5/7 Mannie PMPS 323, +2 267, +3.5 227, +5 192

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL!! ~O) ~O) ~O) (YUM: white mocha!), and Happy Caturday!

5/6 Condo

5/6 RECAP:
fed mini meals @ ps, +1, +2, +3: AM CYCLE: Merrick Cowboy Cookout 5%, Wellness Turkey 4%, PM CYCLE: Merrick BG Chicken 3%
amps 148: 48th cycle on this dose
+1 234
+1.5 243
+3 221
+4.5 179
+7 204
+10 276
pmps 301: 49th cycle on this dose
+2 262
+3.5 239
+5 188
amps 217: 50th cycle on this dose
+2 233


Another yellow/blue day yesterday for Mannie. I wasn't too thrilled with his pink pmps last night, am beginning to wonder if he has lost his momentum. Not too sure. I am also wondering how much having my 4 month DGS here W-FR is affecting his stress level, and is it affecting his BG? He's a very laid back kitty, often is is difficult to tell by looking at him if indeed he is bothered by things (which in this case is a baby's cries) and to what length. So.... I have started tracking days that my DGS is here, trying to see if there is a pattern of elevated BG. Not too sure yet. anyways... I will hold off on the dose increase for now, see how the weekend goes, and then decide. He did clear the 301 pmps last night, with a nice blue at +5. I suspect he dropped a little more during the night. I hope he can do something with the 217 this morning. cat_pet_icon We shall see.

All is well in MannieLand this morning. :-D Nanners have been extensively cuddled, smoozed, chewed, protected. I left him there last night, in the midst of nanner security, and found him there this morning when I came upstairs to prep for test feed shoot. :cool: I suspect he also secured the baby's toys, as there were Mannie paw prints on the blanket. :lol: No doubt that eventually those two will hit it off very well. Mannie seemed to have felt this morning that the civvies needed to be put in their place, so they each got a whap, well several whaps, as he strolled through the kitchen to his test spot. :lol: :lol: Breffis consumed with gusto, clean plate club status intact. Auto feeder still ignored :roll: but we keep trying... silly bean! Mannie 682, auto feeder/bean 5. It is a cool rainy morning here in the PNW. Mannie took one look at that through the slider, and went back to bed. Smart move Mannie. Normalcy in MannieLand.

Have a great day everyone! It is amazing how much time it takes to care for an infant... so, today I have a ton of stuff to catch up on... blech! :? I hope to get out for a morning walk sometime amongst it all.... :-D

My friends!! What is up today??? I am ready for anything!!! wind-sailing maybe??? i dunno.... ~~ Mannie ~~ psssttttt Gracie: awesome midnight pool party last night. :cool:
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233

Good idea to track Mannie's bg when your DGS is around. It sounds like he is slowly adjusting.

Have a great day....even though its just catching up on errands.
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233

It is amazing how much time it takes to care for an infant...

I often think the same thing about FD cats. :lol: :lol: But we love 'em so it's all worthwhile. :-D :-D :-D Have a good day, I'll visit more tonight.
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233

That is a good thought, Michelle - since we know stress affects their bgs - maybe DGS is still causing Mannie a little stress. I think if that is the case you will start to see a trend.....maybe if they hurry up and become friends you won't have to worry about it! ;-) It is amazing how well he clears these little bounces...he is such a good kitty! :-D I mentioned dosecrease to Zoe yesterday and instead of behaving and coming down, she took the express elevator up :roll: and right back down! :o I don't know how she does it!!!!

Hey Mannie - whassup?? I'm up for windsailing or anything....if ya got the roadster out, just lemme know and I'll be outside waiting. Did I tell you....my mama put a BIRD in a cage and now he LIVES in the house with me!!!!! He is pretty, and I would like to play with him....but they won't take him out :roll: He does make a lot of noise sometimes....I like watching him...because, maybe, just maybe he will figure out how to escape and I can play with him. ;-) :cool: :cool: ~Zoe
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233

Hi Michelle, I can well imagine how much time caring for DGS takes!! Your DD is sure lucky to have your help. How far away do they live? Would it be possible for you to leave Mannie home for the next few weeks and go to your daughter's house, coming home at regular intervals to check on Mannie? Then at least you would know whether or not the baby is upsetting Mannie's bg levels.
Anyway, I hope the weather clears for you today so you can get out on a long walk.
Thanks for your words of encouragement with regard to the cellar and our trip. We'll have to see what today brings.

