02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 PMPS 236 bad news adrenal tumor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheryl & Whiskers (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good Morning,

Whiskers is going back to the U of M to recheck her electrolyte leveles and have and abdominal ultrasound. I'm hoping it all goes well.

Have a nice day.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 Going to the U of M this mornin

Good luck - check out yesterdays condo too before you head out. I'll be watching for updates and wishing it goes well.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 Going to the U of M this mornin

As you probably know, Whiskers is going to one of the best places possible - the U of M.

Thinking of you and sending best wishes and positive thoughts from a fellow Twin Citian,
Judy
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 Going to the U of M this mornin

Hope everything goes well at the U today.

I'm in Eagan, Minnesota too! I've never known other members that lived nearby.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 Going to the U of M this mornin

We're back and we did not get good news. The IM vet found an adreanal tumor next to the kidney. The only way to determine it is benign or malignant is thru a biopsy, and if that is done the whole tumor should be removed. The surgery is risky. We recieved the quality of life talk. Not sure very upsetting. I wonder where God is? First my sister now this.

Sorry I'm pretty upset. I'm at work so I have to be brief. Her ears are still infected with bacteria, so we are to continue the mometomax for 7 more days. The electolyte blood work won't be back until tomorrow.

The tumor may have actually caused her diabetes, she may have had the tumor for a while. The tumor can cause insulin resistance. We will be increasing her insulin, the vet and I will discuss that tomorrow. The vet said adrenal tumors in cats are rare and as experianced as he his, he said he will have to research and will provide more infomation tomorrow. They only see 3 or 4 cases a year of adrenal tumor a year at the U.

can't think clearly now and am needed at work so I need to go pull myself together. So upsetting. I'll post again later....

Here is the link to our original post, which has our story. I had not posted it at lantus because it was just to difficult. But you may as well know.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=31610
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

oh Cheryl,
i'm so so sorry...i can't even type how i feel....i'm thinking of you both and praying too....

God is there...it's tough feeling HIS presence in times like this...but HE is there...and it's OK to question HIM...
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

:YMHUG: (((Cheryll))) (((Whiskers)))
Bless both your hearts, I am so very sorry to hear this :YMSIGH:
Prayers are with you & Whiskers.. I believe in God & I know he is there, sometimes we just don't understand when we are going through it. If I can do anything, please let me know.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

Oh, Cheryl, I'm so sorry. I hope the visit with the vets tomorrow gives you some clarity on where to go from here. Know that we are here supporting you.

((hug))
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

Cheryl, I don't know what to say. My heart aches for you getting that news today. I am grateful that you have answers. I wish love was enough, all of the kitties here would be so healthy. You have such a big heart and have had some bad cards dealt. The animals in your life though have all the love they could have ever asked for.

I wish I could offer you advice and a real hug. I'm keeping you and whiskers in my thoughts.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

(((((Cheryl)))))

I think God appointed you and your husband to be angels, and you have been doing a wonderful job.

Your LL family is sending you healing thoughts and support as you support Whiskers. Many hugs.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

(((Cheryl)))

I am so sorry for this news and am sending thoughts and prayers. It is so difficult to understand why these things happen
to our beloved pets. You have given Whiskers an amazing gift in the time you have had her. She has know compassionate
and loving care. You saved her life many times over. Yes, you will have some tough decisions ahead but I know you will
make them all with love in your heart, compassion for Whiskers, and with the support of all of us in LL. Sending you, Whiskers, and your family comfort and peace vines.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

My heart goes out to you and Whiskers and I will definitely keep you all in my prayers...
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

I'm very sorry to read the news about Whiskers and I'm especially sorry for all you have gone through in the loss of your sister. We will never know why we have to go through so much pain and loss in our lives. But it is the love in our lives that helps us carry on. I will be sending prayers for Whiskers and you and your family. I hope you can find a treatment that will give her a good quality of life.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

Cheryl, you have been dealt a difficult hand, but you have also been given amazing strength to persevere. I know that you will continue to care for Whiskers in your loving manner, and I hope that her prognosis will improve. All of us here in LL support you completely. Many prayers and positive thoughts are coming your way tonight.

