3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337, +3 288, +4 177, +5.5 135

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Very Active Member
Good Morning LL!! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) (yum!: white mocha this AM), and Happy Tuesday, and the 1st day of March!

Mannie and I send healing vines to all our sick kitties today, in the hopes that they will be better soon. We send positive thoughts to all you beans that struggle every day with unregulated BG's, dives and bounces, hopes and disappointments and setbacks and successes.

2/28 Condo

2/28 RECAP:
fed mini meals @ ps, +1, +2, +3: AM CYCLE: SophistaCat Turkey & Giblets 0% PM CYCLE: SophistaCat Turkey & Giblets 0% , FF EMedley Chicken Florentine 10%, FF Beef Feast w/ gravy 18%
amps 535 ohmygod_smile : 2.5Su: 28th cycle on this dose
+2 368
+4 223 pre-vet trip
+4.5 176 post vet
+7 82
+8.5 84
+11 131
pmps 225: 2.5Su: 29th cycle on this dose
+2 139 fed 10% MC
+3 52 fed 18% HC w/ gravy

+3.5 49 fed 18% HC w/ gravy
+4 52 fed 18% HC w/ gravy
+4.5 52 fed 18% HC w/ gravy
+5 69 fed 10% MC
+5.5 109
+6 121 fed 10% MC
amps "HI" :sad: :sad: : 2.5Su: 30th cycle on this dose
BOING!
+2 "HI"

Yesterday has to be one for the books. Nobody but Mannie could go from a 535 amps to a 49 at +3 in the evening. :o :shock: :roll: :shock: DANG! As hard as we tried, there was little control over the severity of the dive, both AM and PM cycle. I am not the least bit surprised to see that "HI" this AM: he went down hard yesterday, came up just as hard. I cannot help but wonder what I could have done better to control this. He was fed. I wanted to cry this AM with that AMPS, and the +2, but didn't, hugged him instead, had a little cuddle session, and put on my happy face, for the boy. see? there it is ----> :-D :-D Love ya Mannie, we will get through this. cat_pet_icon

I did get Mannie up to the vet yesterday to do an urinalysis for a recheck on his UTI, to verify that it is cleared up. Still waiting on results. As much as I hope it's gone a recurrence sure would explain these numbers. It's so similar to the pattern we were getting when he was diagnosed in January.

Mannie of course is un-phased by any of this. I have my happy furry purry kitty this morning. We had his happy dance for breffis, and he was careful with his feet placement so he didn't fall of the table - always a good thing. :lol: breffis eaten with gusto, auto feeder ignored (I will win this war - :? ). As always he supervised my getting dressed - sat on my feet. :cool: I love that one.... I think he does it so I'll stop and pay attention, dish out the pets and scritches. Works too. :-D For now he's off to the nanners, and beginning his morning nap.

Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI"

:shock: (((Michelle))) (((Mannie)))
O my goodness... bless both your hearts.. PLEASE come on down! confused_cat
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI"

I will win this war
Michelle - you are a positive person, I can tell. Glass half full :lol:

Could the reading yesterday have been wrong or did he really dive that fast? When I first saw your condo title, I thought "Hello" and "Hello". I need more coffee.

Here's hoping he decides to surf nicely and that UTI is kicked to the curb.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI"

It would be very nice to know that there is an explanation for these numbers.

I do think that once the bounce clears, Mannie may need a dosecrease.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI"

Michelle and Mannie,
OMG! As a newbie, I would be completely freaking out yesterday, and with your morning readings. I will be watching your condo to see what Mannie does--poor guy! Can't believe he acts so good when he's running that high! Tessie just lays around when she's in the 300s! Boy, ECID for sure. Tess does UTI's a lot, too. I hope it's not that for Mannie, but yea, that would explain it...

I'm sending good, good thoughts out to you and Mannie right NOW! Can you feel them? :-D
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI"

Hi all!

Hi Sienne - yep, so agreed. what in the world is going on with this kitty? Yep too on the dosecrease. Perhaps a 2.5 without the skinny? opinion?

