1/16 Atlas PMps 75, +2 83, +3.5 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Atlantia....uh no...Lantus Land.... ~O) ~O) ~O) . Lil grumpy this morning, but really quite OK...

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34425

Recap: ....see the sheet... :-|

181 3.00
179 +2
234 +4
285 +6
241 +9
214 3.00
184 +2 normal MM(-30)
137 +3 MM plus 0.25 extra (-47)**
101 +4 normal MM (-36)
64 4.75 Fed&Karo fingertip ( -37)
74 +5 monitor
67 +5.25 Fed & karo quarter tsp.
66 +5.5 Fed & Karo quarter tsp.
83 +6 went to bed

Looks like we're due for another bounce today as Attie decided to go for a little dive last night. I'm not sure if this is normal insulin sensitivity or if this indicates the dose is still too high? As a sidenote there was a big game of hide & seek, tag going on as well last night during the first two hours of the cycle.

We ended up using karo several times last night to stop and hold the drop, which is not what I like to do with him. Looking back I'm not sure I truly needed to do this as this is not how I have been handling him. Plus I had just taken sleeping medication at the +4. So what's a bean to do?

I hate carb. loading as I think it contributes to the bounces and tinkers with the shed. I am expecting him to rise again dramatically in over the next 24 hours to pinks or reds. :cry: I know though...sometimes a necessary :evil:

So, I have decided to hold the 3.0u dose for a few days. Although it is open for discussion. We thought we had a Graduate of University of LTS, but it looks like he didn't quite pass the Bar exam.

Oh and before anyone goes screaming off about using the karo...Attie is allergic to most standard cat foods. So the HC/MC gravy routine actually makes him sick, inflames his intestines, and just compounds the maintenance of regulation.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171

Wow, you had quite a night with your Atlas. At first I did wonder about the Karo vs HC but I understand. I've seen other kitties need to avoid the HC canned flavors due to allergies too.

Sure hope today he proves you wrong about flunking out of liver training school, lol!
Good luck!
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182

Well, I think we undid everything we accomplished :cry: .

I assume once they start bouncing again...the dose will need to go higher the next round to break the trend.

Really feeling like I ruined it.... :sad:
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182

Wait and see how the rest of the cycle plays out. This could be a flat cycle -- that's less than a 10% change in numbers.

I tend to use Karo as well. Too much gravy and Gabby's GI track is upset. I thinks she's sensitive to the gluten.

I also think it's hard to gauge if you need to intervene when your cat is skating in the 60s. Are the numbers going to drop? Rise? Stay flat? It's all good info and hopefully, Atlas will have a flat blue cycle or his numbers will drop a bit.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182

maybe this will cheer you up a little...
 

Attachments

  • atlas & gary.jpg
    atlas & gary.jpg
    13.9 KB · Views: 1,595
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182

Sienne and Gabby said:
Wait and see how the rest of the cycle plays out. This could be a flat cycle -- that's less than a 10% change in numbers.

I tend to use Karo as well. Too much gravy and Gabby's GI track is upset. I thinks she's sensitive to the gluten.

I also think it's hard to gauge if you need to intervene when your cat is skating in the 60s. Are the numbers going to drop? Rise? Stay flat? It's all good info and hopefully, Atlas will have a flat blue cycle or his numbers will drop a bit.

Well it was less than a 10% change yesterday and his "bounce numbers" will show up tonight. He will bounce from the fast drop last night ...not the 60's numbers. I started to intervene at the **-47. So I am feeling like I didn't do enough soon enough to stop the unraveling of LTS.

Thanks for trying to lift my spirits and understanding the karo use.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182

the trip DOWN the dosing ladder can be much more stressful than the trip UP the dosing ladder. People don't understand that until they get there. It's exciting, but incredibly stressful.

The trick is deciding whether there was shed action influencing last night's green numbers. I think there is a good chance there was, so last night's 60s were probably not coming just from the 3 unit dose alone (I haven't had coffee yet, I hope that makes sense!). For Atlas, given his history and how hard you have had to work to get him here, if he doesn't come down by PMPS I would be tempted to get aggressive and increase at least to a fat 3 units or even to 3.25 (regular, not fat). Then when you do your reductions, try coming down just a drop at a time instead of by 0.25 at a time. Once he heals a little more, he will probably be able to manage 0.25 reductions. You're in a delicate spot right now where the balance between too much and too little is tough to find. Now, I hope Atlas will read this and do his best to prove me wrong by having a great green cycle today!
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182

mybuddybinks said:
maybe this will cheer you up a little...

I haven't seen Gary in a day or two? Had a food bowl ready for him last night. It is sitting in a baggie in the fridge now. 'Course this morning it is only 16F.

Thanks for the chuckle Celi.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182, OMG !!! 119 (-63)

Well...I guess I couldn't have guessed more wrong!!!

Here we go...

