6/13 punkin amps 249 +3/255 +6.5/202 +9.5/232 pmps 258

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

i'm covered with kitty. anya is sleeping stretched out on my legs, punkin purring in my arms making it hard to type! breakfast long since gone, kitty wrestling over (guess who won?), nanners loved, and now they're both on me.

i've gotten sucked in on the main board with new people - you could stay there all day. it's like everyone has the same story. "my vet gave me dry Purina DM . . . my cat's BG is high . . . " you gotta wonder why all the vets do that.

rainy & cold here today. June in the Willamette Valley looks just like February. But it's snuggy in here with my kitty blankies. :lol:
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249

Awwww sounds like the absolute perfect morning, covered in kitties.

I checked the loose lips thread late last night and just about died laughing at Anya's brazilian pictures. OMG!! I love it, she must love it too cause she was posing for the photo shoot.

Not bad AMPS for the Punkster this morning, maybe he might see some blue today?

I was totally one of those people posting on the main board once upon a time. This website truly is a kitty lifesaver and good on you for helping out over there. *pat on the back for Julie!*
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249

I never go over to the main board anymore. i have a hard enough time keeping up with my friends on this one.

Those pictures were hilarious by the way! Anya is beautiful and sports her Brazilian very well.

Nice peaceful day covered in kitties!
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249

i was so pulling for blue this morning for punkin after last night. maybe some later? yes?

i'm amazed how different vets are.

mine said wet food wet food wet food (actually they were they ones pushing the low carb ff, i resisted at first), and handed me this website and janet and binky's website along with a packet of information about how diabetes works in a cat's body, what to expect, etc...truly a prepared vet.

at the same time, having that security in my vet, it still took me a while to get over here and on the boards.

i really believe vets wouldn't do what they do unless they loved animals, but i imagine it's got to be hard for some vets who have very large general practices and only see a couple cases of fd in their careers to be confronted by patients who know more than they do.
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249

the thing about being covered in kitty is that it's a great excuse to not move!

anybody but me ever think of that poem about babies?

Cleaning and scrubbing
can wait til tomorrow
for kitties grow up,
we've learned to our sorrow

so fly away cobwebs
and dust go to sleep
i'm rocking my kitty
and kitties don't keep.

my version, of course - but i think of it all the time.
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249

I agree with the vet issue. My vet was like Mococo's vet. She is the one who directed me to this website, gave me Janet & Binky's food chart, along with a large packet of info.

However, I have found that she uses generalities when dealing with FD. She wants Tarragon between 200 - 300 at the lowest. I am the only patient she has that does home testing faithfully. I believe that is why she has the above threshold. I think she is not used to people testing, so if she says 200 - 300 then it will avoid a hypo case when the cat is at home. She is learning to trust my judgement and is very open to any suggestions or ideas I have.

With all that being said, my last two vets were the reason Tarragon even has FD with their steroid shots. There is a lot of inconsistency in that profession and, when it comes down to it, no one knows our animals like we do.
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249

Hi guys .. what a great way to start a cold day! The current vet I have now has a problem with mocha's numbers .. just the other day when we took mocha to the vet for an eye problem, she informed us she sent our numbers to MSU to have them look .. because she is "weird" when it comes to how low her numbers are .. it isn't "normal" :-D
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249

I know what you mean about the main board...you could lose days over there.

I think there's a couple reasons why vets do what they do. For one thing, they have to know a lot of things about a lot of animals...it can't be easy to keep up with all of it, much less know a lot about any one disease. I also think most of them don't have a strong knowledge about feline nutrition in general, much less feline nutrition and various ailments. They run on autopilot. And, most probably aren't used to the likes of the people here on this board; I'm sure most patients don't want to be bothered with tight schedules and home-monitoring, so the vets do their best to keep the cats safe from hypo. My very own vet, who is great, told me that "170s are very normal BG numbers." That was very early on in the game, and even though I knew that wasn't correct, I didn't get into it with her. She knows I'm following the protocol, and I think it made her nervous at first, but she checks Trixie's spreadsheet from time-to-time so she can see that we're making sure Trix is always safe.

All of the prescription diets make me crazy, but I think the DM is the worst of them all.

