1/23 TOM amps 447 +6.6.5 310 +9 328 pmps 321

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35043

Huh? why??????
and please note this is Lev not Lantus (altho I'm not sure that makes any difference whatsoever) but some folks mentioned yesterday about since I'm on Lantus I have to.....
I'm doing my best to keep that 12/12 and it seems doable with that the exception of Fri. and changing it ever so slowly back would then run into problems on different days of the week.
I'm gonna try not to worry about that right now and focus on TWC report as a possible explanation for this # wonkiness.
he's feelin good, his bm's are a bit rock like after a couple of days of the opposite :lol: and that may be the ab's upsetting his system. gum infection. he's doing all his p's. all of them.
and lest we forget why the pattern we dealt with for oh so long of the high am's...i have my theories which i can post again for anyone who does'nt know...if it's what some here say "rebound"...then why does it NEVER happen during the ever so flat and predictable daytime?
 
Re: 1/23 TOM amps 447

dunno really, unless it was the early then late shot. now we have to rebuild shed a little. price ya pay when **** happens. I do it all the time and have to play ketchup :lol:
that is life and ya gotta work with what you have. let's see if he settles back in before any decisions made or if someone smarter than me comes along
 
Re: 1/23 TOM amps 447

I don't know if you saw what Laurie and I posted to your condo from yesterday. I do think you're going to need to weigh how you are currently handling your Friday shot schedule vs. changing how you're approaching shot time. I do think you will continue to see some wonky numbers if you shoot early then late. Lev (and Lantus) like consistency and when you deviate from that consistency, the numbers will reflect it.
 
Re: 1/23 TOM amps 447

two thoughts:

1. Yes, the higher number this morning could be related to the schedule changes. Changes that affect the shed can affect the numbers for 2-3 days. If that's what the schedule is, then just know to expect a bit of this every week. Some people have to do this (Dyana/J.D. comes to mind, though her work schedule has recently become more consistent). It's just one of those things you have to keep in mind when you make dosing decisions for Tom.

2. Even with that under consideration, I still think he has plenty of room for a dose increase. It has been 8 cycles on this dose with nadirs in yellow, so he has earned the increase to 1.25 whenever you're ready. That is, of course, unless he changes things on us this cycle. Lots of cats like to do that after I post to suggest a dose increase. ;-) He might - on 1/12 he threw a high preshot just before he had a breakthrough in numbers. That's a pattern you can see in some cats. Tom has only done it once so we can't call it a "pattern" yet, but watch and see if it happens again.
 
Re: 1/23 TOM amps 447 +6.6.5 310

I'm copying my response to a PM here:

Dose is up to you. I see 8 cycles and nothing lower than 239, so that's why I say there is room for an increase. For what it's worth, I think you are doing fine with the number of spot checks. You are spreading them out enough that it's fairly easy to see what is going on. I don't see any indications that his dose is too high. Mainly I would be looking for fast drops or fast rises, especially fast drops with no spot checks afterward where I can see that there might have been low numbers that were missed. I don't see anything like that. Lots of cats run higher in the morning so that alone isn't a concern. Remember, dose to the nadir and the other numbers will follow.

It's fine to take your time with increases. Just keep in mind that the longer he spends in higher numbers, the more resistance he can build and the longer it can take to break through the high numbers. The goal of the tight regulation protocol is to get the cat into good numbers as quickly as is safely possible.
 
never thought I would be one to shy away from increasing a dose...but I'd like to give this another cycle or two...Ideally I like to pull an all nighter and see what the heck goes on with his bg's that he climbs to red.
If tomorow he still does'nt give me a blue...i'll dosecreas...don't want to move too fast you know..not with this race horse of an insulin! :lol:
 
:o oh gosh,,,not TOO surprised I hope! not up for any MAJOR surprises you know...just nice cute little baby surprises. like a blue?
 
How many times have I said that to my glucometer? "just a nice little blue...not a shocking, 30 number, not a 300 or 400...just blue". :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top