Hi Karrie - I doubled checked the questionable numebrs, ran the test twice many times yesterday, and this morning, they all checked out. Enjoy that ~O) , we just refilled here too. :-D

Hi Nicole - thanks. I hope so too, without the dive.

Hi Sandy - oh I know. way back when we first started I was a regular freak-a-zoid... but over time you get used to it, know what to do, and try the best you can to control what you see. and yes... got the good thougts!! THX!
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI"

Hi Michelle,
Gosh I hope Mannie comes down. You are so calm or at least to us, but I bet not inside. Maybe it's the meter. Do you think possibly the UTI still hasn't cleared is the reason for high numbers. Just bouncing this theory off the wall, but sure hope it is not the case. We'll be watching, too, Hugs.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI"

oh my mannie .. Im not quite sure what to say .. I hope that you come down today .. It would certainly be nice to know if the UTI was the cause for these high numbers again ...
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI", +4 480

480 @ +2. well better. at least he is coming down.

Hi Devon. I know... i am at a loss for words, and emotions. These type of numbers are never easy. and yes - waiting to hear from the vet.

Hi Ann - not too sure on the returning UTI - though the pattern is there. This is what he did the first time around: very high numbers without a discernible reason. so we wait and see what the vet says. maybe he just needs more juice. I just don't know. I think the meter is OK. I've repeated the really ugly numbers, retested, even with my back up mater which is another brand, they all give the same results, so --- it's the cat, for whatever reason. Nothing to do right now but wait it out....

well, off to hike a little - local stuff here at home. then off to visit my DGS. at least Mannie has given me a permission slip to be one for a bit. see?? still smiling ------> :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI", +4 480

Oh my goodness, Michelle! I damn near fell off of my chair when I saw your condo posting! poor mannie and poor you! I know your heart was in your throat, wasn't it. BUT...at least you know it's a bounce and he will come down. I don't think there was anything else you could have done to stop this..Mannie is his own kitty and he will do as he wants!!!

Hope the culture comes back negitive!
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI", +4 480

Whoa, Michelle! You are hanging in there like a champ! Hopefully changes to the dose will convince Mannie to stop bungee jumping off of large bridges!!!

So glad you are getting out to see DGS today!! And a hike? Way to take it all in stride!

Enjoy your day!!
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI", +4 480

my goodness Mannie, you are one for dramatics.
Hope Mannie continues to come down today in a safe manner.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI", +4 480

:YMHUG: Michelle :YMHUG: Oh do I know that feeling, but as you said not really a surprise after yesterday. Thank goodness he is coming down now. I doubt that there was anything different you could have done. You were right on top of everything when he was dropping. I hope the hike and visit w/ DGS helps to ease your soul.

Mannie, you need the rope? It's my turn now, I'll rescue you! -- Tess
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +2 "HI", +4 480

Oh Dear!! I had to read your subject line a few times to fully comprehend what I was seeing. I hope Mannie comes down for you throughout the day but not such a dive as yesterday. What a ride you have been on. I'm glad you are getting out to enjoy the day.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +4 480, +10 545 - opinion pls

Hi All - the ugliness continues.... 545 @ +10

I spoke with the vet - the UA came back negative for all infection, so he has cleared the UTI. so.......... looks like we need to adjust his dose. Can you guys pls look at his SS, let me know what you think I should take his too? I know a couple of you have already told me he needs a dosecrease - i would like your opinion on what that should be. THX!

We have had two <50's on this dose. With that in mind my vet thinks I should be giving less. I know too Mannie is in bounce mode today, but I really don't want to leave him in these high of numbers for much longer, bouncing or not.

so.... dosing folks - please - what do you think?
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +4 480, +10 545 - opinion pls

Thanks to all for the visit today. :-D

Hi Georgia - yeah, this has been a tad bit unreal... i hope it ends soon. :-D UA was negative so that is good... looks like one ugly bounce. :sad:

Hi Ann - yep, expected the morning, just not so high. at least today he isn't diving. then again we got that nasty +10 spike he always does. AIYEEE!!!! Where is that emoticon you have of the bird with his head in the sand. that would be me today. and thanks - i really didn't know what else I could have done yesterday. it was such a sinking feeling. still is today.

