5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +5 128, +6 122, +7 137, +10.5 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I'm finally up and running!! Went btb after test, feed, shoot because, like a dummy, I stayed up until 2 a.m. And it wasnt even to party...I was cleaning the kitchen!

Champ is being his cute little Champ self. I bought him some freeze-dried salmon yesterday and I've never seen man nor beast attack something like that!! He actually choked himself because he wouldn't give me a chance to break a big chunk into pieces and didn't take the time to chew it...tried to swallow it whole!! I put the container on the coffee table, but he didn't notice it until late last night. He jumped on the sofa to visit with me, saw the container, jumped over to it, and proceeded to try to open it with his teeth. Thank goodness it's in a plastic container with a very tight lid. He knocked it to the ground and spent the next 15 minutes trying to open it. I finally put the guy out of his misery and gave him a couple pieces, but then I put the container up on the kitchen counter so he wouldn't make himself crazy trying to get into it all night. That is some potent stuff!! I can't even give it to him when I'm doing his pokes, which is what I bought it for, because he goes so nuts for it that he doesn't stay still.

I think I'll visit a few condos before getting in the shower and going to get my SUSHI. Yum!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +4 250

What a night and morning you've had already huh!
"Neither beast or Man attack something like that" :lol: :lol:
Wanted it that bad did he? That must have been a sight to witness him trying to open that container with his teeth.. That was very nice of you to finally give in and let him have some. Where did you get it from? I have the Pure Bites Chicken, but wouldn't mind another flavor around here.
Nice to see Champs numbers coming down a bit already today.. :-D

Thank you for the kind words that you posted in Tommy's condo late last night.. I'm glad you'll be here!

Enjoy your Sushi Patty :-D
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +4 250, +6 245

I got them at PetSmart, but I'm sure you can get them at any pet store. I'm attaching a picture so you can see what the packaging looks like. Champ may seriously need rehab for his addiction!!
 

Attachments

  • the ultimate kitty crack.jpg
    the ultimate kitty crack.jpg
    439.6 KB · Views: 887
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +4 250, +6 245

Good morning, or should I say "afternoon" now! Champs numbers look decent today! Maybe it's the Salmon. I will have to look into getting some of that. My civvie keeps looking at me like, "if you try and offer me one more piece of baked, plain chicken, I will start to pee all over this house!" Guinness loves it, Harp does not. He's a fish cat, so I am sure he will be all over the Salmon.

Have a good rest of the day and thanks for popping into our condo with the encouragement!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +4 250, +6 245

Morning! :lol: :lol: on the salmon treats. it is the same here! They also have shrimp and chicken ones too - all of which get the same response. I had a good laugh visualizing Champ trying to get into the package. GO KITTY! As an FYI - you can find bigger bags of some of the freeze dried stuff in the dog food section - same stuff, just more product, but different brand. With 3 cats here that all love the stuff, the larger package was a good thing.

Enjoy your day today!

Hey Champ - canoeing and bailing at Rusty's today. We are in his cellar, which is uhhhhh.... flooded.... so we are uhhhh.... helping out with the bailing... and uh canoeing too! Rusty has this cute little canoe - come and see! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +4 250, +6 245

Hi Michelle!! Champ loves the freeze-dried chicken, too, but it's been cheaper for me to just parboil up some chicken for him and give him that instead. He doesn't go as nuts for it as the freeze-dried, but he'll just have to make do! :-D I haven't seen the shrimp so that's my next search and buy mission!!

Hey Mannie, my man!! I just wrote in your condo. I heading over right now to put my muscles to use in Rusty's cellar. Whoa, I've never even seen a cellar! We don't have them here.
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +4 250, +6 245, PMPS 204

I left the house this afternoon at 2 and got back at 5:15. I didn't bother to check Champ's BG before I left, which was his +8, because he never goes lower after +6. I didn't check his BG when I got home because I was going to have to check it in another 45 minutes when it would be his PMPS. I checked at PMPS and it was 204...he's never that low at that time. So I checked it again and got 192. I would consider this to be just a normal variance in two blood drops. I shot his normal dose of 3.5u, but after doing that I wondered if that was a smart thing to do. What could have happened between +6 and PMPS that would have caused his BG to have declined that much? And should I be concerned as to what's going to happen from this point on? When should I next check his BG? Any help would be appreciated!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +4 250, +6 245, PMPS 204

Patty, you did fine shooting the full dose. This is the lowest you have ever shot, so I would suggest that you start out with a +1 and +2. Sometimes you get cycles where the numbers go down throughout the cycle, or sometimes the nadir is later than usual....maybe the dose increase is kicking in, or maybe Champ just wanted to keep you guessing...he is a cat, after all! :lol: The early tests will give you an idea of where Champ is heading tonight. No need to get concerned, you are in control with your meter and food. Do you have plenty of test strips and HC in the house?

