4/28 Trixie PMBG 101 +.5 96 +2.25 68 +3.75 62 +5.25 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesteday:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42104

ARGH! Now it's our turn. I could tell she wasn't feeling 100% as soon as I got up. She only took a few licks of her food then headed back to her new sleeping spot. I noticed she was a bit burpy when I tested her, but she took her treat afterwards. And, one of my civvies who never barfs, barfed at about 4:00 this morning.

Should I stall??? I'm assuming I should. I just can't believe this...great...

ETA: Her normal shot time is 5:45am EST
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

well, you know i'm not an expert, but everyone told me not to shoot if punkin wasn't eating. is Trixie not eating at all?

how long can you stall and still be able to shoot?
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

She took maybe 2 licks off the top...she's pretty uninterested.

I can stall for a while...I don't have to be at work till Noon EST, but I don't want to push things TOO far off schedule. She never does this...she's always been a hoover cat. And, of course, she's got a nice high AMPS to boot...
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

punkin's always been a hoover too - but you kinda answered yourself in that, didn't you? if trixie's always been a hoover and she's only taken a couple of licks off the top . . . do you have any fortiflora or chicken dust you can entice her with?
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

I don't have any fortiflora...but I could try the dust. I have a feeling it won't make a difference, though. And the only other food options I have at the moment are - of course HCs...
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

hahaha, and i'm laughing at the "not too far off schedule" because here i am at 3am getting ready to test again. we've gotten close to 2 hours off schedule in the past week - now we're 90 minutes or so off. it is unhelpful! but whatdayado?

i don't want to give you advice - you know i've just been doing it as long as you, so i'm just trying to remember what people have told me. you have to follow your gut instinct on it - you know her best.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

I hate to not shoot, but if she's not eating and uninterested in eating, I'm very hesitant to shoot, even though she's up so high.

Oh, I was so looking forward to attempting to catch up on sleep this morning. Between Trixie and my senior Civvie Mario, I am running ragged. But then again...look at where you are right now!
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

chatting with you in the middle of the night! :lol: you could always wait a little while and try her again. i've gotta go test punkin - and hopefully then i can go to bed.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

Good luck!

She's so uninterested in food that - as much as it stresses me - I'm very inclined to skip this shot. I don't want her eating then barfing after shooting. Still, I guess I'm staying up to observe.

I'll say it again...I just can't believe it....
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

can you go back to bed and check her/try again in an hour?

punkin is stable - i'm going to bed. good luck!
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

Not sure about the "BTB" part...I can never sleep when I'm stressed. But I'm gonna give her a little breathing room and check again.

Good news for Punkin! Enjoy your sleep!!
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

Maybe try heating up the food just a little, the next time you try?
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMPS 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

I usually do heat up the food...and today, since I could tell she wasn't feeling 100%, I made sure I left the "jelly" unmixed in, sitting on top 'cause I know she loves the jelly (ew).

I definitely feel more comfortable skipping her shot this morning (comfortable is, of course, a relative term). I think I'll try a little baby food in a bit, though.

I don't think I remember Trixie ever not having an appetite....
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

Good morning. I saw noted on your ss that you are skipping the shot this morning.
It would be a good idea to see if you get Trixie to eat something so you could put something in the shed since her bg is pretty high.

Will she eat tuna or baby food?
Is Trixie prone to ketones? Do you test for ketones?
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

She just ate about 2 tsps of baby food...don't know why I didn't think of it earlier.

Should I shoot? If so, should I shoot a reduced dose?

I'm about an hour and a half behind schedule now.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

Oh...ketones. I've never tested for ketones before. When she was initially daignosed, the vet tested and she came up negative. I'm inclined to think she's not prone, but of course without testing, I don't know that for sure.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

See if she will eat a few more tsp of baby food. If you are not comfortable shooting the full dose then you could give 0.75 and go back to your regular dose tonight.
Test her bg before you feed just in case you shoot you want her AMPS.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating - SHOOT???

