1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323 pmps 343 f.s.!

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35178

Tom hit a record high last night after10 cycles on 1u...shot 1.25u last night and woke up to 458. Starting to wonder if something is wrong with the insulin...does'nt exp. until 5/12.
I heading right in the same direction I did when he was on pz just the slow steady climb uppppp.
he's on his last day of ab's...
and dian, he had'nt received his first new dose last night when he hit 400.
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 ??????

Hi guys .. no advice here .. I just hope tom comes down for you today .. it's hard seeing the kitties so high ...
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 ??????

Actually Devon before we came here 3 weeks ago he was lingering in 5 and 600's on pz. and yes i am very worried.
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 ??????

Hi, Lori.. thinking of you & Tom Tom.. no advice from me, but am following your condo & bumping you ;-)
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 ??????

Looks like Tom is setting some resistance.

His metabolism was used to the up and down cycles. Now, all of a sudden he has this shed of insulin consistently in his system. His liver is having a bit of a rebellion, because it doesn't know quite what to do...so it is just pumping out extra glucose & hormones. So, it is off to Liver Training School.

This could take a few days to clear before we know how the dose is working. This is the part I find the most frustrating!

But believe it or not...it is normal.

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations. http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 ??????

Good luck! Tess always has a hard time w/ New Dose Wonkiness (NDW). If I up her dose she always has at least 3 days of awful numbers. I feeling right there w/ you, changing insulins is a b(‡@h! Tess is having the opposite problem though.
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 ??????

Important note: his 400 last nite was prior to dose increase. he got his dose increase after that as pre-planned. so actually his numbers started rising after several rounds with 1u.
does the mere suggestion of a dosecreas make numbers wonkie? :lol:
yes and waiting eagerly now for his +3...or maybe his +4. not holding my breath for anything as i know his drops are slow as molasses.
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 ??????

ann i love the pic of tess....looks likes she's holding on for dear life
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 ??????

Dian we started 3 weeks ago with 1U of lev.
we are still on lev.
his dose increase last nite was his pmps after the 400 reading.
so in effect...the 400 was not due to NDW.
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358

maybe not the 400 but the next few may be. will take 3 days to settle in sometimes more. patience grasshopper :-D
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 ??????

Lori, i was looking at the 458 when I mentioned NDW, not the 400 last night. It just takes some cats a while to adjust. That's why I always held out for as long as possible before increasing. I knew Tess took a long time to get over the NDW and I'd be in for another round of it if I increased again. You've just got to give this time to shake itself out. There may need to be more increases, but this is a waiting game. And that is the hardest part! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318

OH MY! the ship is turning the ship is turning!!!!
now will it keep on turning soooo far that i won't know what to do tonight???? nadir is still 3 hours away.
so unaccustomed to any action am i...
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318

no anne now i'm afraid if it gets much lower i won't know how to shoot tonight???? how do you get lower and still shoot same dose?
i iz soooo confuzed. will i be shooting that same 1.25 into like a 200 something as it looks likely we're gonna get there.
HELP
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318

Hopefully the dosing advisers will be along to help you, as I'm no expert, and I don't know how much data you have, but normally, once you have the data, you would shoot the same dose into a 200, yes. It'll take some getting used to, but you'll get there!
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318

lori and tom said:
no anne now i'm afraid if it gets much lower i won't know how to shoot tonight???? how do you get lower and still shoot same dose?
i iz soooo confuzed. will i be shooting that same 1.25 into like a 200 something as it looks likely we're gonna get there.
HELP

Remember how worried you were about his drops at the mention of "food?" And we kept telling you to just shoot and it would flatten out at the shed fully developed.

Same idea this evening if he throws you a 200. He is setting up some resistance and you need to shoot through still. Eventually he will hit a ceiling, it took Attie 20 cycles at 3.5u.

Someone on the board is able to graph out the numbers and it shows how they literally down shift at the right dose. It is pretty cool to see when it all works right.

