2/9 Rocket PMPS 241 +2 232 +5.5 239

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
morning all,
i'm tired really tired...but managed to sleep some...i just wished i had a full 3 hr straight sleep....but oh well....such is life

he got pretty restless at around 2:30 am....i fed him a couple of times thru the night...some successful other times not so much but managed to get enough food in him...

AMPS 221 so i gave the 0.25u...i am sure it was that much...it was less than 0.5 u for sure...those microdoses are hard....he ate his breffis and let's hope it's good from here...mild tremors....

will report in 1 hr...

thinking of Cheryl and Whiskers, Ele and Blackie, Christie and Willie.....praying for them all and if i have missed anyone that is having a hard time please forgive me...i have not been to any condos...but i'm praying for everyone at LL and their kitties....

yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36251
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221

Good morning guys ... I hope that rocket and you both have a good day today ... continuing positive thoughts for you guys ...
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221

Hi Claudia & Rocket,
it's good to read that you both had a somewhat better night. We are thinking good thoughts that today will be a better day, too. Sending more healing vines!

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221

I'm glad we figured out the dose issue last night and you were ready to shoot this morning. I hope the pred does some good stuff. And you need to take care of yourself as well as you're taking care of Rocket.
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221

(((Claudia))) Please try to get some rest. You really need to take good care of yourself too.
Sending positive thoughts for Rocket.
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221 +2 185

+2 185 gave fluids and he had lots of chicken dusts....no interest in food though...

shortly here he will get the bupe and pred....so i don't think i will test as often this morning...will let him sleep off the meds....and while he sleeps i'll grab a nap too...

i hope the meds are working...
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221 +2 185

Good idea...let him rest and you can rest. Paws crossed that the pred will kick in soon and up his appetite. You are doing great....just try to get some time for some rest if you can; I know it is very difficult but we are all as worried about you as we are about Rocket.
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221 +2 185

I'm glad Rocket ate during the night. I hear you on the sleep. I get up every 2 hours to test and/or feed Blackie, but luckily I can go right back to sleep. That +2 looks like a good safe drop. I saw in Roni & Moonie's condo the other day that she crushes a couple of temptations and puts it on top of Moonie's food when she won't eat. I haven't tried it yet, but it seemed like a good trick.

You and Rocket are in my prayers too. I really hope you see some good improvement real soon. I hope you get a good nap too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221 +2 185 +4 144

thank you guys....

+4 144 trying to feed him a lil bit...(i have tried the temptations in the past and it's a hit and miss unless he eats only the temptations......but thanks for the info)

back to bed if possible...
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221 +2 185 +4 144 +6 153

+6 153....heading up

so i won't test further until pmps....and i will still shoot 0.25u though his numbers really shock me as i''m not used to seeing them this high....but i will relax and not put too much thought into it as i know with all that's going on he is not too bad...from the one yellow to blue....i will take whatever he gives me...it just makes my heart pump faster seeing those numbers....
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221 +2 185 +4 144 +6 153

Glad Rocket's meds are in place, his BG is in a decent place, and he is resting. Now it's you're turn! Hang in there...
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket AMPS 221 +2 185 +4 144 +6 153

I'm glad you got a little sleep but more than 3 hours of uninterrupted sleep is what you need (easier said than done). I'm glad Rocket is resting a little and I hope his appetite comes back with the help of the pred. Continued prayers, healing thoughts, and restful sleep
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241-dose question

i know the dose needs to stay put for 4 cycles....can that be the case for Rocket? or do we up the dose to 0.5u for tomorrow amps?

he ate a little bit at shot time....