Many hugs to you, your DH, Whiskers and the other furkids,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

Thoughts are with you. It is always darkest just before the dawn - so I hope things will clear for you and you will see the way forward.
The support that you get here is quite something to be reckoned with... I wish you continued strength and hope.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

(((Cheryl))) The universe has dealt you more than your share of cruelty and unfairness. My heart breaks for you. You have honored your sister's memory with the care you have been giving Whiskers. You are an inspiration to all of us here on the Board. I know how sad this is for you, but Whiskers does not measure the quality of her life by the number of days that she has. She just knows that she wakes every morning and is loved. I will pray that the vet has some optimism about surgery or treatment, and that you will be blessed with the strength to get through this.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

Cheryl, I'm so sorry to hear about Whiskers and hope you can find comfort in knowing that you have given Whiskers so much love and care, even when you were grieving the loss of your sister. You have been through more than any of us can imagine and I just don't know why such tragic things happen to caring, wonderful people like yourself. It is definitely hard to feel God's love when you are grief-striken, but God's love can be seen through the support you receive from everyone here, from the love of your family and friends and the love of all your furry babies that you have rescued. Sending you prayers and healing thoughts and I hope the love that everyone is sending out to you surrounds you and holds you close.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

Thank you everyone,

thank you for your support. I just don't know what to feel. It is so overwhelming. I had convinced myself that the ultrasound was just a precaution, I really didn't think it would be news like this. And now I'm sort of in denial...it could be benign, but in my heart I am preparing for the worst. I just can't imagine things getting much worse, but I suppose they will....it's just so upsetting..scary @-) . There is more, but I just don't want to go into it until the vet gives us an update tomorrow, as it is just speculation at this point. Prayers for us please would be really nice.

I just wish I could go home and we could get into bed. Still at work. Such a long day....
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

You all the prayers I can muster. I am so very sorry - I hope that the tumor is benign. You are in our thoughts. I could not agree more with the others who have said that you truly are an inspiration to us all - what you have endured in the past is too much to fathom. HUGS to all.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

I'm thinking of you and Whiskers. I'm also hoping you're now at home and can climb into bed with Whiskers and you both get some good cuddle time.
 
Re: 02/03 Whiskers AMPS 260 We're back bad news

Cheryl,
I am so very sorry for all you've been through, and now this. Try to keep faith and stay strong. We're here for you!

Love and hugs to you both,

Sandy and Tessie Lou
 
Home from work now. Sadly now Whiskers BG's continue to come down, she hasn't been over 300 for the last 4 1/2 days, yet the other problems now come to the front. All the pets have been fed and have meds. Miss Witty seems happy. She is such a sweet cat....I am tired now. She has been sleeping on the bed with us this week, so that is comforting for me anyway.

Thank you for your prayers.

Good night.
 
(((cheryl)))
i'm sorry to hear this latest news. am sending positive thoughts and prayers.
please be cautious and vigilant with testing when implementing the dose increase suggested by your vet since you have no idea how low the current dose is taking him...
 
Prayers and healing vines to you Whiskers & your whole family! You are a brave, kind wonderful person to do this and I am praying the tumor is benign..
I never knew what the right stuff really was till I read that story--Praying for a happy change in Whiskers! Big Healing Hugs!!
 
Hi Jill & Roni,

We won't increase Miss Witty's dose until we do another curve this weekend. Thank you for your kindness.

And Thank you to you all for all you support and help. cat_pet_icon
 
Cheryl and Whiskers.....always keeping you close to my prayers...we are on the same predicament...even though it's different diagnosis...i do understand where you are coming from....though not to the extend of what you have been through....

good night and a big hug to Whiskers from me....
 
Got up and went to the kitchen. Miss Witty was there crying for food as usual (I'm grateful she has a robust appetite still). Gave her some snacks and she seemed to have it stuck in her throat, choking a bit. I started to panick thinking the worst. I gave her some raw food 1 oz. To help wash down the stuck freeze dried chicken snack. She gobbled up the food and seems to be ok now. So I guess it worked. Oh good grief, I suppose I'm going to panick over the slightest thing now. ohmygod_smile .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top