12/25 Willie PMPS 284, +6~123, +10.5~58* +11~72*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday’s Condo

Note: numbers marked with a * were shot with a Relion meter.

Merry Christmas to all! Willie and I feel very blessed to have all of our new friends here in LL and on FDMB in general! Didn't post after our PMPS last night, but here's yesterday's recap:

+12 76
+12.5 90
+13/AMPS 94
+1 113
+2 101
+3 73 (gave less than 1 tsp. FF with gravy)
+4 115
+5 103
+6 100
+7 92
+10 124
+11 184
PMPS 190
+9 247

Thanks to Sienne for the advice to keep him at 1.25. While I'd rather he be in the high blues, at least with the yellows we don't have to monitor him as closely today, giving him a much deserved break from hourly pokes. We'll still get a +1 and/or a +2, a +7 (Willie's typical nadir) and a +10 and/or +11 since we're not going anywhere today.

Willie is currently crouched in pounce mode on the corner of the bed after another encounter with Hunter, my brother's big yellow lab. Hunter is such a sweetie. He came into the room because someone forgot to latch the door properly, sat by the corner of the bed and gave Willie a big "Merry Christmas!" smile. Willie gave him a "This bed is MINE!!!" hiss in return, but didn't seem especially afraid. We did not continue the experiment.

Hope everyone has a safe and Merry Christmas today and that all the LL and other FD kitties have nice surfs!
 
Re: 12/25 Willie AMPS 246

MERRY CHRISTMAS! Have a happy joyous holiday!

What a nice day Willie had yesterday! Good start today Willie. :-D Hey - you get a break from all those pokes!
 
Re: 12/25 Willie AMPS 246, +2.5~242

Merry Christmas Christie and Willie!! Great numbers yesterday! We wish you a joyous day!!
 
Re: 12/25 Willie AMPS 246, +2.5~242, +7~210, +10~296

Happy holiday!!

You do know that a flat yellow cycle may mean an action cycle is coming up.
 
Re: 12/25 Willie PMPS 284

Sienne and Gabby said:
Happy holiday!!

You do know that a flat yellow cycle may mean an action cycle is coming up.


Of course it does. LOL Thank you for the heads up! I took a (knowingly irrational) satisfaction that we stayed out of the pinks today altogether, though with our alphatrak, we weren't as close as we seemed (knowing the spreadsheet is based on human meters). I'll get a +1 and/or +2 tonight and even if those check out okay, I'll set an alarm to get a +6 or +7 just in case. We're down to our last 3 AT strips, so I'll use those for the present cycle and switch to the Relion for the AMPS through Monday. We've got 150 AT strips waiting for us at home... I'll use those, but will likely switch to the Relion after that.

We've had some more drooler encounters today, which may have elevated his stress some. Though, Willie is totally the master in that relationship. Poor Hunter really is beside himself... this poor huge oaf trying so hard to be Willie's friend, only to be rejected (and even batted on the nose!) at every turn. Got another ketone check today, which came back negative. Tried to leave him alone some today so he could catch up on some rest.

I continue to be amazed at the improvement in his outward appearance. Skin condition aside, his coat just looks healthier and shinier every day, and he continues to gain weight. I've got a digital scale at home and will probably weigh him monday (I'll weigh myself first, then me and willie together. which is why i've been avoiding it! :-| ). He's definitely filling out on the sides and his back isn't nearly as bony any more. Now if we could just get to the bottom of his skin condition.

Have secured my supply of venison (dad even knows where it's going... and it's still free!) and have found some canned foods that contain no poultry or eggs, so once I return from my New Year's trip, we can start a serious food trial.

Merry Christmas to all... Sorry things have been busy today and I haven't been able to check in on all the condos of our new friends. We are so thankful to have found this wonderful community!
 
Re: 12/25 Willie PMPS 284

Merry Christmas to you and wee willie!

a bittersweet day, i'm sure...you are much in our thoughts.

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/25 Willie PMPS 284

Thank you, Celi... it is bittersweet, but as the days this week have passed, I am finding myself more and more thankful for how Miss Jezebelle made it to the bridge. I've read a bit about embolisms, and for many cats, the clots go to their legs, which can lead to painful suffering, treatments on lots of heart meds, but for the most part, the same outcome. Her life was full of joy, love, and play literally up until the day she died, and when things went horribly wrong, they most likely did so in the blink of an eye, sparing her of any pain or suffering. Knowing that has lifted a tremendous burden off my heart.

And when the time came, as heartbreaking as it was, I could conclusively look at her and know there was no other viable option... I had already made the decision, but when I walked into that room, I knew in an instant that my girl was already gone. There was no second guessing, no self-doubt. Having read the stories of others, I am beginning to appreciate the heartbreak I was saved in that moment. I know for many, the choice presented is not nearly so obvious.

While I am sad she was taken from me so soon, the nature of her passing was a bittersweet, heartbreaking, yet in it's own way comforting, gift.

Right now as I type, my heart is heavy and the tears of sadness that come with the remembering of a dear lost friend are in my eyes. But at the same time, I am able to smile through them and begin to focus less on the sadness and more on the joy of the time we shared.
 
Re: 12/25 Willie PMPS 284, +3~249, +6~123, +10.5~58R

Thanks again to Sienne on the clue in yesterday's yellow. We're on the Relion now, and today looks to be setting up just like Christmas Eve. Gave him some food at +6 to try to boost him a little. Going to mix a smidgen of FF with gravy into his pre-shot breakfast to give him a boost as well. He tends to have large bowel movements every other day, so we're due for his bm this morning. I've noticed his indeed are "magical (though the thought of of applying that word to somethong so stinky...), so we will account for that in our course of action today.

Will update with his +11 or +11.5 momentarily.
 
Re: 12/25 Willie PMPS 284, +3~249, +6~123, +10.5~58R

I'd hold off on adding gravy to Willie's food. You're seeing a late nadir. The numbers will come back up.

Good plan to get another test in before AMPS. It will help to know if Willie's numbers are still going down or if they are rising.
 
Re: 12/25 Willie PMPS 284, +6~123, +10.5~58R +11~72R

will do, Sienne! going to get an +11.5 to confirm the rise. absent a number under 50, I shoot 1.25, correct? thanks!
 
Re: 12/25 Willie PMPS 284, +6~123, +10.5~58R +11~72R

Let's see what the +11.5 looks like. Where is your comfort level with shooting lower numbers? You've not shot below 130 so I just want to make sure you're good with shooting a bit lower. In case they should be needed, do you have extra strips and HC food handy?

Also, just a suggestion. I wouldn't note the "R" next to a BG test. I know you meant you were using your Relion meter -- but it took me a second or two to realize that's what you meant. There are some people here who use a bolus insulin (Humulin R, or "regular" insulin) to bring numbers down. I suspect that's what most people will associate with the R in your subject line. Just make a note in your condo as well as on your SS.
 
Good morning, droppin thru to say hi & check on Wille.. you too ;-)
Looks like a GRReat cycle happy to see him clear that yellow.. so much for being saved checks lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top