Tom is looking great actually. No drama drops etc. like some of us. Very promising. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344

+6 is in and now we are doing an "about face"
so much for that +7 nadir,
altho' he had been known to double dip. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344

and when you know when that dip happens, you can shoot through that also. and remember, you can always use food to slow the drop (cause I have not seen a steep drop with food now). unless I am missing it. also, for ex., a 1.25U dose at 6oo will give you a faster harder drop than a 1.25u dose at 200. the higher the number, the bigger the drop. the lower the number the less of a drop. but ECID ya know
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323

double dippin. and i think i'm :-D
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323

Great day! See Grasshopper...good things come to those who wait. "It's a marathon, not a sprint" ;-) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323 pmps 343 f

it is????? it's a marathon...and...not...a sprint? but i signed up for the sprint marjorie :lol:

DAMN! pretty darn sure tom got his first ever fur shot...so p.o.'d the smell was there, even a little wet fur.
SOOOOOOO mad at myself, but honestly cannot tell you how or why it happpened. i think the needles are too short.
so this might really set us back :evil:
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323 pmps 343 f

I need handcuffs cause I REALLY want to shoot him again...I am 90% sure he got a fur shot.
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323 pmps 343 f

Hi Lori: my Leo is right about where Tom is, although we're new to this FD thing and you're not. It's been all red and pink all the time since we started and I've been getting frustrated. Tonight we were just starting to show some better numbers when I shot fur too for the first time. There's no mistaking that smell, and it doesn't wash off all that well either. :evil:

I wouldn't reshoot because there's no way to tell how much went in. I think Leo flinched when I started to depress the plunger and it was just enough that some of it landed on fur, but how much is anybody's guess. I know I was in straight when I started to shoot, but it didn't end up that way.

Do you remember if Tom flinched, or is he a strong silent Clint Eastwood type about pokes? Leo quacks sometimes, not when the needle goes in, but when the Lantus starts to go in. I believe the stories about it stinging are correct.
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323 pmps 343 f

thanks Lacie for being in the same boat with me and tom.
i'm a newbie too cause i'm only 3 weeks into this Levemir and it's soooo different.
tom DOES NOT flinch---ever! very clint eastwood, altho' he does say 'ouw' with the pokey.
i have no idea what happened but i do know what i smelled and saw.
i don't even want to test him at +3 cuase i'm thinking if he's going up i'll REALLY want to shoot him.
best to just wait till morning and face the music right?
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323 pmps 343 f

lori and tom said:
it is????? it's a marathon...and...not...a sprint? but i signed up for the sprint marjorie :lol:

DAMN! pretty darn sure tom got his first ever fur shot...so p.o.'d the smell was there, even a little wet fur.
SOOOOOOO mad at myself, but honestly cannot tell you how or why it happpened. i think the needles are too short.
so this might really set us back :evil:

Had the same problem today too! She made it through and I'm pretty sure did a good job tonight. I totally sympathize with u on this one! I was really upset with myself this morning too!!!
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323 pmps 343 f

Don't worry, Lori, we've all been there. No fur shot for me, but overslept our shot time by an hour yesterday morning. It comes with the territory. Things will all work themselves out, they will.

Tom looks to have had a nice downward surf today. You'll get back to that I'm sure. I know how scary it is to shoot lower numbers... we shot a 100 (70 on a human meter) like our second week in... thought I was about to lose my mind!! You will get the data, and in a short time, you'll be prepared to deal with this stuff, and it will be less of a big deal.

Might not hurt to get a couple numbers tonight if you're awake... will be frustrating, but might be good to see how Tom reacts to a fur shot.

Hang in there!
 
Re: 1/25 TOM amps 458 +3 358 +4 318 +6 344 +8 323 pmps 343 f

lori and tom said:
I need handcuffs cause I REALLY want to shoot him again...I am 90% sure he got a fur shot.

So sorry Lori that you had a fur shot. We've all done it! I did it once with Atlas too. Man talk about handcuffs as he was getting over 3u at the time! Wet fur, wet hand to the touch, smell...want to reshoot....and can't.

Helpless?

Well, not entirely. While furshots do drain the shed a bit, they still have insulin available to them. So unlike a regular insulin with shorter duration the BG rise won't be as strong and they are not really going without insulin entirely. During regulation, it is frustrating as you may see the effect of the shed drainage in the next cycle or two. Advantage is the shed won't be entirely drained in one 12 hr. cycle.

I actually felt less bad once I realized they would tap the shed for insulin. Kind of neat.

To that end, Absorption curves with Lantus in humans may be helpful to calculating carryover and overlap in cats. Absorption studies in humans[15]indicate that 24 hours after being injected, approximately 50% of the Lantus dose remained at the injection site; after 48 hours, the amount was about 20%. Cats seem to absorb and use Lantus about twice as fast as humans. http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Lantus

While no studies have ever been done in cats, it can be inferred that potentially 12 hours after injecting, approximately 50% of the Lantus dose remained at the injection site; after 24 hours, the amount would be 20%.

Kind of neat! With a fur shot...you never know just how much was actually delivered.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top