I just tested her +1.75 was 374. I was just about to shoot a reduced dose, then she barfed big time.

What should I do?
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

I have a generic version of Pepcid...the label says its "Famotidine 20mg". Is this the one that's OK for cats? If not, I'll run out and buy the real Pepcid AC. How much would I give her?

Both she and Frankie are barfy...and she and Frankie are the only ones who primarily eat Wellness (Frankie also eats some kibble, Trixie, strictly Wellness).
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

2 hours behind schedule...don't know what to do with the lack of food/high BG combo....
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

I do not want to tell you to shoot without her eating.
I am not sure on the Pepsid since I have not used it.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

Thanks Miriam. With the barf factor, I'm not comfortable shooting. I'm also not comfortable with her BG either. It's going to be a crappy, crappy day. I don't have to work till noon, but once I go in, I'm stuck there till 8. Hubby will be back home at 4:45....I have no idea what to do with this evening.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

Seems like there's a lot of kitty barfing going on in LL lately. I hope Trixie eats at least a tiny bit. I wish I could give you some advice, but all Gus and I can do is keep good thoughts for both of you.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

Thanks, Bev. It's crazy, isn't it? Here, it's not just Trix, but one of my civvies, too...it has to be the food.

I called the vet...I may be taking Trix in later, but for now I have to run out and get the correct version of Pepcid for her. I just hope I can get it in both her and Frankie.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

TrixieCat said:
Thanks, Bev. It's crazy, isn't it? Here, it's not just Trix, but one of my civvies, too...it has to be the food.

I called the vet...I may be taking Trix in later, but for now I have to run out and get the correct version of Pepcid for her. I just hope I can get it in both her and Frankie.


It might be the food with both kitties sick. Which would mean not force feeding them? If the food happened to be bad letting it work out of their system is what is needed.

Your vet will have something to give them too.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

Just spoke directly with the vet...for now, it's Pepcid, watch, and call if things don't even out. She said to hold off on food for a while, then try a little bit this afternoon. She did say, with Trixie's numbers so high, to go ahead and shoot a reduced dose this evening even without food (of course I'll be monitoring the numbers to be sure this is OK.)

Of course, neither Trixe nor Frankie would go for the pill pocketed version of Pepcid...I'm not surprised, but I tried. Hopefully hubby can run home real quick and help me try and syringe it in.

Once that's done, I'm going to run out again and get something other than Wellness for them.

This sucks!
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

Glad you spoke with the Vet and hope Trixie and Frankie soon feel better. Was it the Wellness Chicken they were eating? With both sick, it sure sounds like the food didn't agree! Pepcid should help.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

Yup, Wellness Chicken. 3 of my civvies won't touch the stuff, and they're fine. My senior, Mario, loves Wellness, but because of his CRF, I only let him have little bits of it here and there...and he's been a little "off" lately, too.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

You know that the dose of Pepsid is 1/4 of a 10 mg tablet (2.5mg), right? Can you get a pill down Trixie's throat by regular pilling? If you can get a pill down, please syringe some water down, too. Hopefully, the Pepsid will help.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

Yes, Sienne...got the correct dosage from the vet. I had to run out and get the 10mg stuff, since all I had was 20.

I'm still waiting to hear back from hubby (Mark), to see if he can help me with syringing it in. The vet suggested I try crushing it up and mixing it with a little water to get it down if the pill pockets didn't work. I've never tried "traditional" pilling with Trix, but she's a tough cookie. We have successful gotten liquid meds into her, though.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

I hope that things will calm down for you over the course of the day. The baby food sounds like the best road to take. See if Trixie can keep it down in the next few hours, and if she can, it is probably safe to shoot a reduced dose.
It does sound like the cause is the Wellness chicken. Rusty eats Wellness turkey almost exclusively and has had no problems (anti jinx).
Good luck. Sending better-tummy vines.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF - SHOOT???

