5/22 Leo AMPS 398, PMPS 425, +2 383, + 4 254, + 6 194

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43836
Happy Sunday All,

SIGH......he must have dropped last night and I missed it.

No ghosts last night to haunt Leo, but I made sure to take him to bed with me. He was up and waiting for his breffis, poor guy I didn't leave much food out last night so he was pretty hungry and his dish was licked clean! He's washing up after that breffis, so kitty life is good at the moment.

I was planning on taking him out to a park or down by the river today, just to get him outta the apartment and get him some much needed exercise.....and to look for some yummy mice to snack on too!
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398

Sounds like Leo is going to have some fun today!!! Hope he winds up with mouse breath :-D

btw...you did what I always do and then have to go back and edit...you forgot to link yesterday's condo!
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398

i forget to do that link about every other day, it seems. you'd think i'd have it by now!

not sure if i want to hope that leo has mouse breath or not. sounds kinda repulsive, but for his sake, OK, i'll wish for it. :lol:

did ya have a little talk with leo about no scooching up from that amps!? we don't wanna see ya hitting those fire engine reds mr leo! down boy!
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398

You girls are funny with the mouse breath :lol:

You know Patty I have no idea how to link yesterday's condo...... :oops:

Went btb after Leo's shot and he just woke me up with purrs and head butts. I laid there and tried to think of somewhere I could take him today without a leash and harness, but what if he tries to take off on me? So leashed and harnessed it will have to be. After my coffee ~O) ~O) of course.... :-D

I hope he comes down a little today. I hate seeing these almost reds on him!
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232 dose?

If one of the dosing experts can weigh in that would grrrrrreat!

How do you think Leo is doing dose wise? Should I continue holding 2.25? Increase to 2.50?

Please let me know!

Thank you.
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232 dose?

Hey Tracy-

You can link the previous day's condo by cutting and pasting the URL of the previous condo into your new condo, then highlight the URL you just pasted and click the little "URL" button that's just above the message box you're typing in. I know, that sounds super-confusing...I hope it makes sense. I know the dosing folks like to be able to easily refer back to previous condos, so including the link streamlines the process for them.

I hope you guys are having a great day!!

Amy
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232 dose?

No ideas on the dose from me.....Just here for support. Glad Leo didn't have any ghostly encounters last night.

My mom was from Plenty Saskatchewan. And when I was in elementary school here in Texas I would just chuckle over how the kiddos would try and pronounce "Saskatchewan". It was a hoot and actually still is. When folks pronounce it down here it sounds like its some sort of Chinese stir-fry.

Bumpity Bump
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232, +6 171 dose?

You've been at 2.25u for a while so my guess is it's going to be fine for you to increase to 2.5u. I'd wait for a dosing expert though.
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232, +6 171 dose?

I agree with Patty that you *may* have some room to take him up but here is the protocol info:

Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

He is getting nadirs less than 200 but he is bouncing in between. I'm starting to see there are definitely pros to holding doses if kitties are getting green and Leo is improving. However, could he do better? He's been down in the 70s....a nice number; if you increase .25u, I think you are really going to have to stay on top of it. that's just my, untrained, thought.

I think what one of the dosing folks would say is to get a +11 and post with "Dose ?" and then they can offer some suggestions to you and they are better at looking in between the lines on SSs :-D

Have a great day and hope you all get out to the park for a walk!
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232, +6 171 dose?

The fact that you're on vacation for the next three weeks might make this a good time to take it up a notch because you'll have no problem testing him as often as necessary. Just a thought.
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232 dose?

Tracy & Leo said:
How do you think Leo is doing dose wise? Should I continue holding 2.25? Increase to 2.50?
hi tracy. i think you guys are doing great especially when you consider you're alternating leo's care between your grandparents and yourself! btw, kudos to your grandparents. they're awesome for helping you and leo out!

as far as dose goes... i'm kind of on the fence about whether the dose should be increased or not. on the surface, it looks like there's room for an increase, BUT after reading the "remarks" noted on your spreadsheet... i'm not so sure.

when leo drops to the 70s and 80s he's being fed hc. you're not using the alphatrak meter, right? if not, a little bit of lc is probably all you need to control the curve. since you'll be home the next three weeks, i think i'd stick with the current dose for at least a few more days. try using small amounts of lc rather than hc to control the curve (unless he drops below 50). i have a feeling you'll see a lot more green on his ss.

once we see what happens, we can re-evaluate the dose.
just my thoughts...
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232, +6 171, +9 432 dose?

