4/21 Shadow +11=87 ~PMBG=313 no shot again....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
AMPS=240 ~2.50u Lev
+3=338
+7=397
PMPS=403 ~3.0u Lev
+2=306
+3=257
+5=176
+7=49
+7.5=36
+8=34
+8.5=36
to ER
+9.5=68
+11=87

Yesterday

We just got home from the ER.

At 4:30am I decided that giving him karo and baby food would not help me much at AMPS time if he chose not to eat again. He had been vomiting after I syringed food into him during the night....and it was impossible to get ahead of the dropping numbers with that going on. I should have given less insulin last night obviously....but with the rising numbers, I thought he would hopefully eat and keep it down. I thought wrong.

He got SQ fluids and a shot of cerenia and famotidine and I had a long talk with the Vet. At 5am this morning, there was nothing else going on there and it was a very good experience for me since I had never been to an ER before.(IF you can call it a "good" experience...) On their meter, he showed +9.5=68 so the karo/baby food did raise him and a try hypo did not occur. Whew!

We will see if his stomach allows him to eat today. If not, there might be some underlying problem and an ultrasound was suggested. She did say that some cats have a reaction from the anesthesia for a full week before they are back to "normal". This has never happened to Shadow after Dentals in the past....so it has thrown me. As she said, there might have been something going on before the dental and that exacerbated it.

Ya know, other times I have syringed him to get his numbers up, but there was always his hunger that would have him eating regularly later on. That wasn't the case this morning ~any positive thinking was down the tubes....what IF he didn't eat again? I am so glad that I decided to take him there since now he has those meds and maybe they will help him with his eating. It truly is a nightmare when they do not eat....especially if they eat some meals and balk at others. One just never knows.

Will not shoot this morning, but now I am wondering what I should give him tonight. I know we have to look at the day's numbers first though...
I am off to deal with little Raja now and then to bed for Shadow and me.....he might be there already!
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

Oh Pat!! I am sorry for your ER visit, but hopefully it will shed some light on what is bothering Shadow!!
Our kitties cant tell us what is wrong & that is always upsetting--Healing Prayers & vines to our dear friend Shadow & hope he is feeling better by tonite--HUgs & we lubs you all!!
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

I'm sorry that Shadow isn't doing to well today. I'll send some eating and feel better vines to him. I hope you are able to get a little bit of rest today. Those ER visits can be rough on a bean also!
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

(((((pat & shadow)))))

i'm so sorry it came to an ER visit, but you were wise to make the choice. those numbers were too low to mess around with and they weren't coming up. hope you're able to get some rest today. as far as a dose for tonight, let's see how things go today.

sending white light, positive thoughts, and healing vines to shadow...
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

(((Pat))) sorry to hear about the visit to the ER.. I hope Shadow is feeling better after some sleep today & hopefully food too, please remember to take care of you.. going to the ER is never fun for furbabies or us. Thinking of you all (Raja too), wishing you a restful day & will look for an update a little later.
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

(((Pat)))
I hope the ER vet got meds into Shadow that will help to quiet down his tummy. It was the right decision to get Shadow looked at. As far as food, baby food, boiled or rotisserie chicken, or anything that is easy to digest and appetizing to Shadow.
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

So sorry to hear about Shadow and the ER visit. I hope he starts feeling better; very scary night for you. Sending vines and prayers for shadow and you.
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

Pat, I'm very glad that you decided to take Shadow to the ER. Here's hoping that he will be feeling better and better as the day progresses. Rusty is going to make up a nice pot of chicken soup and bring it over later. Do try to get some good rest today. That's important! Check in on you later. In the meantime, sending healing vines, healing thoughts, and prayers for Shadow. Feel better, buddy!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

(((((Pat))))) I'm glad you got Shadow to ER and averted a hypo. It was a good decision. I hope you can get some rest today.
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

Awww .. I'm sorry that shadow still isn't feeling well .. I know you didn't really want to go to the ER (who does?) But I think that was the best thing to do for shadow .. Now hopefully the meds help settle his belly and he starts eating normal again sometime soon .. I know you are worried, but you are doing everything right ....
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

+3=103

Just had a 3 hour nap and woke for Raja's snack. I put both dishes out as I did for breffis, but Shadow didn't eat. He is bright-eyed as he sits on the testing towel, but so far, no change in his attitude about food. Maybe the cat food is too much for him...
After my update here, I will try some of the boiled chicken I made for him and/or the baby food~bland food as you say Sienne... There was a loose deposit in the LB and my guess is that it was his.


Between 3am and 4:30am in the morning when you have a kitty that you have been syringing, things get very eerie. I wondered about my decision...never having to think about that kind of drastic measure in the past. But last night, it seemed as if that was the only way for me to go. IF he ever vomited all that I had syringed, then where would he be?
As it turned out, we had passed the nadir and the worst of it together alone, but I needed him to be seen by someone....
things could have changed for the worse if he vomited.
(and Raja is not eating as much as she normally would right now....sigh)
I am going to look into seeing the vet around the corner....
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

Oh Pat, how frightening. My biggest fear is having to go to ER at night, because it's an hour away. My local vets are on 24 hour call, but still, they have to be awakened, and then drive in to the clinic.

Oh, I hope Shadow starts to feel like eating soon.
Prayers and healing vines for Shadow.
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

(((Pat)))
Im glad ur home but no more k?
Tell the kitties no more scary stuff
Will be thinking of u!!
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

(((Pat))) I think you made a good decision taking Shadow in to the ER....it was the way to go. I hope the meds help and he starts eating better....I'm keeping you in my thoughts!

