roisin and fax
Member Since 2011
Hello,
I have a 9 year old male cat - Fax. He was diagnosed as diabetic last spring which we controlled through food and 4 units of Lantus twice daily with little issues. In October of last year he went into remission and on vet's orders was taken off of insulin.
Fast forward to last month - we moved house and since then his levels have been out of control. He was put back on Lantus May 2 - 2 units twice daily. I do home testing (originally using Alpha Trak but now have moved to OneTouch Ultra human meter). Since May 2 he has been increased 1 unit at a time up to current dosage of 5 units (all on vet's direction).
The problem is that I cannot get his levels under control.
Here are numbers from the OneTouch from yesterday and today (these are similar to what we have been seeing since problems have started again)
preshot: 8:30 am -- 342 - 5 units
8:54 am -- 298.8
12:10 pm-- 307.8
3:55 pm -- 397.8
preshot: 6:51 pm -- 441 5 units
10:25 pm -- 370.8
TODAY:
preshot: 8:30 am - 340.2 5 units
9:05 am - 387
9:45 am - 381.6
10:45 am - 327.8
I have had suggestions from the main board that I may be giving too high of a dose. How can this be determined? He had his urine tested for infection and ketones - the tests came back fine but showed some trace white blood cells so he has done a round of anti-biotics.
Thank you
ROisin
I have a 9 year old male cat - Fax. He was diagnosed as diabetic last spring which we controlled through food and 4 units of Lantus twice daily with little issues. In October of last year he went into remission and on vet's orders was taken off of insulin.
Fast forward to last month - we moved house and since then his levels have been out of control. He was put back on Lantus May 2 - 2 units twice daily. I do home testing (originally using Alpha Trak but now have moved to OneTouch Ultra human meter). Since May 2 he has been increased 1 unit at a time up to current dosage of 5 units (all on vet's direction).
The problem is that I cannot get his levels under control.
Here are numbers from the OneTouch from yesterday and today (these are similar to what we have been seeing since problems have started again)
preshot: 8:30 am -- 342 - 5 units
8:54 am -- 298.8
12:10 pm-- 307.8
3:55 pm -- 397.8
preshot: 6:51 pm -- 441 5 units
10:25 pm -- 370.8
TODAY:
preshot: 8:30 am - 340.2 5 units
9:05 am - 387
9:45 am - 381.6
10:45 am - 327.8
I have had suggestions from the main board that I may be giving too high of a dose. How can this be determined? He had his urine tested for infection and ketones - the tests came back fine but showed some trace white blood cells so he has done a round of anti-biotics.
Thank you
ROisin