2/12/11Choco+6 43, +6.25 44,+6.75 39,+7.25 52,+7.75 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

marleesan71

Member Since 2011
I'm a little surprised that Choco's numbers are almost normal at +6. I just gave him fluids to help with his cold and constipation and will check his numbers again in an hour or two. I did check for keytones and the strip is showing no keytones and no glucose.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104

Good Morning: Sometimes fluids can lower bg. Perhaps a +7 check would be good. I noticed on your ss you are shooting 1.50 in the am and 2.00 in the pm. Is there a reason for this. Lantus likes consistency. Good news on no ketones. How is Choco acting? We do a WCR (well cat report) to include the 5 ps and overall attitude and appearance. Have a great Caturday.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco amps 203 +6 104

The reason for changing the dose was because the other morning his BG was 140 and I wasn't sure what to do because I thought with his numbers at that point, 2 units might be too much and push him into being hypo while I was at work. I asked for advice from the board that morning and ended deciding to only give him 1 unit. I just don't want to give him too much if his numbers are lower. Is this harmful and not the way I should be doing it?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104

I realize why you changed the dose the other day. Yesterday and today you shot 1.5 in the morning and 2 in the evening. Lantus like consistency, the doses are shot 12/12 and usually the same dose. Maybe 1.50 am and pm would work. See if you get any other suggestions. Also, if you can attach yesterday's condo to your daily condo that would be helpful. Have you retested since his +6? Is there a reason you didn't post first thing this a.m. I know, it is a lot of information to remember, soon it will be "old hat".
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103

I actually did try and post first thing this morning by just putting the subject information in. It didn't seem to take so I did it again and again, it didn't show up so I thought maybe there was just a glitch in the system at that time and would show up in a bit. I guess if you don't actually write anything in this box, it doesn't take it. I didn't really have anything more to report except his amps so I thought it would be okay just to put that in the subject box until later in the day when I had something to report.

It was suggested to me to attach the previous days condo to my next days condo but I couldn't figure out how to do that. I need to go back through my messages and see where the instructions are. How do you get the smiley faces into your email?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104

Barbara is correct about shooting different doses. You can end up with wonky numbers since the shed is not being kept at a constant level.

However, there is a bigger issue. You have a cat who is ketone prone. You would be better off keeping the insulin at 2.0u (provided that Choco doesn't earn a dose reduction) and giving a higher carb food than lowering the insulin. With a cat that's been in DKA and still throwing ketones, insulin is your friend. It is the big gun that will keep ketones away. This weekend is a good time to experiment with how to use HC to keep Choco's numbers where you need them to be.

To include a link to your previous condo, open the previous day's condo. At the top of your browser is the location -- it begins with "http://". You want to copy that link and then paste it into the current day's condo. It's a simple cut and paste.

And yes, you need to have something in the text box in order to post. Giving a "whole cat report" (WCR) is good. We try to look for the 5 Ps -- purring, peeing, pooping, playing, and preening. Of course, charming anecdotes are always welcome! It's a way of our getting to know each other's cats because they are more than just their numbers.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104

Between the last couple of posts and a message from Jennifer, I think I have figured out why Choco's BG reading was so low at +6 and +7. I just want to make things a little clearer to me. What I'm hearing is, I should not be adjusting his dose unless he earns a dose reduction because he is prone to keytones and he needs the insulin so that he doesn't encounter his keytone problem again. I just want to be VERY CLEAR in that if in fact I have a amps or pmps that is low like the other morning (140) I should still be giving him the 2 units. A light bulb went off when Sienne said instead of lowering the insulin, give him a higher carb wet food. In Jennifers email she told me that a higher carb wet food would be one with gravy. You all know how I have been trying different foods to help Choco eat on his own and today for breakfast, I did give him 9 lives chicken which did have more juice than any of the other wet foods I've been giving him. This must be why his numbers fell like they did. So in a nutshell, here are my thoughts but I do need feedback. DO always shoot 2 units no matter what his numbers (although I'm sure there is a number where it wouldn't be safe due to hypo) are but if his numbers are lower, give him a high carb wet food instead of the low carb wet food. By doing this, he will be getting the insulin he needs to prevent the keytones from returning. Am I getting it?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36496
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +11 99

I just took his bg and it is only at 99. It is an hour before I'm supposed to give him is pmps and now I am worried because I thought that a normal bg is between 70-100.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104

Maria, you can note on your spreadsheet what type of food you fed, it may help with interupting numbers.