Ella
Hey Mannie, I'm up for anything today. Gotta get out of the house. See ya later.
Rusty
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233

Hi Michelle, It will be interesting to watch Mannie's numbers when DGS is with you and the BG on the days when no DGS! I can picture those whaps with the civvies - I take it Mannie is the Alpha kitty, and he wants them to behave today so he can have some peace! :lol: Thanks for the good laugh! Mannie, please come on down to nice blues for your Bean, okay! Mannie says he will try for some blues and maybe green later.

Hey Mannie, windsailing sounds like fun and then lounging around at someone's pool with some niptinis. I'll be waiting for you to pick me up and thanks, Maggie
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233

Good Morning, Michelle.
I wouldn't be at all surprised if DGS's presense is raising Mannie's bg. Checkers hides most of the time my family is here.
He is not pleased at the 3 & 7 years olds; they make noise, run up and down the hall, etc. I think I'll check his bg, when he comes up for air, today. You've made me curious.
Wait 'til Nicholas starts crawling to the 'nanner pile, then see how the bg shoots up. :lol:
Oh sorry, that didn't help, did it?

Obviously, a baby is not the same as a new cat, but, the summer when I brought Clancy home, Checks was so upset, his bg was in the 300's, the whole entire week!! He wasn't even on insulin yet, so I didn't know what to do. I was testing, because I was already on the FDMB main board.
Just as I made the decision to get him on insulin, he dropped on his own....overnight.

My point is, I'd love to know if the baby is causing Mannie's higher numbers.

Have a great day, catching up on chores. Don't forget to do something fun, just for you. :-D

Barb
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233

Good morning craziness, A little Mannie whapping never hurt any kitty! (well maybe just a little) :lol: You have to keep the others in there place you know.. My Abbey is like that with Emma. Emma is just a year old but she'll chase Abbey around the house until She's had enough and then stop on a dime turn around and "whack" right on top of poor little Emma's head. I don't even think Abbey pulls out the claws. It is rather cute to watch.

I'm glad to see Mannie enjoying the sunshine this morning. I too hope that you see some much prettier numbers this afternoon. :mrgreen:

Nanners officially loved!! Very Cool Mannie :cool: . I wish mine were here already!
Tommy has been asking me about this whole nanner thing and why Mannie and all the other kitties get to have one but not him.. I told him patience dear boy, they're on their way :-D

Perhaps your morning walk will end up being an afternoon walk.. Sounds like you have quite a day ahead of you..
Enjoy!
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233

Good morning, guys!! Lovely report, even if the numbers aren't as good as we'd like! Have you ever tried one of the comfort zone/feliway diffusers? I got one for Willie when Miss Belle passed and he was dealing with his skin issues, and it definitely made a difference in his stress level, his mood and I did notice his numbers improving when we used it... and his numbers going up when it needed a refill! Got one for my sister, and she's noticed a marked improvement in her Torti's mood (though, Cupcake IS still a torti... :lol: :lol: :lol: ). Might help Mannie keep his stress levels down while Nicholas is visiting... plug it in an outlet in the room you and Nicholas hang out in the most?

Hope you guys have a great weekend!!

Mannie!! Tanks for de well wishes!! So happy to haz all mah friends here! Rite now, I'z up fer sum chillaxin... patch of sun, cool breeze... I'z gotz no pool, but we'z got some grass out back if u can spring me from de fire escape! I'z can steal mah beanz keys an' pass em' under de door! Or maybe we get her in on it an' she can make us some kittytails while we lounge? Lemme know wat u tink!! --Willie
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233, +4 141

141 @ +4. YAY! blue.... looking forward to +6, or +5.5, whenever I remember I need to test the boy. :lol:

Hi Tena - thanks! it is a busy one, but that's OK. I just put it in overdrive and go for it. Multi-tasking is the order of the day. I think the tracking thing will be good. My initial reaction is that is does raise it, but not by too much.

