6/13 Willie PMPS 89, +2~84, +4~91 New vet!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Great pre-shots for Willie today, esp. given that the PM was at +12.5 immediately after returning from the vet! The new vet is AWESOME!!! He is the nicest guy ever and very much a partner (as opposed to a dictator) in caring for pet health issues. They were very aware of the potential vaccine based issues and they only use the Purevax vaccine for that reason, shooting in the leg and not the scruff. He is more the surgeon in the small practice while his colleague handles more the long-term care issues like diabetes. He was tickled by Willie's spreadsheet and he and the tech were both very anxious to share with the other vet in the morning. I offered to come in and chat with her about the resources available to diabetic kitty caregivers, how the protocol had worked for us, etc. The vet was astounded by how good of health Willie was in given his age and health issues. It was a wonderful visit and I am just so excited that they are just around the corner!!

One bit of bad news... We almost made it through the month-trial off the cyclosporine, but alas, Willie's pemphigus has returned, so I'm picking up meds for him to start tonight... have to start all over with a pill a day until we get back to remission. But we caught it early so it will be okay, and now we know that taking him off of it won't be an option, which we can live with.

I'm off to have a quick dinner with a friend, but am taking a night off from moving, so will check in on condos a bit later!! Hope everyone is having a good day!
 
Re: 6/13 Willie AMPS 84, +1~136, PMPS 89 New vet!!

So glad you are liking the new vet! Sounds like willie must of been pretty relaxed there too, considering the PS he gave!
 
Re: 6/13 Willie AMPS 84, +1~136, PMPS 89 New vet!!

How wonderful to find a really good new vet (and Willie apparently agrees)! Sorry about the return of pemphigus, but you seem to have the situation under control.
Good to take the evening off from moving!! Enjoy your dinner.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/13 Willie AMPS 84, +1~136, PMPS 89 New vet!!

props to a fabulous new vet, and a great pmps!
 
Re: 6/13 Willie AMPS 84, +1~136, PMPS 89 New vet!!

YAY and good news on the vet! And so close too. It is always so great to find one that wants to partner. HOORAY!

Enjoy your evening off from moving! I hope you have a great dinner. Enjoy!

Sorry about the return of Willie's pemphigus. Nice that you caught it early though, and can control it well. Very nice numbers for Willie too! SWEET!
 
Re: 6/13 Willie AMPS 84, +1~136, PMPS 89 New vet!!

Christie - out of curiosity...where/what is the name of the vet clinic you went to today? The vet at our clinic that I halfway liked has left & I am searching for a new clinic.
 
Amanda, we went to Dearborn Animal Clinic over on Johnson Drive in Mission. It is a small practice, a block from Mission MedVet. The vet we saw today typically handles their surgeries, and he said that we'd be seeing the other vet for any diabetes-related issues, but he stressed that they both are the type to see treatment of diabetes as a collaboration and that the wishes/needs of the caregiver were extremely important. The woman who runs the front desk has a diabetic dog, so she is very up on things as well. I just could not be more pleased with them!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top