Also...I forgot to ask the vet - how frequently should we give the Pepcid?
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 - Not eating, BARF

Pepsid is a twice a day dose -- so every 12 hours. I know that Gabby's tummy is off if she won't eat treats. If Trixie is the same, give the Pepsid about 30 or so minutes to work and see if Trixie is interested in food/treats.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 +4 366 - Not eating, BARF

Thanks, Sienne! The vet said once a day, but twice a day makes much more sense.

I'll check her food interest shortly...
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 +4 366 - Not eating, BARF

I really feel for you :sad: I hope Trixie and Frankie get over their tummy woes. It seems to be an epidemic on this board with barfy kitties!!! I'm totally over here knocking on wood so it skips Champ.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 +4 366 - Not eating, BARF

I'm knocking wood that it skips ALL the other kitties here!!! I just can't believe how many LL kitties have been barfy lately.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 +4 366 - Not eating, BARF

Hi guys .. sorry you have had such a rough night/morning .. I hope the piling goes ok and that both your babies are feeling better in no time!
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 +4 366 - Not eating, BARF

Keeping my fingers crossed for Trixie and Frankie. Maggie will not eat Wellness Chicken! Hope their tummys soon feel better.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 +4 366 - BARF...small update

Frankie ate a few Orijen kibbles...she asked for them, so I gave it a shot. She probably wanted more, but I didn't want to overload her. She purred the whole time she ate.

I held a little baby food up to Trix a while ago; she sniffed it with interest, but I didn't let her eat it just yet. I'm going to hold off on trying to feed her until I come home again around 2:00 or so, when I'll have a little bit of time to hang out and watch for more pukus.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie AMBG 331 +4 366 + 6 331 +8.75 237 DOSE?

Just came home for a check on Trixe and Frankie. Trixie was interested in food, but not a whole lot. After I tested her, she came down and gave me "the look". It's progress. First, I tried baby food; she took a lick or two and walked away - probably bad memories from this morning. Then I gave her about 2 teaspoons of BG 96% chicken; she at about half, then went back upstairs to lie down. I'm sticking around for a little while to make sure everything "stays put."

No evidence of kibble barf from Frankie, either.

So for tonight, I'm thinking of shooting a reduced dose of .75, regardless (unless, of course, her BG really tanks in the next few hours...then I won't know what to do!).

Does that sound good to you guys?
Also, is it safe to assume that her drop in BG is due to not having eaten anything?


Thanks so much!!

Amy
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie +4 366 + 6 331 +8.75 247 +11.5 120 DOSE?

Trixie's BG is down to 120...very little food on board so far. Hubby is at home, I'm at work; he'll try and get her to eat a little. It seems like she's probably a bit interested, but I don't know how much she'll go for, or how well it will stay down.

I was planning on .75 tonight...down from her F1.00. Does that seem reasonable? I'm quite nervous, since trying to bring her up with HC tonight may not be feasible.

Any help or input would be appreciated! As of now, scheduled shot time is 5:45 EST, but we can stall for a bit....


Thanks!!!
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie +4 366 + 6 331 +8.75 247 +11.5 120 DOSE?

Considering this is a dropping number and the lack of appetite I am not sure what you should shoot.
Let me see if I can get another opinion.

Without a shot this morning the number would be +23.5 120....so other's won't think you shot. :?
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie +16 366 + 18 331 +20.75 247 +23.5 120 DOSE?

She was interested in food, ate about 2 teaspoons. Hopefully it will stay down.

Haven't done her shot yet...not sure what to do, given the numbers and situation.
 
Re: 4/28 Trixie + 18 331 +20.75 247 +23.5 120 +24 101DOSE?

+24 - 101...still dropping.

ETA: Hubby and I are in agreement about not shooting again, just given the risk of barfing in combination with the low, dropping numbers...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top