He just had a mini-meal 0.5 oz per normal at O-9:00. I had to get him up to go eat.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182, OMG !!! 119 (-63)

it's good to know that Atlas responds so well to threats of dose increases. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182, OMG !!! 119 (-63)

Good morning Atlas and Beth - he sure keeps you on your toes. I hope the 119 perked you up a bit. You're working hard, don't let it get you down.

I had no idea what a good kitty shrink you are. I'm going to remember that. Those were brilliant observations about Celi's Annie.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182, OMG !!! 119 (-63)

Will Ya Look at that!! They sure know how to fool us :lol: :lol: Not to worry -You Are In Control!!--You have foods & karo, strips, and can monitor-
Take a deep breath--Know how you feel!
Great numbers!! You have control of this--
BTW, Moonie also will stop eating HC food & also needs karo sometimes to bring her up--Only FF food she'll eat is FF sliced chicken in gravy! Sometimes NOT!
So I understand why you used it--No worry, it is what it is--Sometimes, I have to give her temptations also to bring her up, definitely not highly recommended, & they raise around the bg for a while ! Not as effective as the karo--I think you are doing a great job with Blue!!
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182, +3 119 (-63), 3.75 104

Blue is going to have a nice day :-D
I also thought your observations were profound in Celi's condo.
I hope Gary shows up. What is MudCat doing? Maybe they had a tiff.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182, +3 119 (-63), 3.75 104, +4 85 (-

Standard mini-meal at 10am.

Drop of (-19) in 15 minutes +/-. Last meal though was 30 minutes ago.

We're into the 4th hour so we're going back to my other strategy and feeding per usual.

We'll only carb below 50, but we'll monitor closely.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182

Libby and Lucy said:
the trip DOWN the dosing ladder can be much more stressful than the trip UP the dosing ladder. People don't understand that until they get there. It's exciting, but incredibly stressful.

Now, I hope Atlas will read this and do his best to prove me wrong by having a great green cycle today!


Well this will be our second trip down the dosing ladder. Remember when he came back to me after surgery and 5 weeks in intensive care he was on 8u Humilin BID! And Attie is an asymptomatic hypo. Although last night before bed he came a got me?
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171, +2 182, +3 119,3.75 104,+4 85,+4.5 72,+5

Soooo, no bouncing here this morning, that's for sure! 'Sliddage' instead. :lol:
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171,+2 182,+3 119,3.75104,+4 85,+4.5 72,+5 54

Awesome job Attie! Just go on and shove that momabean out of the way ...and show her how it's done. :lol:

OMG...totally what I did not expect for today. There may still be a late bounce in there for this evening, but it should be nice and yellow as Venita pointed out yesterday he appears to bounce 24 hours later.

Hold the dose!
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171,+2 182,+3 119,3.75104,+4 85,+4.5 72,+5 54

Hiya, Atlas is looking GREAT! :mrgreen: Happiness, Healing #s!
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171,+2 182,+3 119,+4 85,+5 54, 58, +6 63

Wonderful and great patience Beth!!! I'd have been wanting to give a little something for that 54, too....I am amazed!!!! How much did you sweat that out??

I also give karo to stop the drop....if I give her gravy or food, it just doesn't do it because Gracie responds very slowly to everything but karo. I am glad to see Attie has recovered his momentum. We lost it with Gracie when she dropped too low and we haven't gotten it back yet. So you've done a great job!!
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171,+2 182,+3 119,+4 85,+5 54, 58, +6 63

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Wonderful and great patience Beth!!! I'd have been wanting to give a little something for that 54, too....I am amazed!!!! How much did you sweat that out??

About 15 minutes.


Then tested and got the 58

and waited to catch the +6.


The first time I did this without carb loading...I was a nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile wreck.

I should have done this last night, but with being medicated up...the past is the past. And as I say I keep pointing out there may still be a delayed bounce coming anyway.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas 171,+2 182,+3 119,+4 85,+5 54+6 63, +8 68

WOW. Attie, you rocked it today!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Great job waiting it out and not needing carbs.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas PMps 75

Now off into the sunset for a nice quiet evening.

From this morning to this evening what a surprise day !

What else can I say...


And thank you to all who peaked in, gave advice, and checked-up on us throughout the day.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas PMps 75, +2 83

The house is warm,

Gary, MudCat's dark prince stopped by this evening. Muddie pawed at the window trying to touch the face of her handsome garden friend. She made sure her Bean served up the best Ocean Whitefish in the land and then mended and filled the hotsocks for the royal lodge.

Attie remained reposed his the master bedroom sweet, uninterested in the fanciful endeavors of his princess.
 
Re: 1/16 Atlas PMps 75, +2 83

attie knows she just desires what she cannot attain...and she'll be back to him soon!

wonderful day, beth!
 
Bedtime snacks have been had by all. Time to quiet down the house and get some shut-eye. Holds these numbers this evening Attie. They look real good on you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top