Hi Ann - so true!! Infant in one corner, fd kitty in the other. result: chaos, but a lovable chaos... :lol:

Hi Sherry - True I think. I need to do this for a couple of weeks, and see where is leads. If it does, you are right - I will see a trend. I had the baby PT 8AM -1PM for April, but May is fulltime at 7AM -4PM. I'm not too sure if I have enough data to say for sure yet, but I think maybe it does. well we shall see. and yes - hurry up an be buddies so it won't matter. :lol: :lol: And yes - saw Zoe's #s this morning. weird on the amps, but she came right back down. puzzling...

Hi Ella - oh yes on the time. I have to make some serious adjustments on when I do some of the basic house maintenance etc stuff. it's OK - it does take me back to the days when I had kids in the house - it worked then, it will now too. I just need to remember how! :lol: :lol: My DD lives about 30 miles from me - just not close enough to make it back and forth, which is a bummer. I'd love to be able to care for him in his own house, not too sure I have the time.... argh!!! well it well also be easier too when DGS is a bit older and doesn't need the constant feed burp change play sleep thing...

Hi Ann, and Maggie - I think so too - on the DGS days vs the non DGS days. And yes - he does rule the roost here. He's so laid back, but look out when he is on a mission. alot of it just has to do with his physical presence. He's a big guy, and well he rear haunches are slightly higher than is front, and when he walks or stands it is very in intimidating. and that stare! Stops them all dead in their tracks. :lol: :lol: It was darn funny this morning. poor civvies....

Hi Barb - I think it is worth tracking - for me there is a big difference between posting yellow and blue as opposed to blue and green. we shall see if there is any data to support it, or not. I think, as Sherry said, that if it does influence his BG's then I will see a trend. (and SO TRUE on the nanner pile - ohmygod_smile ) Mannie tolerates DGS ok - but there are definite periods when you can see he is on high alert - the +1, +1.5 (dgs arrival) etc... true on the baby vs a new kitty, but then again stress is stress... anyways - I've starting coding his SS with an *by the date to indicate that is a DGS day. We will see how it goes. -- and yes on the fun. The skies have cleared (YAY!!) so after I get caught up on the financial end of life out the door for a walk to the shore. :-D :-D

Hi Squirrel - and yes on the whacks -- too funny! pecking order was reestablished, I think he does it just to let them all know who is boss. :roll: and yes too on the nanners - I do so hope that Tommy likes them too.

Hi Lisa - me too! I plan on it - rain or shine. I hope I get the shine part!

Hi Christie - the feliway stuff is on my list. I may end up doing that -see if it makes a difference for him. most of the time he's OK, but sharp abrupt noises are not his thing, and baby cries fit right into that category. Thanks - you have spurred me on into getting one! many thanks!

Willie - dude!!!! We are on our way! we will hang your with you, and yes.... we WILL sneak you out.... I hope da bean will let you go, cuz well there are all of us, and we will makes sure you are safe and stuff. KITTYTAILS! - YUM!!!!!! Please talk her into that. AND -- as a special anniversary celebration we will take you wind-sailing! It is SO FUN! you will see.... maybe we can go to Gracie's after and hang out by her pool, if you wants. ~~ Mannie

Hey Tommy!! We are to Willie's today - you wanna come? And maybe wind-sailing and stuff. Come with us!! ~ Mannie

Maggie - I am coming!! roadster - top down! :cool: Yep - Willie's for some celebrating! wind-sailing - SWEET and then chillaxin' by a pool. maybe we can go back to Gracie's.. Gracie??? you up??? Is that OK??? ~~ Mannie

Rusty! SWEET! Road trip in the roadster - off to Willie's for his annifursary, and then maybe wind-sailing or just chillaxin'. I will picks you up - we gots to get Zoe too! ~~ Mannie

ZOE! You are on!! We can can and visit Willie today - it's his anniversary: 5 months on the juice. I will bring da roadster, top down: AWESOME!! I hope we can catnap him and go wind-sailing to celebrate. YOU GOTS A BIRD!!! In da house???? and you didn't eat it? You are very strong - I'd love to play with that bird too. silly beans - I need to check this out. I promise I won't play with the cage latch or nuthin'... promise... :cool: See you! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233, +4 141

