4/6 Billy +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25 47 +4 43 +4.5 5 +5.25 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manouk & Billy

Member Since 2011
Good mooorning, LL!

Yesterday's condo

Today
AMPS 77
+2 119
+4 77
+6 65
PMPS 58 (Shot 2.u instead of 2.25)
+1 54
+2 49
Fed 2 teaspoons of Friskies and tested 20 minutes later :
+~2.75 41
Fed 1 teaspoon of Friskies with karo and tested 20 minutes later :
+~3.25 47
Fed 1/2 a teaspoon of friskies with one drop of karo mixed in and tested 30 min later:
+4 43
Fed about 2 1/2 teaspoons of Friskies with 1#2 a teaspoon of karo and tested 20 minutes later:
+4.5 58
+~5.25 74

Fresh green start for Billy today! I think he's celebrating Binks being OTJ with nice numbers! :mrgreen:

As some of you already know, I am moving away soon. Girlfriend and I are both moving to Montreal, which is a 1:30 hour drive for me and about 30 minutes for her. We're going there tomorrow to sign the papers and the apartment will be ours! I am really excited.

Now, I may need some advice. The plan is to move as soon as I can with Billy -- I want him to get some time to get used to the new place. Anyone knows where I can find one of these seats Butthead had? I'd check online but I have no idea what to search for. Billy hates being in the car, he's always mewing about. Whyyy do we have to be here, you know I dislike it. Where are we going? Why are you always keeping that a secret from me? ...Mom? Please? ... Oh no. Oh no no no. I hate turns. You know I hate it, why did you have to turn? And pleaaaase, where are we going? It is going to be an interesting ride. Usually he stays in a cage and I drive with one hand inside the bars when I can so he can feel me near, but I think maybe a seat for cats would be better for such a long drive. What do you think?

Girlfriend (we'll call her Marie, since that's her name) has two cats, Bella et Bebe. We want to switch them from dry food to wet, and from eating whenever they want to having two meals per day, just like Billy. We won't be able to leave food around the house if Billy lives there. He'll just eat until he explodes. Bebe loves the wet food but Bella doesn't seem to enjoy it so much. Any thoughts on how we could do it? I guess she could stay on dry food too, but now that I know how dry food is bad for cats, it's getting me all worried.

Second issue would be to switch from food being available at all times to two meals. Marie is working from 7:30 am to 7:00 pm from Monday to Friday, so she's not around a lot to help the transition. She is there during weekends, though. We were thinking of leaving less food available during the day and feeding wet food (or dry, if Bella is being to difficult) at breakfast and dinner. But if any of you has any miracle technique, I sure would like to hear about it. ;-)

Marie won't be moving with the cats until they're on the new diet and accepting it well. Only when Billy will be used to the new place and Bella & Bebe eating meals that we will make them meet. Which ought to be interesting. At least I'll be home to be sure that they adapt well. And in the worst cases, the apartment has two floors, which can be separated in two territories. But I really hope they learn to get along.

Whoa, such a long post. Here, I'll show you guys pictures of Bella and Bebe. Bella-Luna is a little Siamese girl and Bebe is a big, grumpy boy. Which kind of shows in the photo. :lol: But trust me, he's adorable.

Bella.jpg
Bebe.jpg
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

Good morning guys .. what a lovely start to the day for billy! Showing up at binks party in style .. I'm sorry I can't really help you with much of your post .. Our cats hate driving in the car as well .. The one time we had to take mocha to her dental vet that was close to two hours away we ended up getting a large dog carrier at wal mart, for around 35.00 .. it was big enough for us to put a small LB in there as well as some blankets and toys .. it was tall enough for her to stand up and walk around in .. It didn't make any difference on her voicing her opinion on being in the car though ... As far as getting all the kitties on the same cat food, well, I can't really help with that either .. our civvie eats kibble and mocha eats wet .. They ONLY eat when we are at home, and can stand guard feeding them .. takes about 5-10 minutes for the cats to eat up what's in their bowls then bowls get picked up, twix's goes in a drawer and mocha's gets washed .. I hope others will be here soon with better advice! Oh and congrats on the new apartment!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

Hi Manouk & Billy,
Our cats have always been good travelers, I think because we have always expected it from them. All have ridden free in the car. We always have the carrier in the car, but leave the door open so if the cat wants to go into it he can. We carry a litterbox in the back of the car (station wagon). Rusty (and Stu before him) enjoys sitting on a blanket on the armrest. But he also sits in DH's lap, or in the back, on top of our stuff (the seats are down). However, if you are driving by yourself you would probably need some way to restrain Billy. Phoebe fitted Rusty out with a harness and leash when she was "training" him to be a passenger (she knew we wanted to take him with us on trips). The leash was long enough so that he could get to the litterbox in the back of her car. Butthead's bucket seat might work very well for Billy. Why don't you send MJ a PM and ask her where she bought it?