PMPS 241.....shocking...not used to these numbers for sure...and i know it's the pred
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241-dose question

((((Claudia)))) yes, it is surely the pred raising his numbers, but the pred will hopefully do enough good things for Rocket that it will be worth it. You're doing the right things for Rocket.
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241-dose question

Karrie and Maverick said:
So do you hold the dose then? Is it a rule always four cycles?
i don't know...with him being under special circumstances i don't know what to do for tomorrow morning...and yes i know it's the Pred but Libby do i raise the dose tomorrow am to 0.5u or leave it for now?

i'm just not used seeing those high numbers....and i'm concerned...that's all
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241-dose question

his numbers aren't bad, even though they are higher than you're used to. I would hold it for at least 4 cycles, probably 6, before increasing. Give him a chance to fill his shed. Test for ketones if you get a chance, just to be extra safe.
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241-dose question

I want to run this past a few others, but given that Rocket hasn't had any insulin for 17 days, he has no shed. You may need to hold the dose for 5 days in order for a shed to form.
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241-dose question

Libby and Lucy said:
his numbers aren't bad, even though they are higher than you're used to. I would hold it for at least 4 cycles, probably 6, before increasing. Give him a chance to fill his shed. Test for ketones if you get a chance, just to be extra safe.
ok...thank you Libby...it just concerning those numbers as you said...i'm not used to them...usually he responds right away (see both SS) but i know it's the pred....and his appetite not so great either...plus the bupe....

i will keep it as is then...and i will test for ketones...
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241-dose question

Sienne and Gabby said:
I want to run this past a few others, but given that Rocket hasn't had any insulin for 17 days, he has no shed. You may need to hold the dose for 5 days in order for a shed to form.
ok Sienne please do....i just want to do what's best for him...
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241 +2 232-dose question

+2 232

in half hr he is due to get the pred....so he'll be going up again...

so how often should i still test him?
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241 +2 232-dose question

no advice on the testing timetable...but it seems to me things are looking up for you guys...

still holding you both in our hearts and prayers!
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241 +2 232-dose question

Claudia --

Would you be comfortable playing the dose issue by ear? For now, let's plan on at least 6 cycles at this dose. Neither Jill nor I think it's prudent to rush shed building but we don't want to let Rocket sit in high numbers either. I want you to have enough time to be able to observe how the pred is working and how that is going to need to factor in to your Lantus dose. This is all new territory for Rocket so let's take it one step at a time, kwim?
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241 +2 232-dose question

ok Sienne
i will let it stay at this dose for 6 cycles...yes my fear is that his numbers are going up as each shot time goes by...

so since he is going up or not coming down much...then how often should i still test him...it is still upsetting to him to do this...for whatever reason (well the other issues he has obviously)....yesterday he was out of the tub most of the day...as of today he is back in there each time i test him...and that's no way to live...and yes i know the pred needs to kick in as well...i just don't want him to get traumatized each time he sees me...as i get the doubt look from him...
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241 +2 232-dose question

hi claudia. i would just get a before bed spot check tonight. rocket is on a very small dose and so far, he's not taking a nose dive.
(((hugs)))
 
Re: 2/9 Rocket PMPS 241 +2 232-dose question

Jill & Alex said:
hi claudia. i would just get a before bed spot check tonight. rocket is on a very small dose and so far, he's not taking a nose dive.
(((hugs)))
thank you Jill.....much appreciated...and i'm still hopeful the treatment will give him QOL...and maybe perhaps the vets have made a mistake...i know the latter is a long shot...but i do hope he gets better...
 
+5.5 239
the numbers are shocking....really not used to them...and i know it's the pred...but this is upsetting...BG getting worse by the minute it seems....

will try to get some sleep...

in 1 hr it's bupe time for him....

night everyone...keep us in your prayers...we need them for sure...
 
Dear Claudia,

Thank you for thinking of us. I keep you and Rocket and DH too in my thoughts and prayers.
I don't get much time for condo reading now either, constantly on the run. I really have a lot of hope for the pred. for your dear Rocket. Just hang in there. Those BG's had been Whiskers norm for so long, I'm like really, But I know it is not the norm for you. I see some cats on the Cushings board in the 500's Yikes.
Try to get some sleep. I'm in bed now ready for nite nite, and it feels so good. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top