KITTY ALERT!! TASHA's OTJ party tonight!! Kitchen krew - gets ready!! We is off to Missouri!!!!! I gotta get the menu posted... You guys ready?? ~~ Chef Mannie
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233, +4 141, +6 123

Very nice +6 :thumbup
Happy Caturday, Michelle & Mannie!! How very well I know the woes of the Autofeeder.. both mine ignored it & I eventually sold it.. but of course that was last year.. now I am tempted to buy a new one & try again.. talk about dumb! ohmygod_smile
I would give anything if they would just eat when I am away :lol:
I hope you both have a fabulous day!!! Happy early Mother's Day tomorrow too!
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233, +4 141, +6 123

Morning Michelle!! I think you may be on to something with Mannie's BG maybe being higher when DGS is there. Look at Mannie go today....he don't want no stinkin' dosecrease :lol: :lol: :lol: I can't imagine how busy you must be trying to take care of Nicholas and Mannie and then you have to try and get your chores done when Nicholas isn't there...and your hikes!!!! You are one busy lady these days. Too funny about Mannie whacking the civvies...Mannie...be sweet to your sisters!

Mannie....we're all ready for action today Tobes and me are!!! Yes everyone can come here again if they want...it's beautiful out and the catnip patch is getting huge thanks to all my friends!!! The deck is perfect for stretching out in the sun!! We sure have been busy lately with all these OTJ parties but that's good...maybe someday it will be for us or Tess!! See you soon.
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233, +4 141, +6 123

Woo hoo!! Mannie is blue!! Lookin' good!!


Sweet!!! De bean haz sed I'z can host an afternoon soiree!! She's got de tuna juice, de fish sauce, an' de bonitos out an' iz diggin out de itty bitty glasses!! Sumtin 'bout "finally, someting she can use dem for??? Settin up kitty croquet on de lawn now!! U gotz a grate day lined up! See ya soon! --Willie
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233, +4 141, +6 123, +8 210

210 @ +8. well darn..... one would not think that a chicken snack at +6 would cause that. +11 will be interesting.

progress on the home front! shopping: done!, laundry: done!, banking and acct balancing: done!, retirement funds yucky stuff: done!, PC files backup and copying: uhh.... well, not done... well 7/8 isn't too bad.... one to go! AND HOORAY! Sun is still out, and I have time to hike the local stuff here. WOOT!!!!!!

Hi Nicole - thanks for the visit! I miss you guys. I hope Baby is doing well. oh I know on the auto feeder - I am have tempted to stop trying, but dang it - if he'd just use it! life would be easier in some regards... dream on :smile: as they say!

Hi Marje - I know! Not too sure why his +8 is up. I fed him chicken at +6... ???????? well,we will track the DGS stuff for a while, see if it is contributing, or not.... and yes - it is busy. I do miss the hiking freedom the most - I'm down to 2, maybe 3 days during the week when I could go - and those depend upon weather (always an issue here) and Mannie. We shall see how lucky I get... :lol: :lol:

Hi Christie - YAY, but he went yellow, again,. **sigh** - what is up with that?

Willie - YAY!! Your bean rocks!!! I am on my way, with the gang. I LUBS KITTY CROQUET! wow dude - your bean has itty bitty glasses? I am impressed! them kittytails sound really good! See you soon! hey - you workin' the kitchen krew tonight? Hope so - we needs grillin' help. ~~ Mannie

Gracie - I KNOW - so much to do!!! I am sooooooo glad though that we can now celebrate Tasha's, I never beens to Missouri.... You coming to Willie's??? It will be so much fun!!!!!! see you there, then off to Tasha's. Maybe we can come to you pool too ??? Before the party?? I wanna check on the patch, and get my paws wet.... see you!! Mannie
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +2 233, +4 141, +6 123, +8 210

Hi Michelle,
Maybe you have already tried this ... have you tried loading the auto feeder with nanners, just to get his attention? Place it near the nanner pile and have it open up with more nanners inside?

Mannie!
Don't fall for it! Do we look stupid?
Ted
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +4 141, +6 123, +8 210, +10 323

323 @ +11. what the heck?????? ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

HI Linda! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: now that would probably work - get the fuds in there... the plot thickens. :cool:

Ted - ah dude.... are they serious?? shesshhhhhhh.............. :roll: :roll: :roll: i think that feeder thingie is silly anyways - why use that when I can just sit there and be served, ya know? i mean, really.... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +4 141, +6 123, +8 210, +10 323

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: loading the feeder with nanners!!! ROTFLMAO! That's a great one, Linda.

