1/12 Harley's visit at the vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Harley's numbers were way high last night. I got distracted when I let him out of the bedroom - he eats there - and he finished up both his brothers, and sisters dinners (higher carbs). Oh well, at least he had a nice treat. This AM he did come down some. That will teach me to put things away.

Have a vet visit today. Want labs done, diet, discuss insulin and bs values. Vet wants to check accuracy of my meter and asked me to bring it with me. If anyone can think of other questions to ask - let me know

Have a good day.

Pattie
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34115
 
Re: 1/12 Harley AMPS 364

I can't add to your list of things to ask the vet, except teeth, but you probably already have the covered.
My vet used to compare my meter to his a lot (well, he did it three times). We were always almost right on (within about 8 points or so). Good luck at the vet appointment.

P.S. I think I accidently gave J.D. the 10% and Ginger the 3% for breakfast yesterday, so don't feel bad. Shhhh!
 
Re: 1/12 Harley AMPS 364

Good morning guys .. glad to hear that harleys numbers are down this morning ... good luck at the vets and have a great day!
 
Well, Harley and I had a good and bad vet visit. I got in 10 minutes early and talked with the senior vet student who was doing the interview. He was excited that I had brought in the ss with Harley’s numbers but said that testing blood was not important for every diabetic cat. I said – well guess what, it is important for Harley. He did say that in Harley's case - yes, it was important.

I said to him, after he looked at the ss, that I want to be more aggressive with the insulin as Harley was insulin resistant. He agreed. Harley has gained weight – almost 2#. I talked about the raw diet I was starting for Harley. Student said the U was not in favor of a raw diet – raw cooked yes, raw raw no. He then said I could set up an appointment with the animal nutritionist for a consult. He did an exam. Then he left to get Harley’s doc.

Well, 40 minutes later they both walked in. I was very disappointed in that part of the visit. No only was I waiting for 40 minutes but she does not feel being aggressive with insulin is the way to go. Yes his numbers are high but it takes “10-14” days to really know what a dose is doing. Harley has 3 more days before she is even interested in changing to dose to 9.0. Also, she stated that there was no documented evidence that diabetes in cats causes renal problems – so there (my take on it).

They compared my glucometer with theirs. Mine read 517 (Harley was practically having a heart attack by then), theirs read 421. She will wait for the lab to see what that is. So, in her words, mine reads high. If Harley is having a 400 bs it is really only 300 and if he is 350 he is really 250. I said – he needs to be lower than that to which she agreed.

The total time at the U was 90 minutes of which I talked to someone maybe 40 minutes. The vet will not be seeing patients after July and will hook me up with a new vet that does a lot of feline diabetes.
 
Hi, Harley and Pattie.. I'm disappointed to hear the vet visit didn't go as expected, I know that a lot of vets frown on the Raw diet - but I feed it because I believe in it & have seen the proof! I hope Harley's #s can come on down for you soon. :-D
 
Sorry about your vet visit. It's a good thing you will be done with that vet, but with IAA, if you are NOT aggressive, your dose will keep climbing and climbing. You need to be aiming for greens, and forget about the vet's meter. The one that counts is the one you are using, at home, when Harley is not stressed.
 
They compared my glucometer with theirs. Mine read 517 (Harley was practically having a heart attack by then), theirs read 421.

Actually a 20% variance is acceptable. Depending which way you want to take that... your meter was within scientific tolerance. You had 102 pts. to "play with" because he was reading high to begin with...and then your meter variance would be even greater. So your meter is fine for home monitoring. It is a know fact even for human diabetics that the meters will vary around 20%.


Edit: I was so very distracted by the meter comments I forgot about the raw diet issue.

I also feed raw. It was the only thing that stopped Attie's loose stools. After 9 months of the vet trying all their stuff I got them to agree to a raw food diet trial. Within 2 days Attie's bowel issue resolved and started to heal. When I called the vet 2 days later...she was speechless. When I took MudCat in for her check-up this month the vet could not help but ask and I told her what I was feeding.
 