Hi Iorwen - that he is. Do I ever hope that this breaks with the evening cycle.

Hi Christie - that would be so nice! Paws crossed. I think in all reality he would like that too! and yep on the out and abouts. They really do help relieve the tension. :-D

Hi Deb - yes that it was. heart in the throat, tears in the eyes, and a hole in the stomach. and true too: it is a bounce, it will go away. :-D and thanks - i really didn't know what else I could have done yesterday. So True: he will do what he wants.

Tess!!! You're gonna need alot of rope! I am wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy up there! This is so high I can see all of FL, and CA and at the same time. but don't come up here, OK? Toss me a line and I'll try an catch it. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +4 480, +10 545 - opinion pls

Ouch hope you get some good dose advice Michelle and get this boy down out of the clouds :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +4 480, +10 545 - opinion pls

Michele You know Mannie is the Olympic diver here! Also Mannie does bounce almost every other day..
I dont know the reason for this High, but I can only imagine how it made you feel!
It's why it is happening, I cant figure--How about pm Jill or Sienne, maybe Jess & perhaps they can help with their expertise..Hope you can find the answer--In the meantime-I am sending come down vines & nice number to our Sweet Mannie--We lubs you so much!!Big Hugs! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +4 480, +10 545 - opinion pls

Here, be my guest
images
Somedays it is the only answer. But your hike and DGS probably did you more good. Hang in there (imagine appropriate picture of dangling kitten here)
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +4 480, +10 545 - opinion pls

Hi Michelle,
I am glad no UTI and hope someone can help with a good dose. I wonder if you could pm someone to take a look at Mannie's ss and then advise here.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +4 480, +10 545 - opinion pls

hi Michelle

gonna give this a try, it looks like you usually hold the dose thru the bouncing, and those bounces tend to last a day, couple of cycles, give or take, looking at the past bouncy higher numbers.
I suppose holding the dose or losing the skinny is an option, but then again, I wonder about those nice greens Mannie sees, as you mentioned....so I'm not entirely sure...
umm, I don't think I really helped, just more of an an observation on SS
I've sent a note out to the others to stop by, hopefully by your shot time you'll get more thoughts.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie AMPS "HI", +4 480, +10 545 - opinion pls

Hi Michelle,

Talk about bouncing! :shock: Hope this bounce clears for you soon and good luck with whatever you decide to do with his dose. I'm sure others will be by to advise you.

It's so cute that Mannie helps you to get ready in the morning. :-D

Have a nice night.

jan and sara
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485 - dose/opinion pls

485 @ PMPS. Since I didn't hear back from anyone I went with the regular dose, hoping the bounce will run its course tonight. Thanks to those that gave their input. :-D Guess I will reevaluate where he's at by the end of thr evening.

Hi jan - It's one of his fav things - to help me in the morning, he loves to "supervise". It's fun - he purrs, I pet. and thanks!

Hi Ann - tried the PM, but my 'puter crashed just as I was about to send it. bummer. it took my 30 minutes just to get it up and back to the forum, by then it was shoot time. I think need a new one.... :roll:

Hi ann - thanks!! That would be me - fits this day perfectly.... :lol: :lol: and yep (!!) on the hike and my DGS - always a good thing.

And thanks Ronnie - you are right on out normal procedure - which is what I ended up doing for his pmps. status quo. I hope one of the three will let me know some time tonight what their thoughts are. thanks so much for looking at his SS - appreciated!

Hey Roni - so true. What bothers me so much today is the severity of this bounce. Tried the PM til my puter crashed - so I will try again in a bit. thanks for being you - :-D

Hi Lisa - yep - I'd like him out of the clouds too.

QUESTION - just to bump it up:
Michelle and Mannie said:
I spoke with the vet - the UA came back negative for all infection, so he has cleared the UTI. so.......... looks like we need to adjust his dose. Can you guys pls look at his SS, let me know what you think I should take his too? I know a couple of you have already told me he needs a dosecrease - i would like your opinion on what that should be. THX!