(No Raja, please don't follow your brother's example...eat!)
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

Sweet Shadow... I am so worried about you!
Please get better.

MJ&Donovan&Butthead
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

((((((((((Pat)))))))))) I'm so glad you got him in to the ER. If nothing else they do help to ease our worries. I'm glad you got some much needed sleep too. Tons of white light and âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§ âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§ âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§ âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§ âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

(((Pat))) I am just catching up now and I'm sorry to hear that Shadow isn't feeling well. I have found that the Cerenia works very well, but it can take two or three shots (once daily) to fully kick in. It can be given for up to five days in a row. Did the vet send any more home with you? Maybe your vet could give you one or two more syringes of it in case he needs it.

Edited to add: Did they inject him with any antibiotics after the dental? I wonder what his vet chart would say about his recovery after the dental, and if the vet would go over that with you. I wonder if he vomited a bit during the anesthesia and aspirated some liquid in his lungs, and that is why he is coughing? If the vet is suggesting an ultrasound, I wonder if he should also get a scope of his throat to make sure that there is no injury there. I don't want to freak you out with things, but these are just things I am wondering about, since he went downhill immediately after the dental. (((Pat))).
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87

Yikes! I'm so sorry that Shadow is struggling so much. You were wise to take him in to the ER. He needed those fluids and medications. The fluids helped his body get a bit re-nourished so he avoided the critical zone... timing is important and you waited long enough. The vomiting and inappetence are scary.

I hope the vet figures out what is going on and that Shadow recovers soon from whatever is setting his system into confusion. It has been a full week since the dental and you'd think every bit of side effects of anesthesia would have been cleared. But maybe not. Maybe he's become more sensitive to anesthesia over the years. I believe that can happen in people if they have had anesthesia too close in time. Don't know about cats though.

((((((Sending you and Shadow and Raja, lots of hugs!)))))
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87~PMPS=313 dose help....

+3=103
+7=181
PMPS=313

He ate some boiled chicken at +7
He ate some FF just now and seemed interested in the chicken again, but didn't actually eat it yet.
They both did not eat what they normally would do.

[Question] So, I am wondering what dose you all think would get them through the night....

ETA: he ate boiled chicken with freeze dried chicken on top..abotu a heaping tablespoon's worth...

They were both swarming right before testing time which showed they were feeling hungry. They didn't gobble it all up though. Still better than not eating at all though.
New vet tomorrow. Right nearby, new office. The vet tech was very nice and we had a nice long talk today. They use Lantus and never Convenia. This might work out best for us.....
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87 ~PMPS=313 Dose help please?....

Geez Pat. Poor kitties and poor you.

I tend to err on the side of caution. I'd go w/what your mommabean gut tells ya. Especially if their appetites are in the toilet right now.
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87 ~PMPS=313 Dose help please?....

I don't know, Pat. I think I would be really conservative with the insulin since he still isn't eating well. It's hard to say what dose - maybe throw a unit or so into the shed? Or just skip if you aren't sure you can get food into him. Shadow has never had ketones, has he? Do you have ketostix?

I don't want you to end up back at the ER...
 
Re: 4/21 Shadow +11=87 ~PMPS=313 Dose help please?....

Thanks Libby....no, he has never had ketones...and yes I do have strips.
If I don't give him any insulin, then he can rest for the rest of the night and I don't have to worry about syringing.
I think I will go to the local vet in the new office near me. I stopped in there today...have a good feeling about the place.
I didn't realize about the cerenia Linda....needing maybe more than the one shot. But I recall people talking about it here as if they were administering it at home. Ok will ask the new vet tomorrow if they are both being finicky about eating...many thank to you all!
 
Hi again, Pat,
At least Shadow (and Raja, too) are getting more interested in food. I think you're very wise not to shoot tonight. Shadow can have a good rest (and you can, also). I'm glad you found the new vet and that the office is so close. Good luck with the appointment tomorrow.
Thinking positively, sending prayers, and many healing vines. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Good luck tomorrow, Pat, with the new Vet for Shadow. It's a good sign they are both eating a little. I wonder if Raja might be showing sympathy pains for Shadow. They are so close and always together. Good thoughts and prayers for you, Shadow and Raja. Hugs.
 
(((Pat, Shadow and Raja))) All sorts of vines, white light, prayers and snowflakes on their way to help Shadow and Raja feel better. I'm glad you got Shadow to the ER and it was not a bad experience. Hope you wake up to normal furbabies in the morning.
 
Hi guys - I am sorry that I missed all of this.... I just can't get to condos like In used, too. I am hoping things are OK with Shadow, and Raja. I think you made a wise decision on the ER, and that the experience was an OK one. Good luck with the new vet - I hope it works out oK for you.

Shadow?? I am sorry you are sick... the KTSS wants to come and see you, if that is OK, and Raja too. We could hold paws and tell stories if you want. Be Better! I am worried about you. Your friend, Mannie
 
(((Pat))))....I'm also very late getting to condos. I'm so sorry Shadow is not doing well and you were so smart to take him to the ER. Poor boy.....I really hope he starts to eat for you. I agree that the worst thing with a cat is trying to get them to eat. It's so stressful for both of you. Sending healing vines to Shadow...hope you all can rest tonight after last night. EAT SHADOW!! EAT RAJA!!
 
Pat,
Good luck with both your kitties. That must have been scarey for you last night. I absolutely would have gone to the ER, too.
Sending healing vines your way...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top