5/21 Atlas PMPS 413, +2 398

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Very Active Member
Good Morning Lantus Land!!!!

Yep...that is a blue number this morning...we'll see if it holds.

Yesterday's Condo

Prayers up for all our fellow lantians, civvies, and beans...

Chickadees have young in the box. We can hear them! This is the third year they've used this box. This year it is right outside my family room windows and only 10-12 feet from the window. So close I don't need binoculars!

Yes, Michelle ...nasty yellow jackets have taken advantage of an apparent hole in the mortar of my brick. Reading up it seems only dusting the hole for a week or two is the only solution. Advantage is they set a new hive every year, don't reuse old ones, and it is spring so the hive should be fairly small. Although they can sting and sting and sting. So, with cats in the house I don't need them in between the walls where they can chew the drywall and then become my indoor pet wasps. For those that don't know or realize, yellowjackets are wasps and meat eaters, not pollinators.


I'll be checking back in later...
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242

I think tonight I am setting the alarm to catch a +9 (3am) reading. Something is going on overnight and I'm not sure what? These daytime bounces may be deceiving.
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242

if you look at 5/16pm he had almost exactly the same numbers as he started with last night, and ended up about the same place in the morning. That's probably a good indication of what happened last night.

I know it's tempting to increase the dose more, but what I would do, especially with him not feeling well, is follow the protocol with increases, but don't sit on a dose that isn't working too long. 6 cycles, no more, until he starts getting some lower numbers. You do want to give him a fair chance to see if a dose works (6 cycles), but once you've given the dose a chance, then move on. You're doing that already, so keep it up. What doesn't seem to work well for Attie is changing dose *too* often. That's when his numbers start to get wonky. The current numbers aren't really wonky, they just indicate not enough insulin.

If he has an infection, then most likely his dose will come back down again when the infection starts to clear, but in the meantime you want to try to keep up with his insulin needs.
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242

Libby, thank you for taking a closer looks at Attie's SS. Yes, we're holding the dose through the weekend and then emailing the vet his numbers.

I am just pretty stressed with his having lost regulation.
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242, +4 325

I'm sure you are. When Lucy went down the dosing ladder really fast, then totally lost it, that was the most frustrating time in our journey. I cried, I tried new insulin, new meter, new strips, more new insulin, cried some more. It turns out that all she needed was to build up to another breakthrough dose, but I was sure there was something wrong with her. I guess she just decided she wasn't ready for a lower dose yet. I hope that's all it is for Attie.
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242, +4 325

Morning guys. Good luck with all that has been discussed her this morning, I know the frustration... and the fear that something is wrong. I hope it is as Libby says.

Attie - feel better there big guy. Your bean worries...

yep on the yellow jackets. They are nasty little buggers. We get them here too, and their sting is not pleasant. We have had a couple of "run ins" with swarms... :sad: Good luck with getting rid of them - I think you are right: it's early, the nest should be small. And omg on the indoor in the walls thing. we have done a remodel her several years ago, and in removing old sheet rock we found a nest that ran from ceiling to floor in between two 2X4's. :shock: We were lucky - never did get them in the house....
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242, +4 325
 

Attachments

  • togetherness.jpg
    togetherness.jpg
    595.7 KB · Views: 366
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242, +4 325

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm sure you are. When Lucy went down the dosing ladder really fast, then totally lost it, that was the most frustrating time in our journey. I cried, I tried new insulin, new meter, new strips, more new insulin, cried some more. It turns out that all she needed was to build up to another breakthrough dose, but I was sure there was something wrong with her. I guess she just decided she wasn't ready for a lower dose yet. I hope that's all it is for Attie.


You and I both are hoping it is the same thing. Just a dose reduction taken too fast. It seemed odd to be taking reductions when the consistency wasn't there. Attie seems most comfortable at 2.0 to 2.5s.

Again today Attie is turning his nose up at his mini-meals...I may swing by Landmark and see if they have any Primal cat on hand.
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242, +4 325, +10 475!!

Oh dear me!!!!

Attie....dude....what is going on with you?


5/13....48, no reduction taken. First time below 50 at this dose.

Bounce doesn't seem to clear....

Remains high with overnight numbers dropping.

Too much insulin....are we going the wrong way?
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242, +4 325, +10 475!!

Wow is that Gary sitting by Attie???? Holy toledo!!! I see MudCat too but further back.

(((Beth)))...I agree with Libby and we are having the same issue with Gracie. Too many reductions in too short of a time and the last one didn't hold and now we are slowly making our way back up to try and reach the breakthrough dose. At each step I ask "too little insulin or not enough?"

I don't know if this will help but Jill told me is that it's very difficult to tell which is going on. So the choices are hold the current dose and hope it improves, take them down (in Gracie's case if we suspected overdose, we'd take her to .25u and basically start over....not an option for me), or keep taking them up (even if it is already too much insulin) until they hit the breakthrough dose. So we are taking her back up and holding each dose 5-7 days depending on what she is doing. We just hope she hits a breakthrough dose soon.
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas AMPS 193, +2 242, +4 325, +10 475!!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Wow is that Gary sitting by Attie???? Holy toledo!!! I see MudCat too but further back.

(((Beth)))...I agree with Libby and we are having the same issue with Gracie. Too many reductions in too short of a time and the last one didn't hold and now we are slowly making our way back up to try and reach the breakthrough dose. At each step I ask "too little insulin or not enough?"

I don't know if this will help but Jill told me is that it's very difficult to tell which is going on. So the choices are hold the current dose and hope it improves, take them down (in Gracie's case if we suspected overdose, we'd take her to .25u and basically start over....not an option for me), or keep taking them up (even if it is already too much insulin) until they hit the breakthrough dose. So we are taking her back up and holding each dose 5-7 days depending on what she is doing. We just hope she hits a breakthrough dose soon.

Yep, that was this morning...an open window, a garden, and a chipmunk to keep them all amused.

Yes, I know Libby is very,very likely correct. It is just freaking me out that now we're hitting REDS. REDS darn it all!
 
Re: 5/21 Atlas PMPS 413

Hi Beth

Come on Attie.....your bean is working so hard to figure out your dose....you need to eat your fuds.

And I would like to order a chipmunk from you to use in my household.....I'll do anything to have my two girls side by side like your three.
 
LOL...Tena...

I don't think you guys want to have to deal with chipmunks. They are cute, cute, cute,...but destructive too!
 
Hi Beth - very cute photo - it is good to see them all lined up in a row. we get more squirrels than anything else, and my three ignore them. shesshhhh - at one point Mannie was letting them, in the house. :shock: some watch cat he is.

I wish you luck with Attie's dose. I am sorry for the reds - boy do I know what those feel like... Mannie has posted more than his fair share. I hope Attie comes down soon, that you find the breakthrough dose soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top