We have had two <50's on this dose. With that in mind my vet thinks I should be giving less. I know too Mannie is in bounce mode today, but I really don't want to leave him in these high of numbers for much longer, bouncing or not.

so.... dosing folks - please - what do you think?
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485 - dose/opinion pls

Michelle, have you thought about trying Levemir? I don't know if it would change anything or not, but Mannie has been on Lantus for a long time and is still bouncing around like crazy, so it seems like it wouldn't hurt to try something else. Just a thought. For a lot of cats Lev's action is smoother.

I would hesitate to increase Mannie's dose until this bounce clears. We know he can get to 40s from here on this dose, so I'm afraid that if you increase the dose at the same time the bounce is clearing anyway, he could really plunge. It looks like he usually only stays red for a cycle or two, so I would see where he ends up tomorrow before deciding what to do.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485 - dose/opinion pls

I am in complete shock over those numbers - I didn't think it was posssible to go from the 500s to that in 3 hrs! :shock: Hope Mannie gets the see saw leveled out a bit here soon for you.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485 - dose/opinion pls

Sorry that I don't have any dosing advice. I hope you're hanging in there okay and can get Mannie under control soon! Just know that if you switch to lev, you have to still hang out here, or we will all come stalk you over in the lev forum until you come back!! :lol: :lol: :lol: What would I do without my morning tale of nanners?!?!?
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337

Oh Michelle, my heart hurts for you, because I know how upset you are. I haven't said anything today, because I can't add anything of value,
I just want you to know I care. Hug.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337

337 @ +2. am I ever grateful to see pink. :roll:

Libby: thanks. I hesitated this AM when I saw the HI read - cuz, yes he can find the 40's at this dose - he's done it twice. I did tonight too - I just wasn't comfortable increasing with such a high bounce running amuck. I just didn't want another plunge like yesterday/last night. so.... held the dose, and we will see where he is at in the morning. Every time I get ready to take him up we have one of these dives and bounces and then I can't. I have got to find a way to get him leveled out again. thanks again - I just needed somebody to reaffirm my line of thinking... I have thought of Lev - just haven't pursued it. Time to think about it maybe - I dunno.

Hi Amanda - thanks for the visit! :-D Mannie is well known for his dives. Sometimes I can control it, other times there just is little I can do to slow it down. AIyee! and thanks - I hope he does too. the +2 is promising. :-D

Hi Christie - thank you! it's been a day of really ugly bonces - yesterday was way too fast of a dive, too steep of a dive and voila: reds and blacks. he'll come out of it soon enough: paws crossed. Have to admit - thought of Lev, just don't know... we've had some really good stuff with lantus - and then we've also had some really ugly stuff- guess i just keep hoping he'll level out and all will be good. We were there once, I hope we can get it back. besides: LL is Mannie's home. :lol: :lol:

Ann - thanks for the bump. :-D
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337

you don't have to leave here if you switch to Lev. There are just as many Lev cats here as Lantus ones most of the time. Maybe even more. Jill and I both use Lev now. So there. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337

yea, Lantus Land loves bouncy kitties just as much! divers are ok too :lol:
come on down Mannie!
have a good nite Michelle!
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337

:lol: :lol: i do love you guys. in all seriousness, I will think about Lev.

Barb - I missed your post. sorry! yeah, i know... it is so not my style to be a bleeding heart, but today (and yesterday too) been one(s) I don't care to repeat anytime soon. They are tough. And thanks - it does mean alot to know that people care. there are so few folks I know outside of the forum that come even close - mention FD and they all look at you like you have a hole in your head followed by that glazed over look. :lol: anyways - thank you!