I sent Maria the link the Lantus Land lingo from the old board because Sienne mentioned HC and earned dose reduction, I wanted to make sure that she had that information, but please, if you can better define HC, MC and LC for her that would be great. If there's any new slang that hasn't been added to that list, hopefully all of you can help Maria out by letting her know the terms :)
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 99

I need some advice because I am supposed to give Choco his shot within the next half hour but his last bg reading was 99. I don't know what to do.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104

Maria: Do not shoot. Retest in 1/2 hour. Do not feed Choco. We do not want to see a food spike. See what the next number is and post it. When you post, since you got a +7, you would post that as follows: RE 2/12/11 Choco amps 203; +6 104; +7 99. If you edit your 1st post and put the numbers there they can be seen. Your ss is not normally checked everytime you post. Posting in the above manner lets everyone see what is happening.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104

will you be home tonight to monitor? Do you have lots of test strips and some high carb wet food on hand? Something like the Fancy Feast or Friskies grilled varieties with gravy are usually good. They are usually 15-18% carbs. You don't need to give that food right now, but I just want to see if you have any in the house in case we need to steer the numbers later.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104

I will be home all night. The only food I have is Fancy Feast/Classic, 9 Lives Supper Supper, Ocean Whitefish Dinner and Chicken Dinner. The Chicken Dinner is what I gave him this morning.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104

Is there anyone else at home with you that could pick up some HC cat food?

If not, do you have Karo syrup, maple syrup, or honey in the house?

What about test strips? How many do you have on hand?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 pmps 99

I have Karo syrup and I have plenty of test strips. I do not have anybody that can run out for me. What kind of wet food is HC? He just tested at 99 again.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

High carb (HC) is a type of food that has gravy (e.g., Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lover's varieties). We use HC food to steer the numbers. You should have several cans on hand at all times. Typically, the carb count is above 16%.

Could you please take the 911 off of the other condo you started?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

if he starts to run low and we need to help him get the numbers up, you can just add a drop or two of the karo syrup to his regular food to bring up the carb level. We can work with that. :smile:

How long are you able to stall tonight and still shoot at +12 after that in the morning? He isn't dropping anymore and will probably head upward soon, but since you haven't shot green before I would rather see him just a teeny bit higher before shooting this time. Another 15 minutes?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

I have tried taking the 911 off about five times now and I've even tried deleting the whole post by going into the edit option but it's not working. How can I do this?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

I will test him again at 6:45. I will be here all day tomorrow as well (except for a couple hours where I have to go and do my voluneteer work cleaning the kitty cages at Petsmart). If he is still at 99, what should I do?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

is 6:45 about +13? If so, unless he's much lower than 99 he should be shootable, as long as you can monitor tonight.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

NICE SHOOTING!!

on your other post, click edit on the first post, and where it says Post icon, choose None.

it's a lot to learn at first, isnt it? you're doing great!

celi & binks
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

Libby, 7:15 will be +13. Should I just wait until then? If he is still at 99 or very close to it you are saying to shoot him with 2 units right? How often should I check him after that. Also, should I feed him this 9 lives that has the gravy in it? I don't see on the can where it says anything about carbs.

Celi, I've tried choosing none but I will go back and try again. Thanks! :O)
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

Okay Celi, it worked! I swear to you I tried that but.....

Libby, I may have said the wrong thing earlier. The normal time I check Choco's bg is at 6:00am and 6:00pm. I feed him and usually by 6:15-6:20 I will have given him his shot. So tonight, I plan to check his bg again at 7:00 and if you are saying it's alright to shoot him will shoot him after he eat around 7:15. Just wanted to make sure I was being clear on what I was saying. Does this sound good even if he's still at 99?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

Is this Monday the Monday you have the day off?
I'm just asking because I think I remember that you are on a tight time schedule as far as shooting at 12/12.
If you have Monday off, then we have two days, to get his shots back on schedule. Sorry, if I'm wrong :roll: I'm just a schedule freak, because I'm on a tight schedule, myself.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

get the number and let's see where he is. I'm thinking that since you have been shooting 1.5 units in the AM and 2 units in the PM, that I would go with 1.75 and see if that lets you shoot the same dose twice a day. How does that sound? Usually they do soooooo much better with consistent dosing.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

Hi Dyana, yes this is the Monday I have off. I am supposed to go to a Dr. appt 2:15 and because my doctor is an hour away, I will be gone for a few hours.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

marleesan71 said:
Hi Dyana, yes this is the Monday I have off. I am supposed to go to a Dr. appt 2:15 and because my doctor is an hour away, I will be gone for a few hours.
Good, that's gives you more room to stall the shot.
How far is the grocery store away? Maybe, if it's only a few minutes, you could run out and get some HC right after PMPS.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99

marleesan71 said:
..... Also, should I feed him this 9 lives that has the gravy in it? I don't see on the can where it says anything about carbs......

hey hi!
just butting in here for a moment...when you have free time, this is the link to the food charts and the carb %...you won't find this info on the can labels, this is what we refer to when comparing carbs.