Don't know what to say about the food issue. That's something you'll have to work out as you go along. But it would be best for his diabetes if Billy could eat more small meals (rather than 2 large meals). Have the cats ever met?

Good luck, and have a good move. Montreal is a lovely city. We go there occasionally (it's only 2 hours from here).

Billy, Enjoy Binks' OTJ party. Rusty will see you there,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

Your cat travels? Wow. That is awesome. Especially for a diabetic cat! Pm is a great idea, I don't know why I haven't thought of that. ohmygod_smile

It would be better for Billy to eat different meals, but my situation isn't stable enough for me to do that. I can't always be home, and I'll probably end up getting a full-time day job after we move in. I don't want to start giving more meals and then just take them away, so I am playing safe.

And no, the cats never met, that is why I am being a bit nervous about it. :?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

I was going to suggest sending MJ a PM as well. You may need to get Billy used to wearing a harness.

Have you thought about a timed feeder? If Billy will inhale any food that's out, allowing all the cats to free feed on canned food probably isn't a great strategy. A feeder may be a good alternative. I use this model.

As far as transitioning a cat from dry to canned food, Dr. Lisa's site on feline nutrition has great information.

Marie's kitties are beautiful! If you've never had to introduce Billy to another cat, you might want to get hold of this book, "Think Like a Cat.".
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

The cat's weren't going to free feed, they're switching to two meals a day too. But a feeder sure looks like a good idea for a near future. I think I found about all I needed to know on Dr Lisa's site! Turns out that switching a cat from dry to wet looks easier when feeding meals anyway, so that is good news.

Books seems like a good read, too. I think I'll order it with my next test strips shipment.

The thought of Billy wearing a harness in my car... That would be the cutest thing. :smile:
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

Small meals are good for diabetic cats, it evens out the carb load instead of dumping it all at once. There are also 5 compartment timed feeders, great for mini meals. Once you start to get Billy's FD more under control his appetite should level off too.

Fortiflora is a great help in transitioning kibble addicts. Mfgs. spray "animal digest" on kibble to make it appealing to animals and Fortiflora has the same thing in it, so they can get the same flavor as the kibble.

PMing MJ is a great idea, I'd love to know which one MJ has too. You can also Google carseat + cat I saw one that is a hammock between the front and rear seats, such luxury!

Good luck on the move.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

You've received lots of good advice and I don't have anything to add, except....

Wow, those are beautiful photographs! Yes, the kitties are beautiful too, but someone has real talent as a photographer! ...just sayin' ... :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

gorgeous new roommates, Billy!

binks and I got 2 new roomies by default...one shy and skittish and one grumpster...both Tortioseshell females... :shock:

we've had our ups and downs...but it's finally working out...

Binks doesnt bat an eye at traveling either...unless it's in a moving truck.

I always make sure that we tow one car, and i have a 2nd driver... that way binks can ride in the car...

(we relocated 10 times in my last job...lots of practice runs to get it right for the furkids... :lol: )

and gorgeous amps, Billy!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

Very nice day for Billy! You've gotten good advice so I won't add any except that I do think it's better for cats to eat small meals of canned food all day and the timed feeders would be great for that. Bella is gorgeous and I LOVE Bebe's expression!!! I hope when the time is right, you have lots of success with your blended family!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77

Thank you everyone! :-D

I have kind of an urgent question, now. Billy is at 58. I would normally shoot and see where it goes but I just came back home and don't know if his numbers will be rising or going down. And I can't stall; I need to give him his shot 20 minutes earlier tomorrow morning. Do I risk it and monitor like crazy or should I just let this one go?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77 +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 +12 58 Urgent dosin

Hi Manouk
Go back to your original post of the day and change your subject line there to urgent
dosing advice. It cannot be seen from here.
Try and get another test in about 15 and see where he goes but you will get some help.

