Re: 3/5 Trixie AMPS 354 - Bounce Questions
About the pink, I don't think it's a bounce.
You were giving 1u as the dose then dropped a full .5u for a decrease which is a pretty large drop when you are at a 1u dose.... it's basically cutting the dose in half.
So once the bit of a shed drained, you ended up with a dose that was too little.
I think going to a .75u dose would be great.
About bounces, here's a picture for you.
Often, one does not know how long their cat has been diabetic, so it could well be that the cat's used to the higher BG and those are the numbers that feel 'right'. Think of the temp of the water in the tropics.
Owner comes along and tests, gives insulin, and those higher BG numbers, that were feeling just fine TUVM, are changed into some lower BG numbers, and cat's body goes HUH? Something is wrong here! Where is my tropical waters? I am all of a sudden finding myself in waters the temp as off the coast of Alaska! This water is like a polar bear swim! YIKES!
Cat's body goes WHOA! Too low! ..... and scoots back on up into the 'right numbers'.... those pink numbers.
Have you ever gone to the beach and stuck your toe in the water and pulled it back out because it was too cold? Same thing here. Eventually, though, you put your foot back into the water and you are more prepared, know what to expect and each time, it's better, not so cold, yes?
The last picture is a ball. Think of a bouncing ball where each bounce becomes less and less high, until at the end, it's just rolling nicely along the ground where it should be.... no more bounces.
You may see the odd dip into better numbers, but then a zoom up again. That's OK because now you know that your cat CAN get into those lower numbers, and with time, your cat will 'visit' those numbers more often and will stick around in those numbers for longer stretches of time until one day, you will get a pink and think.... wow, I can't remember the last time we got a pink.
You are giving pancreas&liver time to heal and not have to work so hard. As the healing progresses, the pancreas&liver won't need as much help and maybe one day, will be able to work on its own without the help of your giving insulin.
And that's how I see bounces.