You know what, Michelle? I have noticed that every time we give Gracie her SAME as ever +5 snack, her numbers go up at +6. I don't know if they've changed the formula (%carbs is 1%) and there is now some ingredient that is causing the problem OR if on the lower dose, a snack that late halts her in her tracks....wonder if the same thing is happening to Mannie since everyone says cats can change the way they react to things.....

Hope you get some hiking time in!

Mannie..we can go to Willie's....we can come here another day. I'm just happy to be with my friends!
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +4 141, +6 123, +8 210, +10 323

Do we know any inventor types? Could we find someone to make a nanner-shaped feeder with a canvas exterior that you could tuck catnip under??? If they can make waffle makers out of old typewriters, surely somebody could pull this off..... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie AMPS 217, +4 141, +6 123, +8 210, +10 323

You seem to have such a deliciously hectic life!! Good hectic filled with lovely stuff like grandbabies and hiking and kitties. I can actually picture Mannie and his antics like a motion picture in my head when I read your stories!! :-D Love it!!
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie +10 323, PMPS 323

Mannie is just trying to figure out which floor he wants to be on today. I'm sure everyone knows who is in charge. Maybe one tried to steal a nanner so he felt he should put them all in their place. Numbers, they are a puzzle, see what tomorrow brings. Enjoy the PNW weather it is either very nice or it can be very nasty. Hope you get a clearing spell to take a hike in the next few days. Fantastic scenery out there.
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie +10 323, PMPS 323

232 @ PMPS - arrghhhh!!!! Mannie? dude - what are you doing on the pink floor? Down please. Do we need to have that discussion about a dosecrease - again?

Hi Barbara - that he is.... a little sampling here.... a little there... keep the bean guessing... and yes, it is a puzzle. so we see what tomorrow brings. I hope so on the weather - as you are right: either good, or nasty. It cleared a little today, so I was able to get tot he shore, which was nice! rained a little, but still nice.

Hi Patty - hectic it is! and thanks - it suits me just fine. :cool: :cool: sweet on the stories... he is a character, when he's not busy getting his much needed shuteye - he is after all 14. :cool: :razz:

Hey Christie - :lol: :lol: on the typewriter waffle maker - omg! Are they serious?? Guess so! love the idea of a canvas cover, nanner shape feeder - this has possibilities! can you just imagine the scene!

Hi Marje - dang funny wasn't it! yes - ROTFLMAO, big time. And on the snack - I did wonder, until he took off for the stratosphere at +10.... :roll: and yes on when they change formulas and suddenly you get rising numbers out of a food that never did before... it could be with Mannie and this snack. He only gets it on weekends, as he gets a snack while his beans have breffis. It's just cooked chicken - one wouldn't think that would cause a rise.... I dunno - another thing to track I think. -- and yes - made it to the shore - tide was out - so it was fun. Found several starfish. :cool: :cool:

ok Gracie - Willie's it is and then to the party. I sure liked the midnight pool thing you had last night - it was so cool! Maybe we can go to your place tomorrow for some kitty hiking in the mountains? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie +10 323, PMPS 323

Mannie!!! Is De B!!

'members me?? ma bean all whacked out on painkillers, an she brings dese kids ta stays wid us...i don' likes dem at all!! (neither does she, but... :lol: )

i come lives wid you??
oh, an I gots scratches all over ma head...dem Turdie cats ambush me...

binks
 
Re: 5/7 Mannie +10 323, PMPS 323, +2 267

267 @ +2. yay - coming down, and in true Mannie fashion we seem to be in a hurry....

BINKSTER! DUDE!!!!! WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN?????????? dude... what is up with your bean? she hurt herself or sumthin'? i'm worried..... hey sure - my bean wont notice another cat staying here.... but uhhhhhhhh.... i too have this tiny human problem, ya know. and hey!!! cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam you take charge - tell them turdie cats to leave de B alone of they have to deal with the ManxMan, ya know? Oh - party tonight a Tasha's - she's OTJ now, so come, OK?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top