Congrats on the move to Montreal, we will have to talk more :-D

ETA: changed while I was posting
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 +12 58 Urgent dosing questi

But if I wait 15 minutes, then tomorrow he'll be shot 35 minutes early and I won't be able to test all day. Not even a PMPS : someone is taking care of him tomorrow night. That'S why I am a bit torn.

Is 35 minutes too much?

ETA : Oh wait, you meant I should shoot now? (And yes, we chould definitely talk more :smile: )
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 +12 58 Urgent dosing questi

Manouk
I did not mean to shoot now. I am a bit rusty to help in these matters however on the 4th
you shot the 63 and monitored and Billy looked good.
Your choices are
skip
stall
bcs
what makes you comfortable?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 +12 58 Urgent dosing questi

Bcs, I think. I shoot 2.25 units; does 2 sound good? Or do I go all the way down to 1.75?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 +12 58 Urgent dosing questi

you shot a 63 the other night and juggled numbers in the 50's....63 versus 58
pretty close.

what are you up for? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77 +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58

I guess that 63 had the psychologic barrier of being a 60. I shot 2 u and will monitor since I don't know if Billy was rising or falling. Ah, Can't wait to get better at this. Thanks for the advice, Ronni and Randi!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77 +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58

opps I think our posts crossed - 2u is ok.
reduced dose is always a good option too.

good luck tonight! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77 +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58

Great shooting Manouk.
I know how hard it is shooting these low numbers.
Get a +1 and see where he goes.

Billy, now surf the greens like a good boy. :mrgreen:

BTW gorgeous pictures of your new kittymates. I just might have to commission you
for photos of my 4, now that you will be in Montreal.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77 +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58

nice shooting tonight!
just wanted to stop by to say hi and tell you i LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the pics of your kitties! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77 +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58

Thanks, Jill! I can't wait to be able to see them more often and shoot them more often! Photography-wise, of course. :-D
 
Re: 4/6 Billy AMPS 77 +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54

Great shooting Manouk. He's making you get used to low numbers fast!!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

He really is. I feel like I won't be able to get a lot of sleep tonight!

Just to be sure : If he gets in the low 40s, I feed him more, and if he gets lower than that, then I attack with karo?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

did you feed that +2 of 49?
if not, feed a little bit and retest in 20 minutes, please. billy likes to cruise the 50s, but it's still early in the cycle.
post the number and let's go from there...
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

He ate his whole meal at PMPS, but he still looks hungry. I should feed more?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

yes, you can feed a teaspoon or two to that 49.
retest 20 minutes after he's done and let's see if he's bumped up a little.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

I went to the kitchen and he came running, mewing at me with his IWantFood voice. Two teaspoons it is.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

Lovely numbers...lovely new family members... lovely, lovely lovely!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Billy and Willie sound alot like kindred travelers. Last trip, we used a pop up dog kennel that was large enough to fit a small litter box and a small bed in it. But wow, he could even manage to unzip the thing!!! I am not always comfortable with him being in the front seat... the whole airbag thing freaks me out, but on long trips, I can't handle the constant crying. I would definitely try some rescue remedy... it has worked wonders for us on short trips to the vet (2 drops rubbed on each ear, two drops on each side of his nose in the base of his whiskers, and a final drop under his nose). Thinking it will be good for distance travel too!

Hope you guys have a good, if a bit sleepless, night!!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

traveling tips...

Roadtrip.jpg


our kitties travel in dog crates in the back of our SUV. there's enough room for a small bed and a disposable litter box. i spray rescue remedy on everything right before we leave. one of the vet techs who used to post here recommended Calms Forte (natural --- no sedatives). i crush one pill in each kitty's food the night before and the morning of the trip. you can get it online or in some drug stores. covering the crates with a sheet, towel, or quilt helps, too. cats love cave-like enclosures! covering really seems to help calm them down.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

Wow Do you need help??--Fed some to Billy?--
My cats are terrible travelers!! They go nuts after 10 minutes but they can last about 25 min..
I do free feed Moonie as I always have, couple of yrs ago, we didnt do the timed feedings..
A timed feeder is a godsend--We are sometimes out all day & have the feeders to depend on--
You have been doing so well--Billy is doing great & congrats on the new apt!!
Love your photos--ALL of them! Hugs from us!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

Wow, what a great way to travel. Maybe my mom has one of these - she has a dog, so there is hope.

And thanks, Roni!

