4/30 Trixie +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 +16.5 56 +17.5 65

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/30 Trixie AMPS 123 +2 70 +3 61

:mrgreen:

Of cousre, during this test, one of the Civvies decided it was an appropriate time to start picking on the others. Twice, I had that drop of blood ready, twice a rumble just about began, cause Trixie to jerk her head away from the strip. Crazy, crazy cats.

Hubby will be testing again at +3.5.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie AMPS 123 +2 70 +3 61

Hi guys .. what a beautiful run of numbers for trixie today .. Good luck DH! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie AMPS 123 +2 70 +3 61 +3.75 46 +4 51 DOSE?

Trixie has earned a decrease!! The question is, how much....

Given the activities of the past few days: barfing on Wednesday, no AM or PM shots on Wednesday, and no AM shot on Thursday.

The numbers recap:
4/29
AMBG 93
+1.25 138 (1 hr after breffis)
+4 106
+9 128
PMPS 151 (F1.00)
+2 122
+4 88 (I crashed hard after this)

4/30
AMPS 123 (F1.00 - although, on the "skinny" side of being fat)
+2 70
+3 61
+3.5 52
+3.75 46 - Fed 2 tsps gravy
+4 51

So that's where we're at so far. With all that's been going on, and how well she held her own without insulin for 48 hours, should we reduce her to .75 this evening, as opposed to the S1.00?

Hubby will keep poking and feeding as necessary, and will get some random spot checks once she levels off/starts rising.

I'm heading off to work now, but can check in frequently, as can Mark.

Thanks!!

Amy
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie AMPS 123 +2 70 +3 61 +3.75 46 +4 51 DOSE?

fortunately you've got 8 hours for someone expert to show up and answer your question! trixie is looking great!
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie AMPS 123 +2 70 +3 61 +3.75 46 +4 51 DOSE?

It doesn't look like Trixie has held the dose when you reduced to 0.75u. Given the skipped shots, I'd reduce to 1.0u. If it's too much,Trixie will let you know.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie AMPS 123 +2 70 +3 61 +3.75 46 +4 51 DOSE?

Congratulations on the dosecrease :-D
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie AMPS 123 +2 70 +3 61 +3.75 46 +4 51 DOSE?

Thanks, Sienne...we'll plan on 1.00 tonight :mrgreen: !
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +3.75 46 +4 51 +5 60 +6.5 66 + 9 50 Q?

After holding steady in the 60s through +5 and +6 with no HC, Mark gave Trix a testing break until +9. Now she's back down to 50 - this is definitely a new pattern for her. He's giving her a little FF, and will test again at +9.5

I know we have a few hours to go, and he's going to keep testing...but I want to toss it out there now, just to try and get some alternate plans in place. As of now, we're planning on the 1.00 this evening (5:45 EST). However, if she doesn't move up much from this, what should we consider doing? I'm sure she'll probably come up a bit...I guess I'd like to get a feel for what we should consider so we're not in a huge crunch when PMPS time comes along. I anticipate a stall tonight...

We'll keep posting as more data comes in...

Amy
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +3.75 46 +4 51 +5 60 +6.5 66 + 9 50 +10 66 Q

That +10 is probably +9 FF-related...no more fuds till PMPS.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +4 51 +5 60 +6.5 66 + 9 50 +10 66 +11 72 Q?

Rising just a hair...will test again at 11.5. Poor little ears...
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11 72 +11.5 74 +12 81 - stalling....Q???

We're stalling...I don't think I'm comfortable shooting under 95.

Should we consider shooting a BCS/reduced dose - maybe .50 or .75? Poor kitty has been poked to no end today...I'd hate to see her deal with it all night long, too.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11.5 74 +12 81 +12.5 77 - stalling....Q????

Still sufing the 70s....I'm not really comfortable shooting this....