Libby - :-D :-D I wouldn't dream of leaving. lantus/lev - whichever - this is home. you guys are stuck with me. :lol:

Hey Ronnie - :lol: :lol: Mannie fits the bill on both accounts: bouncy and diving.

and this was so great: i was in the kitchen doing this and that, Mannie walks in, so I started to talk to him - a recap of the days events. asked him if he could just level out some. He sits there - listening, then tilts the head just a little, meows rather loudly, and then walks over and gives me a couple of very strong leg rubs before heading off to the nanners. i'll take that as a yes.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337

Awwwww Michelle, he may not have understood the words, but I'm sure he knew the loving tome in your voice. Sweet boy. :smile: (even if he is a bit posessive with his 'nanner pile) :lol:
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337, +3 288

I'm glad to see he's returning to a lower floor. I do think Lev is worth considering. Ya never know!
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337, +3 288

Hi Michelle, I'm really sorry not to have been here for support today. Not that I could have helped!!! But Rusty wants to help his pal too, and is going to bring the long rope and camp out with Mannie tonight in case a repeat performance is attempted.
Claudia (cjleo) told me that Lev is a better choice for long-term diabetics because it tends to produce more gradual curves (Phoebe had switched Rusty to Lev because thats what Tiggy is on, and I was thinking of switching Rusty back to Lantus when we adopted him, mainly because I had Lantus still from Stu).

Anyway. We're thinking of you guys and trying to puzzle it all out, too

Ni Ni and I hope he
Stays down. Pardon the
Spastic
Typing on this device.

Ella
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337, +3 288

Michelle: I'm so sorry that I haven't been here to support you today either. What can I say....work. Yuck...takes me from the really important things like supporting my dear LL friends. You are amazing. You manage to keep your wonderful, positive attitude no matter what and that is a large part of why Mannie does so well. Love him bumping your legs!! I'm so glad to see him coming down.

Here's just some input....it might not apply to Mannie. As you know, we thought Gus had a UTI; the free catch sample we did was loaded with bacteria but the cystocentesis sample that the vet did was clean as a whistle. However, our vet said that the radiologist has cystoed several cats and gotten pus-filled urine out of the bladder and the C&S came back totally negative....but the U/S showed pyleonephritis. She diagnosed mile pyleonephritis in Gus and he's on baytril for 4-6 weeks. No symptoms whatsoever. Just a thought if you have a good radiologist....it might be worth the 10 minutes it takes to do the U/S.

Hope you have a great night and thanks for being such a great friend to us.
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337, +3 288, +4 177

177 @ +4. I fed this with a little LC, just to slow this down a bit.

Hi marjorie - thanks of the info. His latest sample came back bacteria free, but I will check it out. I have to go back up there anyways. And it won't hurt to ask them. They got the sample, and I don't know what method of collection they used. and no worries on the rest - really. i wish I knew why the bounce was so high - I just don't understand that part... anyways - we will see how it goes for a while and if this severity continues then it may be worth the switch to Lev. :-D : on the leg bumping - it was kinda cute.

Hi Ella - Thanks, and this is what I hear. Maybe it would be a better choice for Mannie? I know I tend to be resistant to change, but I think I may need to rethink this. What a puzzle indeed. well lets see how it goes for a bit there Mannie boy, maybe we will change things for you. and thanks for all!

Thanks Sienne - I will do that. I'd like to try and get him on a more even keel, give it a bit longer, and if the pattern from the past two months continues then I know I will have to do something - for Mannie's well being.

Rusty - thanks dude, I am a little scared that I may head on up again. I'm trying really hard to stay low, ya know... maybe we could order a FD friendly pizza, have a few beer infused niptinis, and hang out some. I gots lots of really nice fleece for our camp-out. thanks buddy! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 3/1 Mannie PMPS 485, +2 337, +3 288, +4 177

do I dare ask if you want to see Mannie's graph...?
 
135 @ +5.5. fed a little more LC to keep him from falling much further.

Hi MJ :lol: :lol: I can only Imagine what it looks like now.... and how difficult was it to put in all that black and red... omg - what a past couple of days... there is a reason that graph is called Mannie's Wild Ride. :cool:

Ni NI all - this bean is toast and needs some serious shut-eye. Mannie - you behave yourself now, OK?
 
Ohhh, Mannie! Not again! I know you want to make your mom happy, but she'd rather see you get there a little more slowly.

See Michelle, her really listens to you.
 
Morning Michelle,
I'm an early bird and catching up on Mannie. Just want to lend my support, and I see Mannie came down last night. Paws and all crossed for a good day. We need to do something fun today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top