beggargirl
Member Since 2011
Hello,
(we are Canadian so I have been multiplying my numbers by 18 for you)
My cat Noxin is newly diabetic and has been on 2.5 units of lantus ONCE a day for almost two weeks. I did a curve about four days ago and found out his nadir is at around +12.
Yesterday, saturday, he read at 109.8 before his food, so we skipped his shot.
This morning his pre-food number was at 297 so I gave him his 2.5 units. When I checked him at +4 he was at 61.2. Since his nadir isn't usually until +12 I was concerned (and he was active and asking for more food) So I put out some fresh fancy feast and he had some of that, then I gave him about 10 of the Temptation treats he likes. A half hour later he is up to 73.8, and is now back down to 57.6.
Since his diagnosis we have been feeding him a can of wet DM in the morning (though his sister ends up eating about half), and he has been grazing on dry DM until the next morning. A few days ago I started giving them both wet fancy feast throughout the day, and neither of them has really touched the dry food.
On friday, after giving her Noxins Curve numbers, I spoke with my vet and I told her that I wanted to feed him exclusively all wet high protein food and that I wanted to go to twice a day shots as we had previously discussed. I mentioned that I would be more comfortable going on a more conservative dose of maybe 1 unit twice a day, instead of 2 untis twice a day as she originally recommended, since I was doing the food change which would result in a drastic carbohydrate reduction in his diet. She said that lantus 'didn't work that way' and that IF we did put him on twice a day his dose would have to be 2units each shot. But she said that since his Nadir was twelve hours after his shot, that she wanted to keep him on his current dose, and do another curve in two weeks.
What should I be doing guys?
(we are Canadian so I have been multiplying my numbers by 18 for you)
My cat Noxin is newly diabetic and has been on 2.5 units of lantus ONCE a day for almost two weeks. I did a curve about four days ago and found out his nadir is at around +12.
Yesterday, saturday, he read at 109.8 before his food, so we skipped his shot.
This morning his pre-food number was at 297 so I gave him his 2.5 units. When I checked him at +4 he was at 61.2. Since his nadir isn't usually until +12 I was concerned (and he was active and asking for more food) So I put out some fresh fancy feast and he had some of that, then I gave him about 10 of the Temptation treats he likes. A half hour later he is up to 73.8, and is now back down to 57.6.
Since his diagnosis we have been feeding him a can of wet DM in the morning (though his sister ends up eating about half), and he has been grazing on dry DM until the next morning. A few days ago I started giving them both wet fancy feast throughout the day, and neither of them has really touched the dry food.
On friday, after giving her Noxins Curve numbers, I spoke with my vet and I told her that I wanted to feed him exclusively all wet high protein food and that I wanted to go to twice a day shots as we had previously discussed. I mentioned that I would be more comfortable going on a more conservative dose of maybe 1 unit twice a day, instead of 2 untis twice a day as she originally recommended, since I was doing the food change which would result in a drastic carbohydrate reduction in his diet. She said that lantus 'didn't work that way' and that IF we did put him on twice a day his dose would have to be 2units each shot. But she said that since his Nadir was twelve hours after his shot, that she wanted to keep him on his current dose, and do another curve in two weeks.
What should I be doing guys?