We'll stall for another half hour, and if there's no change, I'm very much leaning towards skipping, as much as I hate to do it. We all need a break from the pokies...
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11.5 74 +12 81 +12.5 77 - stalling....Q????

Hiya, Trix.. I am going to begin with.. I am not a dosing advisor.
Your new dose (because kitty dropped under 50) is now .75.
To shoot tonight.. you would need to monitor closely (get a +1 & +2) have HC on hand & plenty of strips. I personally would not want to lose the momentum of what she is doing, she is doing excellent. But you have to be comfortable testing & monitoring. I suspect she would be just fine.. but only if you are willing to make her your Saturday night plan ;-)
She is looking GREAT! Congrats!
If you do skip.. familiarize yourself with shooting low so you will be prepared next time :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11.5 74 +12 81 +12.5 77 - stalling....Q????

Actually 74, 81, and 77 are all pretty close to the same number. It looks like Trixie is surfing.
If it were me, I would test again, and if she is still in the same range, I would shoot, as you are shooting a newly reduced dose. But that's me, and I have more time gathering data and know my cat pretty well. You have to be comfortable in what you are doing. I just wouldn't want to loose that momentum. While you're waiting, have you looked through the shooting low links?
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11.5 74 +12 81 +12.5 77 - stalling....Q????

Yeah, I'm pretty familiar with shooting low. The few times we've done, its turned into a pokefest, which is fine, except she's already been poked sooooo many times today (17 times so far).

You are right, though, it's a reduced dose. Sienne said to go with 1.0, since we were at F1.0, but I don't think I'm comfy with 1.0...if we shoot, I'll go with .75.

So, if there's no change in 15 minutes, we'll probably shoot that .75. I, hope we don't have to poke her to death tonight....
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11.5 74 +12 81 +12.5 77 - stalling....Q????

and how long can you stall? because maybe if you give it another 30-60 minutes she'll have come up enough that you feel comfy shooting. i wouldn't decide not to shoot at 12.5, for myself.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11.5 74 +12 81 +12.5 77 - stalling....Q????

Good luck with that. I would mark your ss with .75 BCS in the units column, if that's what you decide to do.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11.5 74 +12 81 +12.5 77 - stalling....Q????

I'm going to make the final call at +13...I don't want to push us further off schedule than that. Plus, the herd is clammoring for dindin....
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11.5 74 +12 81 +12.5 77 +13 69 - stall...Q?

Since she actually came down a little bit....I so hate to do it, but after a bazillion pokes today, I'm going to skip this evening. I just have a feeling that even if I go with BCS shot, it will be poke/carb city all night long...

Hopefully this is the right call for now....I will, of course, poke her a few hours after eating, just to see what's what...
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +11.5 74 +12 81 +12.5 77 - stalling....Q????

TrixieCat said:
Plus, the herd is clammoring for dindin....

funny-pictures-cat-crowd-can-opener.jpg
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12 81 +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57- no shot HUH??

No shot, dinner on board, +14 - 57...yet another drop.

What do you guys make of this?

Right now, I'm pretty relieved to have not gone with the shot, but we'll see how the night progresses....
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12 81 +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57- no shot HUH??

That's a great picture Tena :-D

Yep, at +14 and 57, no shot. That's exactly what I would have done if I was in your shoes. Feed them puppies kitties.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12 81 +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57- no shot HUH??

Actually, that drop came after feeding...the kitsels ate about an hour ago! I decided at +13 (69) to skip the shot and feed.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12 81 +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57- no shot HUH??

TrixieCat said:
No shot, dinner on board, +14 - 57...yet another drop.

What do you guys make of this?

Right now, I'm pretty relieved to have not gone with the shot, but we'll see how the night progresses....

Two thoughts....

Dose was still a tad to high or Mr. Pancreas has woken up! :o
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57-no shot, opini

I'm afraid to think about Mr P...but...given the past few days, dental done, antibiotics cleared....well, not sayin' a word.