It's nice to see that almost blue number....go Champ! :-D
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +4 250, +6 245, PMPS 204

I have plenty of FF HC with gravy and Karo and a bunch of boxes of test strips...and I'm not afraid to use them!! :lol: Poor Champers. I'm going to be checking his BG here in just a couple minutes and I'll post it then. Thanks for the feedback!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +4 250, +6 245, PMPS 204

AWESOME!!!!! Great hootin'!!! I'm sure there will be plenty of folks around if you need us!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190

Thanks Marje! I'm thinking I'll just keep testing every hour until I see a rise. If he goes below 100 (yeah right), should I test more often then every hour?
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190

Yay for Champ! He's finally coming down, wooooo hooooo!

That's what i like to see, keep em comin! :-D

Feeling better Patty?
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190

lovely numbers, here!!

and binks loves the freeze-dried chicken as well...

I'm pretty sure it had a LOT to do with his running for the test rug and being so patient!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190

Nice work, Champ...keep that bean guessing!

Patty - you're doing great!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190

Hi Tracy!! I feel better that his numbers are down. However, I would have felt even better if they came down in a typical way; i.e., numbers fell until +6 and then rose. Instead, he's lower at PMPS than he was at +6, completely atypical for him. I just don't understand why. Oh well....let's see how this plays out tonight. Maybe he knew I was planning on increasing his dose tomorrow morning and was like "I don't THINK so." :lol:

Who here besides me thanks the good Lord for freeze-dried treats!!! I've decided that is going to be his pokes-only treat. He's really not liking the pokes too much lately. When he's eating a meal is the only time they don't seem to bother him. Because he loves the salmon so much, maybe he'll tolerate the pokes just for the treats!! I believe in bridery. My daughter never had a temper tantrum in a store and I firmly believe it was because she knew if she behaved she would get a quarter to put in the machine to get a sticker when we left the store, two quarters if she was a perfect angel!! She was a sticker fanatic so this worked like a miracle. Let's hope salmon is Champ's sticker. :lol:
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190

Kitties don't always do things the way you want them to, they really seem to have their own little kitty agenda. That's how Leo usually rolls too, he'll have a really high AMPS, his +6 doesn't come down all that much and you think "ahhhh now i've got some time for myself and give kitties ears a break for a few hours" then BAM! Low PMPS, none of it makes sense.

Great that Champers fell in love with the salmon treats, and i believe in bribery too. Leo was never a treat fan, i introduced him to Purebites freeze-dried chicken treats and just kept trying to feed them for testing, i used to feed them before and after testing.....ya i don't do that anymore cause he goes absolutely bonkers when i feed them to him before testing, then he won't sit still and starts acting all bananas and stuff, so its strictly for after testing now!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190

Patty:

Yes, I would definitely get a +2 and see where he is...be sure and post. On a typical curve, you would see a food spike at +1; your numbers are pretty close...could be the same but there's no food spike there.

You are doing GREAT!! How exciting!!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168

I went ahead and fed Champ some 2% FF at the +2, hoping to just keep any momentum slowed. If I should be anything specific, or not do anything, just let me know.
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168

You are doing FABULOUS!!!! Looks like he is onsetting!!! Verra nice!! Just a thought but I believe this is as low as he's been this early....what do you think about a +3 to collect some data on how he falls between +2 and +3?
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, +6 245, PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168

Awesome Patty, just awesome. It's what you've been waiting for, it happens and suddenly you are scared out of your wits!!! Afterwards you wonder WHEN WILL IT HAPPEN AGAIN, I CAN'T WAIT!!!! LOL :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148

Marje, I definitely did a +3 and I'm also going to do a +4, probably do pokes every hour until I see an increase. I'm not terribly worried to be honest. I just can't see him falling to dangerous levels, but it is nice to see him fall into a healthier level tonight. Hope we don't get the dreaded....I'm not going to say it!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148

Patty...this is beautiful!!! He doesn't come screaming down like some little brown girl I know :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cool.....I'll be around but I think you are right...he's just coming down nice and slow. We won't even talk about the other stuff :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148

Should I be giving him any more 2% FF or just let him go? He typically doesn't get anymore food (other than treats for pokes) until +6 (or bedtime for me, whichever comes first).
 
