting to either numbers that are lower than it's used to (or just low) or a very fast drop. As a result, the liver releases a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones. This spikes the numbers up. When a bounce "clears," it means that the the body is processing the liver's output and numbers come down. As Gizzy gets used to being in lower numbers, these bounces will clear more quickly or she will stop bouncing.
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy AMPS/377, +5/243, +11.5/89 WHAT?

OK now I'm panicking! He's at 56 at +13.25! What should I do? Give him some high carb food??
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

Thanks Guys! I'm going to test him again in a few minutes to see where he's at. If he goes lower, I'm going to give high carb food. I hate to do that because it's going to give me an artificially high # that is going to drop again at some point during the night. I would love to see where this goes without having to give him the HC food....but I know I don't want him to go much lower. He's acting totally fine - bright eyed. Of course then I start 2nd guessing my meter because this just seems so strange to me.
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

There's not a lot to get panicked about since you've not shot. Generally, we don't advise feeding if you're stalling. If numbers drop below 50, you can give a little LC food.

***I'm confused. You said in this condo that you shot at +12. However, your SS says you haven't shot and you're counting time as +13.25 which implies you haven't shot.
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

If you put your test numbers in your subject line along with "help", I'm sure Sienne or Libby will know to check on you. No one knows what's going on without the test numbers to look at in your subject line. Good luck!!
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

Nope, didn't shoot. I misunderstood what she was asking - i thought she was asking if I normally shoot at +12. oops

OK - so just tested him at +14 and he's at 72. Not much of an increase but I'll take it! So I should test him again in a 1/2 hour and if he's still rising - shoot?? (And I didn't feed him)
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

I had his #'s in the subject line, but then took them out because I wanted to write "PANICKING" and ran out of space! LOL
I seriously need a glass of wine and some reality TV to bring me back down! :)
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

Just take a few breaths and try to slow down.

I would get another test. You're already off schedule so what's another test? Actually, I'd like to see that the numbers are heading up. What +time are you at?

(And numbers in the subject line plus a "Help" will definitely get attention!!)
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

So, here's the deal...

Do you have strips and HC? Can you afford to shoot 12 hours from now? You will need to get a +1 and a +2 tonight and probably need to test more after that. Is all of that feasible?

If so, shoot your regular dose. Remember, a late shot is like a dose reduction. You will have about 2 hours before the new dose kicks in so numbers will keep rising and there will be food behind those numbers.
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

Yup, I can do that.
I will test at +14.5 again just to make sure he's rising.
He wants more food right now. Should I give him food with that shot or wait to see what he's at at +2 before I give him food?
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

Just like always, test, feed and shoot. Gizzy gets food when you shoot. How about splitting the difference and testing at +14.3?
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

That would be right now. Stay tuned....
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

Let's say I end up shooting at about +15 (11:00pm). 11:00 then becomes my regular shooting time (which I'll slowly have to dial back to get back to 8pm). Before I get back to 8pm, how do I work the feeding schedule? He's used to eating at 8am on the dot. There is no way I can stall his food till 11:00. Will that screw up his #'s if I start feeding him at +9? OR would it be easier to just skip the shot tonight and get it back on track tomorrow? I'm willing to do whichever, but ultimately I want to do what's best for him and his #'s....
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

If you haven't fed him yet, Gizzy will cope with the late feeding in the AM.

Skipping and getting back on schedule is easiest but it's at the expense of the shed.
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

Does that mean his #'s will be high because he will use any excess insulin in the shed?
How long would his #'s be high for?
I don't know what to do...that's a long way to dial him back if I have to go by 1/2 hour increments. But again, if it would be easier on him, I don't mind doing it. I
f it was Gabby, what would you do?
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

Not a fair question. I've been at this a lot longer and I'll shoot low numbers. I'll shoot in the 50s and above because I have tons of data.

There's no way to know how long or what effect a skipped shot will have on the shed. Everyone here has given a fur shot. You try to not do it too often and just go on about your business.

One of the reasons we urge you to shoot as close to on time as possible is because it's hard to regain the lost time.
 
Re: 6/27 Gizzy Starting to Panic! Please advise (see last en

He's still only at 76 at +15.
I'm going to skip the shot....it makes me too nervous to shoot while he's still surfing.
I will still be up for a couple hours so I could continue to check him, but if I shoot later it will stink getting him back on track.
I'm going to leave his little ears rest....will probably test him before I go to bed just out of curiousity to see when he starts to zoom!
A million thank you's for hangin in there with me tonight!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top