+15 57 - no insulin, two rounds of dinner :shock:

Any and all opinions are very, very welcome!
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57-no shot, opini

It's not unusual that once an infection clears, numbers will come down. Sometimes it's a rapid turn around but it really depends on the cat.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57-no shot, opini

just saying i'm watching you watching trixie! i have no thoughts, just surprised - i'll be watching to see what happens. go trixie go.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57-no shot, opini

Yeah, "surprised" is the word of the day...of the week, really. I'm all sorts of wide-eyed right now - so much for exhaustion!
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 - HELP

+16 - 47 :shock: :shock:

She's had food, no insulin since this morning, and still dropping. Is this something to worry about? Should we give her any gravy or anything????
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 - HELP

You can feed her but since there's no insulin on board, there's not a risk of hypo. I'm guessing from your reaction, you're nervous with these numbers. I'd feed some LC and re-test and see if the numbers bump up a little.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 - HELP

Yup, I'm definitely nervous about these numbers, even without insulin...ironic, huh? It's hard to remind myself that there's not danger of hypo without insulin. Totally not used to seeing numbers like this, insulin or not!

I'll see if she wants some LC...but as long as she's safe, I'm OK.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 - HELP

you might want to try to get her to eat a little even if she isn't thrilled about it. let's see if it bumps her up a little.
see you in 30 minutes...
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 - HELP

She ate a few licks of LC. One of the reasons I skipped tonight was to spare the poor girl of all the pokies, since she got poked so many times during the day!!!

Should I try to entice her with the high carb kitty crack, or wait ad see if the LC was enough?
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +12.5 77 +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 - HELP

if it were me, i would offer her a few more licks of the lc and retest at +16.5.
it should bump her up at this point. all you want to do is stop her from dropping any more. she's fine where she is now. we just don't want her going any lower. feeding lc at this point in her cycle (+16) is just a precaution, that's all.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 +16.5 56 - HELP

I couldn't get her to take any more, but I guess those few licks worked a bit.

Any ideas about a plan for the morning? I know there aren't many people up at the time of our normal AMPS - 5:15 EST. And how long should we keep poking her tonight, considering she hasn't had insulin? At this point I am wide awake, but I should try and force myself to get some sleep whenever it is deemed safe for her. I never expected this sort of evening...
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 +16.5 56 - HELP

TrixieCat said:
I couldn't get her to take any more, but I guess those few licks worked a bit.

Any ideas about a plan for the morning? I know there aren't many people up at the time of our normal AMPS - 5:15 EST. And how long should we keep poking her tonight, considering she hasn't had insulin? At this point I am wide awake, but I should try and force myself to get some sleep whenever it is deemed safe for her. I never expected this sort of evening...
i think you'll have to play it by ear in the morning. if she's shootable, i'd probably take the dose down to 0.75u if she's not eating much. i'd try to get her to eat something before you go to bed. leave some food out for her to nibble on during the night.

i'm more concerned about her not eating. do you have any idea how many ounces or cans of food she's eaten today?
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 +16.5 56 - HELP

I can't say for sure how much she's eaten today specifically, but it has been a reasonable, normal amount. Of course, because of low numbers, she had several (small - tsp or so each time) rounds of HC early on in the day, which she ate with gusto. She ate a normal dinner, had a second round after that, and a few little licken' snacks. Her appetite is A-OK...I just think, by this last round when I offered her some, she was full. But, I can definitely leave some grub out for her for the overnight hours.
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 +16.5 56 - HELP

oh good! that makes me feel a whole lot better!
get some sleep... you're probably tired.
ni-ni!
 
Re: 4/30 Trixie +13 69 +14 57 +15 57 +16 47 +16.5 56 +17.5 6

+17.5 - 65

And thus concludes another crazy day inTrixieLand. I'm anxiously awaiting what 5:15 in the ayem holds for us...part of me doesn't even want to go to sleep!

As always, thank you for all your wonderful support and guidance. Trixie is truly grateful.

Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top