Thanks everyone for the responses.

Jill, it was my parents that were feeding Leo the HC. Leo's vet told them a cat has the same BG range as a human (duh....) so automatically when my dad sees less than 5.5 mmol/L he freaks and shoves HC down Leo's throat, it is a work in progress and I try so hard to make him understand that cats ranges are much lower, but he's stubborn! :smile:

Im just wondering if I will see any green outta him while I'm on holidays, but IF I do, rest assured I will not feed Leo HC unless he drops below 50. I will continue holding his dose for a few more days, collect data and ask again.

PS Im not using the alpha track. We use the aviva accuchek meter.
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232, +6 171, +9 432 dose?

sorry. i got your parents and grandparents mixed up. :oops:
you're so lucky to have them give you a hand with leo! let's just see what happens over the next few days. an increase is most likely in his future, but it sure would be nice to know how low this dose *could* take him before we add more insulin into the mix.
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, + 4~232, +6 171, +9 432 dose?

Perfect! Thanks Jill!

And yes my parents helping us.....i am so thankful that Leo and i have them in our lives. They just want him to feel better, and love him just as much as i do.

I started adding what i've been feeding him as well to his SS, in case that has any effect on his numbers.

So we went to the park for a few hours and Leo would not leave my side, i walked over to the part of the park that has a really old cemetary in it and he wasn't paying attention to where i was, when he noticed i had walked away he started yelling at me and came hobbling over (he's got neuropathy) poor thing. I'm thinking he wasn't very brave today there due to the fact that there was a handful of dogs there with their owners playing frisbee. We came back home and i had noticed that he must have gone #1 just on the corner of his lb and there was pee everywhere......in the box and all over the floor so i cleaned it up and mopped up the mess and changed the litter, of course they can't wait for you to change the litter and as soon as i was done he jumped in and went #1 again. This time i have no idea what the hell happened in there, but he came out and tracked litter ALL over the floor, it was clumped on his back legs....so out came the vacuum and i ran some bath water to wash up his feet, i only put in maybe 2 inches of water in the tub and put him in the tub....well he lost his footing in the tub and completely fell in!!!!! OMG i was laughing so hard :lol: :lol: :lol: and he was NOT impressed with me! How he could get completely soaked in 2 inches of water is beyond me!!
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, PMPS 425

oh the indignity of it all! poor boy!

my sweet little tuxedo cat that i found when i was in college . . . one time i was soaking in the bathtub reading a book. i had a dry washcloth on the edge of the tub to dry my hands on. well TC came in for the attack and when she jumped on the edge of the tub, she landed on that washcloth and slid right into the tub. it was the funniest thing i'd ever seen. i nearly died laughing. her fur floated up around her and there she was with me, in the tub, wishing she were anywhere else but there.

she acted like she had no idea what had just happened to her!

glad leo was able to get out today - that was probably really good for him.
 
Re: 5/22 Leo AMPS 398, PMPS 425

I just love the accidental cat-wetting stories!! Nothing funnier looking than a wet cat :lol: :lol: At least he's clean now!! btw...Champ has had litter stuck on his feet, too. It's because their urine is sticky from having glucose in it so if they step in the wet litter, it sticks like glue to their feet. I almost had to chisel it off!! I ended up just getting a couple paper towels that I soaked and cleaned his feet off that way. I never thought of the tub, which is probably a good thing because Champ is the clumsiest cat EVER!! :-D
 
Haha Julie on your TC story......floating fur, I can just picture it :lol:

He's come down into blue tonight.....please don't bounce please don't bounce, just surf all night long Leo :-D

Nighty nite all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top