Re: 5/15 Champ AMPS 322, PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148

Yay, Champ!!! Nice surf, buddy!!

We have those treats but in shrimp. I would give them to Willie when our prior vet thought he was allergic to poultry. Now we get the Purebites chicken treats in the dog sized bags. Very economical, and he goes crazy for them!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148, +4 122

His descent has been nice and slow which makes me happy. I just gave him some 2% FF, probably about 0.5 oz. I'll check a +5 to see if he's still descending or has started to climb up.
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148, +4 122

I think it looks great. I probably would not have fed anything outside what I normally feed at these numbers. You want to be careful about feeding too close to his nadir so it doesn't affect his insulin too much. Perfect, slow cycle!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148, +4 122

Gotcha on the food. I'm glad I didn't feed very much. I'll just give him his 1 oz. like normal when I go to bed. Thanks for keeping me company, Marje. You're the most ut!!! (hope you realize that's "utmost" in a silly way...think I heard it in a movie or something.)
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148, +4 122, +5

He's finally starting to climb a tiny bit. I'm going to stay up for another couple hours and I'll be checking his +6 just to be on the safe side. I'm assuming if he's still climbing at +6, it's safe for me to go to bed?
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148, +4 122, +5

Welllll....122 and 128 are pretty close together...almost in the 5% range of what we call the same number. However...that means he is at least surfing a bit there. I usually get two rising numbers before I hit the hay or if it's getting late, I get up and test for the second one. I think if he's up quite a bit from his +5, I'd call it a night. If he's still surfing, I'd give it a little more time.

Thanks.....I've never been called "ut" before :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

My little babyface girl FINALLY made green again!!! durn pen....z

I'll be up a while still.
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148, +4 122, +5

I'm sooo glad Gracie finally got to green again!! I know you've had some decisions to make. I read with interest, and some trepidation, your conversation with Jill about kitties staying in the higher numbers and what it can do. As you know, we've had no luck keeping Champ out of the mid to high 200's since this all began. I'm still hopeful that tonight isn't just a fluke and we can start to see some steady improvement so I don't have to worry about the ramifications of constant high numbers. I refuse to worry about something that might never happen, though. I hope Gracie keeps giving you nice numbers!!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +1 190, +2 168, +3 148, +4 122, +5

hey Patty! Champs is looking great tonight and you are handling it perfectly. I think you have finally found the right dose for Champ! :-D :-D Just doing a quick swing through before bed. Ni Ni
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +2 168, +3 148, +4 122, +5 128, +6

Looks like I don't get to go to bed yet. I have GOT to get my daughter to learn how to test Champ since she's now home on summer break and never goes to work before 3 in the afternoon....whereas I have to get up at the crack of a$$ every morning for work. Oh well, at least I'm staying up for a good reason!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +2 168, +3 148, +4 122, +5 128, +6

Yup....looks like he's surfing......sorry to desert you but I'm pooped. I'll probably get up in two hours and test Gracie.

It is difficult to wait out the numbers when you are moving up and trying to find that dose but you have done stellar....unbelievable patience and awesome attitude.

Yes...teach that girl!! Hope you enjoy having her home all summer. Sleep tight.
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +3 148, +4 122, +5 128, +6 122, +7

I'm exhausted, too. I am going to b.e.d. I have to get up at 4:30 or 5:00 anyway. Thanks Marje...you're the best!!!
 
Re: 5/15 Champ PMPS 204, +3 148, +4 122, +5 128, +6 122, +7

WOW!!!!! I just got done reading your exciting evening so far with Champ.. How cool is this.. You are doing awesome.. How cool to come over and see those numbers, you had to be scared, excited, nervous, just about every which way.. Nice Hoooooootin Patty..
Way to go Champ flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat
More blue, More blue!!!
 
It's amazing how NOT scared I was. Mainly because the numbers weren't crazy low, second because I had Marje along keeping me company, and third because it was such a nice mild slide down, not a crazy dive. Of course, I get my allotted three hours sleep and wake up to a 293. Just like Champ. Can't stay in the blues forever, ya know. Gotta mix it up!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top