Billy's numbers are freaking me out. fed him 2 teaspoons and tested 20 minutes later : he is at 41.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49

feed some hc gravy. you can add a drop of karo.
retest in 20 minutes, please.
we'll be waiting for your update.

ps - how's he acting?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 4

ohmygod_smile Oh my. How stupid am I? I forgot to buy gravy. Do I feed him dry food or do I just go with karo?

Eck, I knew I was forgetting something today. nailbite_smile

ETA : He's acting fine. Normal Billy stuff. Walking around and purring like usual.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 4

you can mix a couple drops of karo in his low carb food.
only feed him a little bit of food... maybe one teaspoon tops. we don't want him to get full now in case you need to continue to feed.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 4

You can add karo to the LC food & feed it to him, but the dry food, Jill can tell you--In an emergancy I would feed him some..Honey will work too--Sometimes I make a gravy with the LC food, add few drops of karo & syringe feed with a food syringe. That does work well & I also keep temptations on hand for Moonie as she gets full quickly, but will always eat them!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 4

One thing that's good with him is that I don't think he can ever be full...!

I gave him one teaspoon with karo. He ran to the kitchen with me again and mew. He's not acting strange at all, but he sure looks a lot more hungry than what he usually is after his meal.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 4

i love a cat with a healthy appetite! lol!
see you in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 4

Well we are all on the same page here :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hope he comes up soon for you! Just keep doing the same thing--Lather, Rinse, Repeat--meaning
Test , Feed, Wait & Repeat!!!
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 4

Will do!

In the meantime, Billy is playing and purring like crazy. I caught him on video. Hey, I had to make something of these 20 minutes. :lol:
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 4

a little bit of playing is fine, but make sure he's not getting a full blown workout, ok?
vigorous exercise can lower BG numbers... not exactly what we're looking for at the moment.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +2 119 +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 4

Back on petting it is.

ETA : It took a bit of convincing, but he seems just as happy sitting on my lap than playing. :smile:
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25

better, but the karo will wear off soon.
i'd feed a half teaspoon of food with just a drop of karo mixed in. let's see if he'll surf the 50s.
retest in 30 minutes, please...
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25

Just a quick stop to say hi - Billy's looking great, you're doing awesome, and keep them fuds coming. Up Some Billy OK?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25

good! :mrgreen:
while i'm thinking of it...
billy is d-o-n-e with 2.25 units. i know you reduced the dose tonight, but what you're seeing is the residual effects of the higher dose at work. 2u should be his new dose. however, if he's low in the morning post for advice BEFORE shooting, ok? it's possible he may need to skip a shot to empty the shed a little bit. unfortunately, we won't know for sure until we see how tonight plays out and what his ps number is in the morning.
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25

Haha, yes. Exit 2.25.

Actually I was wondering about tomorrow. I will be able to test him in the morning and shoot, but I will leave at +3. I may be able to come back at +6, but that's really not sure. My friend is coming in to take care of him during the evening, so she'll be able to shoot but not to test. I won't be able to come back before his amps Friday morning.

I was at 2.25u and normally I would have asked her to shoot 1.75. Now I guess it will be 1.50. Since I shot 2u tonight and if Billy's numbers are high enough tomorrow to shoot safely, should I shoot 2u in the morning or 1.75? Are gaps between the shots risky or unwanted? If I shoot tomorrow morning, should I skip the evening dose altogether for more safety?
 
Re: 4/6 Billy +4 77 +6 65 PMPS 58 +1 54 +2 49 +2.75 41 +3.25

Manouk & Billy said:
Haha, yes. Exit 2.25.

Actually I was wondering about tomorrow. I will be able to test him in the morning and shoot, but I will leave at +3. I may be able to come back at +6, but that's really not sure. My friend is coming in to take care of him during the evening, so she'll be able to shoot but not to test. I won't be able to come back before his amps Friday morning.

I was at 2.25u and normally I would have asked her to shoot 1.75. Now I guess it will be 1.50. Since I shot 2u tonight and if Billy's numbers are high enough tomorrow to shoot safely, should I shoot 2u in the morning or 1.75? Are gaps between the shots risky or unwanted? If I shoot tomorrow morning, should I skip the evening dose altogether for more safety?

just so i'm clear on your plans...

thursday amps - you'll be home to test and shoot
thursday +3 - you can test, but then you're leaving. billy will be home alone the rest of the cycle?
thursday pmps - friend can shoot, but not test. billy will be alone all night?

friday amps --- you'll be home to test and shoot
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top