4/21 Gracie PMPS 301 +2 317

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 313 6th cycle .5u
+2: 317
+4: 333
+10: 325
PMPS: 308 7th cycle .5u
+2: 231
+4: 151
+5: 188
+6: 218

Good morning!!! It's Fursday, right?? Sending congratulations to Choco and Maria and to Daniel and Kurai on going to the FALLS!!! And for all of our ailing kitties and beans, we send healing vines and thoughts.

Gracie decided to defy all of our threats to increase her dose and she just sorta broke the bounce but not enough to convince us the .5u was working so she got a dosecrease to sk.75u this morning. Paws crossed that will jump start her as she was seeing a little blue on the .5u..."little" being not too understated. At least she seems
to be feeling well...perky, playing, purry and not showing any signs of being at those high numbers. So kick it on back in little girl and let's see something good today.

On a related topic, two months ago, I was selected to be one of 9 people to go to Washington DC the first week in May to work on a rewrite of some of the important environmental regulations for our program (wetlands and waters protection under the Clean Water Act). It is a HUGE, HUGE honor to be selected and quite a wonderful thing for my career. They've been very patient waiting for me to decide based on how Gracie is doing. Mike wants me to go very, very much; he said I need a break, a change of scenery, time for me. I know he can handle it here...he does all that I do except shoot insulin but he has done it a couple times and he's been practicing dosing with old insulin. But, I've finally come to the decision that I just can't go because it's 7 full days and if Gracie gets back on track, he will be exhausted. If it were just Gracie, it might be one thing but add on the two elder civvies that need squids and very frequent feedings, and I think he will run himself ragged. Gracie can keep us up all night and then there's little time for napping during the day when the civvies need care, too. I know he would bust his patootie and he would care for them all splendidly but at what price to him and his health? He has to come first. AND that week is also our 27th anniversary and his one week of vacation this summer when we'd have uninterrupted time together. So....I'm going to let them know today that I can't do it. I'm hoping that before I retire, perhaps Gracie will get TR and I'll have another chance; I did get to work on a team last summer on some other of our regs but not as important as this particular program now. It's a tough decision and if it were just for 3 or 4 days, I wouldn't be concerned but 7 is a whole 'nother thing.

Off to TBP. I look forward to having more time to catch up tomorrow. Have a wonderful day. Thinking of you all.
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 NEW DOSE

Hi, Marjorie, Mike & Gracie.. good luck with the new dose, I suspect she will begin to see better #s soon :-D
As far as your trip.. I would reply in Loose Lips.. but don't see that someone has started a condo there! So at the risk of getting off track of the cat.. I think that you should definitely go.. there are many of us (myself included) who do this alone always.. you both are blessed to have each other.. it is only 7 days & many have been doing it for months & even years all alone..with full time jobs, other furbabies & kids.. I say go for it.. life is meant to be lived & you have an amazing opportunity! Have a great day!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 NEW DOSE

if it's not too late, i'd say go too. mike is a pro and he's telling you he can handle it. go, have a wonderful once in a lifetime experience.
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 NEW DOSE

Hi guys .. I hope this extra juice kicks starts a nice run of green numbers for gracie .. as far as your trip goes, well it sound like it is quite an honor to be chosen and something you should be very proud of .. No wonder Mike want's you to go, he must be so proud of you too! I can't tell you what to do as that would be a choice you have to really be sure of, but at any rate, Congratulations on being chosen!
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 NEW DOSE

I hope Gracie does well on this, it is always amazing at how such a small change can effect them. OK, you two, enough of the pretty girl dress up in pink. YOu know you are tomboys wearing blue at heart!

((((((((Marjorie)))))))) I know you have reasoned this all out, you always do. I'd reconsider. It is really important, for you and for the project. Mike can handle it, he is great w/ Gracie and has always been very involved w/ her care. I've taken a few breaks like that and quite frankly, I think you need to do this for YOU as well. It really helps to get away and you can do a better job (if possible :smile: ) when you come back.
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 NEW DOSE

DH here - 243 at +2. Finally some movement during the AM cycle. :-D Hoping this dose gives her the nudge she needs and we can start working her down again. Or not. Miss Gracie will decide like she always does.