Pattie,
I test my cat before going to the vet, then again at the vet office, and finally about 20min after we get home.
It's a good way to find out how stressed Harley is from the vet visit. My Shadoe goes higher at the vet, but my Oliver goes lower. I take food with us when he goes to the vet because I don't want him going too low. Once I did have to feed him because he did go low at the vet office.
 
I'm sorry your vet visit wasn't all you hoped it would be. I'm glad he has gained weight, ah, if he wasn't big and extra fluffy before :oops: Maybe the new vet that will start seeing you in July really will know a lot about diabetes. Fingers crossed.
 
So here's a stupid question... If there's a vet in the group at the U who specializes in feline diabetes, why have they scheduled you to see other vets? It sounds like you had a better experience with the vet student than the vet.

I'd be more than curious as to what their reservations are about a raw diet. What is it that they think ferals eat? Or big cats in the wild? I wonder if they're thinking that you break out a chicken breast and put it in a bowl without any of the necessary supplements.
 
About the raw diet. They were going on and on about salmonella, the fact that big cats (lions etc) don't live as long, our cats have been bred and no longer need just meat and so on. I finally ended up saying "really, I did not know that" to everything they said. Harley LOVES the raw and WILL continue to get it.

Pattie
 
WOW - I am sorry that the vet visit didn't go as well as you had hoped. Seems that you know more than they do. Stick to your guns! I too wonder why they don;t schedule you with the vet that specializes in FD.

I hope you guys have a better evening. Go Harley!
 
I person that they are talking about works with a vets office, not a the U. I hope to go see her before July to see what she is like. This may sound like a cop out but I kinda have to stay in good terms with the one at the U. During the summer I take a long (8 days) vacation and am able to medically board Harley at the U. They need a U vet ok to do that. I cannot lose that connection.

I do feel that there is a way to increase Harley's dose appropriately and still get her input. I just have to watch how I word things to her.

Pattie
 
Hi Patty,
Sorry to hear the visit wasnt all that productive. I would agree they are not the best with timeliness. The students are always most eager to learn from us, and the specialists tell it like it is. It took a few times of seeing one specialist before he understood ME and what I knew...finally gaining some respect and the ability to have a discussion. I think you will find that anywhere. Most people are not as proactive with their companion animal's care. They are just not used to it.

You sound confident in what you are doing. That is a huge milestone for you! Well, I guess for any of us. I know you are doing the best (and right) things for Harley!

Sienne and Gabby said:
So here's a stupid question... If there's a vet in the group at the U who specializes in feline diabetes, why have they scheduled you to see other vets? It sounds like you had a better experience with the vet student than the vet.

I'd be more than curious as to what their reservations are about a raw diet. What is it that they think ferals eat? Or big cats in the wild? I wonder if they're thinking that you break out a chicken breast and put it in a bowl without any of the necessary supplements.

Sienne,
they do not really have vets who specialize in diseases. Rather the vets specialize in certain organs or body processes. Latte's kidney specialist focused on urinary issues (thus the kidneys). The last vet we saw specialized in urinary and pancreas issues (more knowledgeable with FD). You have to dig hard for the 'right' person. Its difficult to get connected with ONE vet over there. I think a lot has to do with most of them involved in research. They are also scheduled on rotations. Typically they are always available for phone calls, tho. I had to push hard to stay consistent with Dr. P, but sometimes had to bring Latte in to see other vets because he was not around.
 
Pattie,
I give Oliver and also the new kitty, Apple Blossom, raw chicken chunks.
Whoa Ollie just LOVES his chicken chunks which he gets to tide him over during the 2hrs before ps.
I do feed them normal low carb wet food, but they really love some raw chicken.
 
Hi Pattie,

Sometimes the vet visits and follow up and, in the case at the U of M, preliminary with the students can require a lot of time and effort.
I also found the students to be very eager to help. I think I am going to try to get Whiskers in to see the U of M vet that Carolyn worked with. She seemed to regard him highly.

Anyway hope your guys are having a good night.

Take care.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top