Your kitty blankie is a lovely way to start the day!
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249

good morning Julie and Punkin

Oh a kitty blanket and purring - what could be better - oh maybe something called a SUN in the pacific NW - gray and drizzly up here by me too by Mt Rainier....sigh - maybe we'll see a day a summer yet....

loved your little poem - I so remember that one too....like your edition of it :razz: :-D
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249

I agree with the mainboard comment! My vet has recommended dry food for various reasons and I politely remind her we don't do that in my house :lol: ;-) (except Rasta gets a TBS of dry Evo in the AM as a treat).

I love the kitty blanket. I just have a kitty foot warmer (Zell) right now. :lol:

I hope you have a happy Monday!
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249 +3/255 +6.5/202

Gotta go check out that pic of Anya!
My vet, who unintentionally overdosed Stu on Lantus when we had to switch from PZI because it was discontinued, now leaves everything relating to FD to me. He has done his reading and knows a lot more about the new insulins and how they work than he did. Here in a rural area we don't have a big choice of vets, so I think it is important to try to work with the vets we have. Rusty's vet is the equivalent of a human general practitioner and I think this is true of many vets. They have to deal with accidents, infections, etc. and if they subscribe to the "one size fits all" treatment, that's the way it is and that's why we have to be vigilant and question things we feel are not right for our kitties. A good vet will listen.

Punkin's looking good. And he seems to make a nice sweater for you, Julie!

Have a fine evening,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249 +3/255 +6.5/202

Looks (and sounds) like you and Punkin both had a good morning!!! Wish I had a kitty blanket!!
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249 +3/255 +6.5/202 +9.5/232

I like kitty blankets while still in bed. Gus' vet used to suggest Purina DM until I led him toward the light. Has Punkin's vet ever treated an acro kitty before in his practice? Gus is his vet's first. It's interesting about the large appetite and acros. You seem to have done a lot of reading and research about acromegaly, Julie. Have you run across an explanation about increased hunger? I know that it occurs, I see it every day and you said that Punkin is always hungry. I was just wondering, why?
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249 +3/255 +6.5/202 +9.5/232

Julie, where do you find the time and energy to interact on not one but TWO forums? I can barely post a condo and hit 3 or 4 others before the day gets away from me. Don't get me wrong. I would love to take one whole day and just hang in the condos. It's fascinating stuff! The vet thing is evolving, I think. It's up to us to educate them, if possible. I love my new vet, after getting "fired" from my old one for disobeying her order not to hometest. Quote: You don't want to hurt your kitty, do you? ohmygod_smile

Love Anya's pics--who knew they could/would do such a thing. What a great answer to the poo dilemma. :-D

Hope punkin gives you a lovely blue/green day tomorrow after this flat yellow period.
 
Re: 6/13 punkin amps 249 +3/255 +6.5/202 +9.5/232

Love the discussion on vets, I agree with it all. It's nice when we get one we can work with.

Very nice numbers for punkin - nice and flat and yellow - wonder if that means action is coming. Maybe some blues on the horizon. :-D
 
uh, well, if there's action coming it's crawling on it's little knees! :lol: this bud has been flat yellows for weeks now, with barely a peek of any other color. on the flip side, i'm not going to complain because if i hadn't been upping his dose he'd probably be flat blacks by now instead of flat yellows.

sandy, i hate to even admit how much time i waste online. really - it's embarrassing. i'll just say that i'm actually a big "get it done" person but now that i'm not working, no kids at home (michelle home for the summer doesn't count) and i have basically no deadlines, i, uh, well, talk online too much. I was just thinking today that i should set a timer.

bev, i haven't seen anything that said "this is why they're always hungry" but i think it's from the growth factor. think about it - like a teenage boy with the "bottomless pit" "hollow leg" phenomena - did i spell that right? - they are flooded with hormones to make them grow and they want to eat to go with it. that must be what's happening to acro kitties. their bodies are trying to grow - so they want to eat.

in a non-acro cat their growth hormone is under 90 - punkin was 281, i think. they all seem to be hungry and i would assume that's why.
 
Explicit Anya Pix now available in LL!! She may be asked to resign from her kittyship!!! Woo Woo!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Punkin is nice & yellow--tomorrow look for blue as after a yellow flat stretch, comes lovely blue & we hope, green!!
Vets think cats are regulated between 200-150! Mine anyway! When they saw my numbers they said WOW what are you doing>> I told them!!! :lol: :lol: Impressive!
Have a good night! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top