I keep telling Marjorie she needs to go to DC but I think her mind is made up. She has been going back and forth on it. I think if they would let her decide at the last minute, we could see where Gracie is and then make a decision, but I understand that isn't practical for them. She is more worried about me than Gracie, and I keep telling her I'll be fine. Hey, Celi isn't doing anything these days. Maybe she can come and help me. Better yet, she can come and babysit and I can go with Marjorie. Yeah, thats the ticket. No torties though, and no kibble allowed in the house. :lol:
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 +4 269 NEW DOSE

DH here - 269 at +4. So it looks like a wonky day instead of an action day. Giving her a few hours off and do a +8/9ish to see where she's headed for tonight.
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 +4 269 NEW DOSE

Marjorie: GO TO D.C. It's essential to take care of the bean.

Let me share that the first months of Kitty's treatment, I connived to get DH to give both shots, at great cost to his work schedule. I just could not bring myself to do it. And then... I did it. DH will do great. He has everyone here.
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 +4 269 NEW DOSE

Good luck on the new dose for Gracie. As far as the trip, wow, it's a tough one. I know everyone is telling you to go, but you need to feel good about leaving Gracie and not be worrying the whole time you're gone about Gracie and Mike. I think Celi catsitting would work out great though if you could convince her! I think she's MIA right now setting up the thread for LooseLips!
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 +4 269 NEW DOSE

Of course, Ann is right. It's tough. I didn't leave town the entire time Kitty was on the juice - 15 months.

It does take a toll on you. But so does worrying while you're away.

Wouldn't it be nice if we could visit each other's homes, the way we visit condos?
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 +4 269 NEW DOSE

i've been feeling guilty all day for giving you an opinion, marjorie, when you weren't asking for input. and, of course, you have to feel comfy. I completely get all of that and would need to feel comfy myself, if i were you.

BUT, i have had a light bulb brain moment - which is unusual these days :lol: - why don't you take mike and gracie with you? there are hotels that take small pets. you'd be able to know what's going on. you'd be able to help some . . . there are many good possibilities there.

but you know we'll cheer you on whatever it is you decide!
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 +4 269 NEW DOSE

Congrats on being asked to go to Washington. What an honor, eh?

I can certainly understand your struggle. And support you in your decision. Whatever you decide my dear...it will be the right choice for right now.

Hope Gracie likes her new dose.
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 +4 269 NEW DOSE

I'm with Julie. Sorry to have pushed. ohmygod_smile

I just really appreciate what you do! But the environment has many caretakers. Gracie has two.
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 +4 269 NEW DOSE

Hi Marjorie,
These kinds of decisions are tough. I declined reading a paper at a symposium in Germany last spring because of Stu. I didn't regret staying home because I have had a long career and I think it's important for younger scholars to move the discipline in new directions. But you are at a breakthrough moment in your career and this opportunity will have ramifications for our country's environmental policies (the environment is the most critical issue facing us as citizens of the world, in my opinion). Anyway, I would encourage you to reconsider. You would almost certainly be able to get a local vet tech to help Mike with Gracie and the other kitties. It's only a week. And all Gracie's pals could come and hang out at the pool for the week to keep her company.

Good luck with Gracie's new dose!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie AMPS 300 +2 243 +4 269 NEW DOSE

Hi Marje - wow, what an honor for you. I know how tough the decision is. been there once or twice myself. I am very much in agreement with Ella, I could not have said it better. That legislation is so vitally important and desperately needs the support of those who have compassion and commitment. That I know you do have. I too ask that you reconsider. I know you will choose what is best for you. Whatever you choice is, I will support that decision. Bottom line is that you have to feel good about your decision.

Good luck with Gracie's new dose. :-D I expected you would make that call this morning. Bounce is certainly cleared, She'S still up there at bit... more juice should Help bring her back down. Go Gracie!!!!

