Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +10@184 DOSE FOR TONIGHT?
First off, the 38 earns a reduction....you would not want to hold this dose when you get a number in the 30s just because he earned a reduction yesterday. Gracie is on a low dose, about 1.0u, Fax is on 5.0u...there's a big difference in the size of the shed. Fax has a skipped shot 8 cycles ago, and a very small token dose 4 cycles ago...and he still has earned 2 reductions since that BCS dose. While you don't want to go down the scale too fast, you also don't want to hold a dose that is clearly too high. Fax has had NO failed reductions, Gracie has had many....completely different cats, totally different situations.
You have two options, you could take the reduction to 4.75u. You could also take a larger reduction to 4.5u, since he is on a relatively large dose and therefore has a bigger shed, it might allow the shed to drain more and possibly avoid another quick reduction. However, there is a risk that you could lose momentum by reducing by a larger amount. It's a balancing act, and I don't know (and nobody else has a crystal ball either!) which way will work better. Some cats zoom down the ladder and need frequent or larger reductions. It depends on your comfort level and ability to monitor. The usual route is to take the 0.25u reduction, and he certainly seems to come up easily when you use HC to bring him up, so that may be just fine. Either way, I would make sure you try to get an early cycle test in each cycle if possible....if you see him going down at +2, I would strongly suggest that you keep testing.
If Fax zooms up by PMPS, you could shoot the 5.0u dose one more time (shooting through the bounce) if you want to.