3/01 Mike's Buddy PMPS#310 +4 74 +8 164

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
Hello all, well here we are finally up an running around trying to get things ready for work. Doctors appointment and a flat tire did not help matters any but we manged to get an hour nap in. But it blew our time on here to update.

Buddy's BG rised just under 300, we wanted to know if we could raise the dose but we slept in for nap and did not up his SS till about 30 minutes ago. Sorry about that.

We gave the usual 1.25 dose, we tried a new spot to shoot an it seemed better for him. No jumps.
 
Re: 2/28 Mike's Buddy AMPS#287

I'm sorry I didn't get back to you before you shot, Mike. (I'm fighting a mini-flood here, had to go turn on the sump pump before it came in the basement! :shock:) I think holding the dose at 1.25u for now is a good idea, since he is seeing some green numbers. Maybe others will weigh in later on, they may have a different opinion.

Some spots seem to be more sensitive than others for shots with some cats. I can't shoot Tinkles on his right side, he jumps every time!
 
Re: 2/28 Mike's Buddy AMPS#287

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I'm sorry I didn't get back to you before you shot, Mike. (I'm fighting a mini-flood here, had to go turn on the sump pump before it came in the basement! :shock:) I think holding the dose at 1.25u for now is a good idea, since he is seeing some green numbers. Maybe others will weigh in later on, they may have a different opinion.

Some spots seem to be more sensitive than others for shots with some cats. I can't shoot Tinkles on his right side, he jumps every time!

Yes, I made the usual dose.

Thank you! Take care of your flood, been there myself even for Florida! Take care and good luck with your home problem there.

Bless you and your furkids!

Mike
 
Re: 2/28 Mike's Buddy AMPS#287 +1 316

I think this is a food spike, he did eat alot during shot time. Well, off to work in the name of sandwiches for furkids!
 
Re: 2/28 Mike's Buddy AMPS#287 +1 316 +10 352

Home, he was sitting on the kitchen chair and made no attempt to meet me. Though he did purr and reacted to a quick game of swipe at the fingers under the chair so I guess he is OK. I guess he must know the routine that he is not getting dinner for a bit when I get home. I hate it when they change their habits, it always makes me wonder.

+10 is 352. A bounce way up, maybe a slight food spike from what ever was left in the bowl before I go home.
 
Re: 3/01 Mike's Buddy PMPS#310

OK, it is now 310. Shot 1.25u, he seems to be OK. I guess Dad's just being paranoid.

Question: Insulin was opened on 1/30/11. Is it to old now to use? If it is we have a problem, we can't afford it for several weeks.
 
Re: 3/01 Mike's Buddy PMPS#310 ~Question;is the insulin old

I usually get around 60 days out of a cartridge.
The pharmacist told me as long as it's stored properly and not shaken and it stays in the fridge it should be ok.
He also told me to watch for it to look cloudy or get flecks in it, if that happens, throw it out.
I'm no expert on it though, so you might want to wait for more info from someone who's been around longer.
 
His numbers where better threw the night, but there is a rise by 8:30am (EST). I slept late today because we where pretty tired and there was not +10 check. It is 12:30 now so a check before AMPS and new condo at 1:30p
 
Re: 3/01 Mike's Buddy PMPS#310 ~Question;is the insulin old

Noreen&DC&Frisky said:
I usually get around 60 days out of a cartridge.
The pharmacist told me as long as it's stored properly and not shaken and it stays in the fridge it should be ok.
He also told me to watch for it to look cloudy or get flecks in it, if that happens, throw it out.
I'm no expert on it though, so you might want to wait for more info from someone who's been around longer.

We have the 10m vile, but would consider the pens but its a matter of expense for us. Thanks though.
 
This looks better. What do you think folks? Stay at 1.25u for now and see if he sheds better along the way?
 
Hi Mike, nice numbers overnight....just FYI, when you got the 74, I would have gotten another test in an hour to make sure Buddy wasn't dropping even lower. Since he's seeing some nice greens on this dose, I would continue to shoot the 1.25u. You will likely see another bounce from the green last night, but the good news is that he is clearing the bounces quickly. Looking good! :-D

The vials tend to last longer than the pens from what I've seen, many people seem to get at least 2 months from a vial. If you want to switch to pens, you can order from a Canadian pharmacy very reasonably. I just ordered a box of pens for $95 including shipping. It took about 10 days to receive them.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Mike, nice numbers overnight....just FYI, when you got the 74, I would have gotten another test in an hour to make sure Buddy wasn't dropping even lower. Since he's seeing some nice greens on this dose, I would continue to shoot the 1.25u. You will likely see another bounce from the green last night, but the good news is that he is clearing the bounces quickly. Looking good! :-D

The vials tend to last longer than the pens from what I've seen, many people seem to get at least 2 months from a vial. If you want to switch to pens, you can order from a Canadian pharmacy very reasonably. I just ordered a box of pens for $95 including shipping. It took about 10 days to receive them.

You know I was going to do that and I should be kicking myself for not doing it. But when I sat on the bed after checking him I guess we never got that far. It was irresponsible, if he had I would have never forgave myself. My system is starting to lag due to these interruptions in sleep.

For now I pray the 10m vile lasts, we have a negative balance with the back this month. I am trying to figure out a way to get more test strips now and syringes. Since this all started it has put a strain on the finances terribly. Buddy is worth every penny I have to give, it just seemed to happen when things needed a break.

Thanks for the info about the vials. Will stick with the 1.25.

Mike
 
Hi, Mike & Buddy.. nice to see Buddy in Green ;-)
I understand your finances are :YMSIGH:
What kind of meter, strips & syringes do you use?
Dependant upon what you use, etc. this website has discounted diabetic supplies & I do not know if you have visited them before.
Diabetes Supplies
I hope you both have a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top