Gracie - grab your party dress and shoes - we is off to Florida!! on.... and your cooking stuff too, Sous Chef Gracie. We gots work to do too! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie PMPS 301

Evening all...well..still flat as a pancake. I'm hoping this is NDW and she'll start making some movement. Mike and I were laughing earlier that it seems she always stays high when he's home and as soon as Thurs night rolls around when he has to go to bed early, she decides to take off. I guess she enjoys her time with mama.

You all are the BEST. And I truly appreciate your opinions.

Nicole: you are right...there are very many who do it alone. But I don't need Mike getting exhausted and flying people around :lol: :lol:

Julie: Thank you and I wouldn't have said anything to you all if I didn't expect that you would voice your thoughts....it is very helpfuL!! I did think of Mike and I going and taking Gracie with but she would freak and it's a long trip.....I just can't do that to her.

Devon: yes...he's proud of me; he always is. Always supportive.

Ann: it's important but it's not as important as my family; yes, he can handle it and I have all the faith in the world in him. A large part of it is time with him which I have so very little of. Work is not as important as family.

Kathy: thank you for sharing. I do appreciate it and you crack me up. I love how you came back and added thoughts. You didn't push at all and thank you for the appreciation!

Ann (Maggie): it is tough....I've been agonizing for weeks. Not like me...I'm normally very decisive.

Tena: you are 100% right....whatever the decision is, it will be right and I will move forward.

Ella and Michelle: thank you both for the vote of confidence. While this is great for my career, I'm nearing retirement and so it's not a stepping stone to something else. It's just an amazing honor. The person who will take my place is a very good friend of mine and we share our passion for the environment. She will do agreat job.

I was thinking of reconsidering after all your comments but as it turns out, my mom called. She desperately needs me to come help her out in a couple weeks. Because of different things going on, I can't go to DC, come home a couple days, and go help her. I haven't seen her in over 1-1/2 years and she's not getting any younger. So I need to stay here and then around the 10th, which is her birthday, I'll run over to help her for a few days. It's for the best.

Thank you all....and so many hugs for your incredible support and thoughts. Now..din din and time with Mike. He's off for bed soon.
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie PMPS 301

Mom is most important & family definitely comes first ;-)
I thought it was because of being gone for 7 days & Mike on his own.. so I said.. a lot of us are on our own with kids & other furbabies too :lol:
As far as being tired.. flying people around (autopilot!).. have the First Officer do the walk around & takeoff/landings the first few legs.. must main awake during preflight checklist though ;-) (I guess if he isn't a Captain having a FO do the work won't work :lol: )
Vacation time.. have him bid a few 2/3/4 days back to back & voila.. he has a chunk of time off anytime.. but that also depends on seniority!

Anyway... congratulations on the accomplishment & enjoy Mom and Mike time too!!
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie PMPS 301

Kudos to you! I knew you'd make the decision that works best for you. and so you did. family is important too - I hope all is well with your mom.

ok Gracie - pink is so old school - now down to business and find the lower floors!

have a great night guys!
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie PMPS 301

Hope the new dose works for Gracie. Congratulations on your selection for the conference. It a shame you could not go but, sometimes the timing is inconvenient. Hope all is well with your Mother.
 
Re: 4/21 Gracie PMPS 301

Thank you all.

Nicole: well, Mom didn't fit into the equation until late today. It just sort of shut the door. Mike has been a Capt 4 years but still low on seniority list; mainly holding a reserve line but has a hard line in May.

Barbara: gotta do what we gotta do!!

Michelle and Ella: I think I had flipflopped again and decided to give it a go but I really have to go help my mom.

Looks like Gracie is still not giving up the pink. Guess I'll go to bed. Ni Ni all.
 
i'd give anything to be able to go help my mom, but she's been gone almost 5 years now - go and enjoy you while you've got her!

and ya know, being asked is the greatest honor and really, maybe as good as getting to go. it was a huge vote of confidence to be invited. enjoy that!
 
Marjorie,
There is a lot of sacrificing with this FD lifestyle, but the heart always knows what to do. I would probably do the same thing. Congratulations on being chosen, though. That is quite something!

NiNi now..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top