Janet & Binky's Food Chart Carb Listing
scroll down to 9-Lives, the 3rd column is the carb number...anything typically grilled, flaked, marinated etc...is a higher carb. Check the cans you have, grab a marker and label them LC, MC, HC (low carb under 12-10 %, medium carb, high carb usually over 15-ish % give or take...up into the 20's it's really high carb)
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99 +13

Hi Dyana, I don't live too far from a store so I could run and grab something. Thanks for reminding me Ronnie and Luna. I was sent this list and didn't think to check on it. I will check on it and see what it says. :O)
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99 +13

So, I guess you shot? that 111, with 1.75? Just asking.. If not, I think it's safe to do so, since you are prepared, and it is a rising number. But you can wait for others to chime in.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99 +13

He's actually in there eating and I am getting ready to go in and shoot him. It's kind of difficult getting the insulin in between the 1.50 and 2.00 but I think I got it. Oh yeah, I decided on giving him the Fancy Feast low carb for dinner.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99 +13

do I see a 111? If so, SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!! Then get a +1 and +2, please.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99 +13

Oooooh my gosh Libby, you just made my heart drop. As I was reading your post, and it said SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT, for a split second I thought it said don't shoot and I had just shot him!! Phfeeeeewwwww.... I did my best to draw 1.75 but I gotta tell ya, it is kind of difficult getting in between those two lines. He's eatin, gotten his shot and is now resting on the bed. I ended up poking my own finger with his needle when I put the cap back on. It poked through the side and into my finger. ;O/

I looked on Binky's chart and this 9 Lives Shredded wih real turkey in gravy has 18 carbs so I guess this will be a good high carb food.

So now that I didn't shoot until +13, what time will I check his bg and shoot in the am? I know many people may not be up so early on a Sunday so is there a certain number where I should never shoot him? Also, I am going to stick with 1.75 no matter right?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99 +13

if he's high enough in the morning, you may be able to shoot at +11.5. If you're thinking of doing that, it's a good idea to test at +11 and again at +11.5 just to see if he is rising and how fast. If he's going up, then it's usually fine to shoot at +11.5. If you're in doubt, post and someone should be able to help. That will help move your schedule back to where you want it.

Yes, stick with 1.75 units AM and PM for now.

And yes, 18% is a good high carb food. If he starts to drop low and you need to regain control of the numbers, a tsp. or two of that gravy will bump him right back up to a more comfortable range. Most cats love it and it tends to give less of a spike than karo.

There really isn't a "no-shoot" number, especially with a cat that was so recently in DKA. He needs insulin. Tonight's data will show us what happens after a stalled shot and will show us how quickly his numbers rise after PS. That data will help you determine how low you can safely shoot in the future. We saw tonight that he turned around and headed upward at +13. Now we will see how many hours it takes before the Lantus kicks in.

See you at +1!
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99 +13

I'll be up in the morning for your +11 and +11.5. You won't be alone.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco ampb 203 +6 104 +7 103 +11 99 pmps 99 +13

Okay, see y'all then! Going to watch Must Love Cats on Animal Planet (thanks Barbara)!
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +12 99, PMPS 111, +1 113

If the 113 is 1 hour after the shot, then we would write PMPS 111, +1 113 (+14 would be 14 hours after that shot).
That's a nice surf so far. Please get a +2 and post the number, k?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +7 103 +11 99 +12 99 PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81

Can you go back and edit your subject line to read the way Dyana suggested.

When you see a +2 that's lower than your PMPS, it means it is likely to be a busy cycle. I would get a +2.5
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +7 103 +11 99 +12 99 PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81

I will get a 2.5. I changed it. Did I do it right?
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +7 103 +11 99 +12 99 PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81

Okay, now I'm getting worried. He just tested +2.5 66.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +11 99 +12 99 PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 6

I would feed him a couple of bites of his low carb food with a little dab of the Friskies gravy on it. Then test in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +11 99 +12 99 PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 6

Okay Libby, I gave him a couple of bites with a little gravy and will test again at 10:30.
 
Re: 2/12/11 Choco +12 99 PMPS 111 +1 113 +2 81 +2.5 66 +3 50

looks like you'll have to rinse, lather and repeat.
a little HC food (about a tsp) and a retest for around +3.5
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top