12/22 GraciePMPS 171 +1 136 +2 71 +3 56 +4 53 +5 69 +5.5 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32621

Recap:
AMPS: 307 6th cycle 1.25u
+2: 308
+4: 254
+10: 265
PMPS: 262 7th cycle 1.25u
+1: 284
+2: 247
+4: 286


Yay..I'ts Hump Day...only two more days at TBP before staycation although I'm working at home tomorrow as DH leaves for work. Just the kitties and me for Christmas...he flies from Dec 23-26 but can't get home until the 27th.

WCR: 5Ps in place and romping around here like crazy with her sidekick the Tobeykins. She's started scratching a little more and has scratched some of the fur off her ears. I suspect that she may be allergic to something in the Merrick foods so I have stopped feeding them to see if that makes a change. I wonder if it could be causing her BG to be up and so flat. She has an appt with the NRT vet next Tuesday to test the foods on her ears. I'm still waiting on the Feline Futures powder to try her and Tobey on raw. She said the Full Moon Party was a smashing success and thinks Mannie's mamabean is a saint with all those wild kitties there.

Gracie's holiday gift for you today:

On the third day 'fore Christmas my true love gave to me
Gracie looking like a jail-bird-ie!!

.
 

Attachments

  • Dec 2010 030.JPG
    Dec 2010 030.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 1,446
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336

Loving the picture/gifts from Gracie. :lol: :lol: :lol:

What does NRT stand for? I hope you get some answers. I don't know how allergies would affect BG. I'm really learning a lot following your guys trials with Gracie. A lot of the things I've read are now making a lot more sense.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336

Marjorie & Gracie said:
Sienne...I've been reading on Tess's condo about how you feed your babies. Have you started using the Feline Futures powder now that the company has changed? Do you see any difference? Do you give them the Wellness just to alter the flavor and lastly, do you grind your raw meat yourself, buy ground, or give chunks like Ann? Thanks and have a great day!

I've been using the Feline Futures pre-mix from the time I started feeding raw. I'm honestly not sure that anything other than the packaging has changed. I grind my own chicken. I don't grind bone since I'm using a grinder attachment for my KitchenAid mixer. I opted to grind my own to decrease the potential for contamination -- there's so much surface area with ground meat that I wanted to decrease any chance for bacteria. I grind 3 parts thigh to 1 part breast meat. Gabby will eat around chunks so they are minimal. I add the Wellness mostly for Gizmo. He's a kitten and needs the calories (he's also going to be a big cat -- at least 15 lbs.). Gabby was shoving him out of his bowl if I didn't give her any of the canned food. So I give her a small amount. Also, with the mini-meals and the way I package the food (I make up 1/4 cup patties that I freeze.), they needed a little more food so they get some additional canned.

Do your cats have renal issues? You might want to look on Dr. Lisa's site re. the use of raw with CRD kitties. I believe that thigh meat has less phosphorus than breast meat but there are issues with a raw diet and renal disease.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336

Every day I have to come to your condo and see a Gracie picture. I love them! :-D Now, Gracie, lets see some blue today please. Have a great day, Marjorie. I'm sorry Mike won't be home for Christmas, but I'm glad you'll have lots of kitty company.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336

Hi, Marjorie & Gracie.. as always, I enjoyed her beautiful pic :mrgreen:
Hope the allergies clear up soon!
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336 +2 245

I am lost on what NRT stands for too Karrie let us know Marjorie on that vet slang ok wishing you and Gracie a wonderful day
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336 +2 245

Morning! And interesting on the Merrick. You will have to post when you determine if it is the culprit. I still working with Elsa - she had healed up, but is once again over-grooming, so something is irritating her. Gotta get the BW done...

Gracie's cycles of late remind me to a certain extent of Mannie's - we went through this phase too where he just didn't break out of the yellows much. Then one day - down he went. So far he is staying there with minimal bounces. I wonder if Gracie is doing the same. Maybe it's just taking her a while to settle into this dose.

Bummer on Mike flying through the holiday. I guess you will just have to postpone things a few days until he is home.

love the photo: poor Gracie - a jailbird. Must have been nabbed for smuggling bourbon balls to the Full Moon Party. :lol: :lol:

Gracie? What are you doing behind bars? Do I need to come and bust you out? You wanna get together today? Later! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336 +2 245

DH here - Gracie is finally moving a little, 245 at +2. She had a similar looking curve on Monday but stalled at about 90 and went back up. Hopefully she has a better day today. NRT is nutrition response testing. We have a vet here in Tucson who is pretty well known for it. Basically it is testing her energy and organ response in relation to foods and medicines. I know, it sounded like voodoo to me, but it seems to work. We had trouble with interstitial cystitis in Gracie for years, and the NRT vet was able to isolate some metal in her system, detox her, and Gracie hasn't had an episode since we started the process. ANTI-JINX. Marjorie can give you more details when she is back from tbp.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237

DH here - I really thought we might see some good numbers today, but maybe not so much. It's gray and drizzly outside, so maybe the little girl would rather nap than have a pokefest.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237 +5.5 261

Poor Gracie! Behind bars for borrowing bourbon balls!

TCFeline's website drives me crazy! Tons of really good articles, I scanned through every one!, and not a word about their product! I was trying to find the list of ingredients and the Nutrient analysis that were there for the new formula the last time I looked . Nothing to be found old or new. Marjorie, how are you getting to their site now? I linked to their "home" page from the order page I have book marked.

Maybe I was hallucinating when I looked at the site and saw info on the name change, looked at the ingredients and saw they were very different and even the nutrient profile was changed! confused_cat But I can't find anything on that site about the TCFeline product and it was the home link from the order page.

Anywayhere is the ingred. list from the old formula:
Ingredients:
Egg Yolk, Milk Mineral Complex, Whey Protein Concentrate, Gelatin, Calcium Lactate, Omega-3 Essential fatty acids from Fish Oil, Taurine, natural source Vitamin E, Kelp, natural source Vitamin B Complex.
From what I remember about the change the Milk Mineral complex was replace by bone, and some other changes as well.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237 +5.5 261 QUESTIONS?

Tonight will be Gracie's 9th cycle on the current dose of 1.25u and her 5th cycle with nothing but flat yellow with some pink. I'm assuming the dose experts will want to see what she does tonight and maybe tomorrow; but any thoughts on where we should go after that if she does the same thing? The last two times she was on 1.25u, she did fairly well on it but she has been rather stagnant this time. I would think six nonproductive cycles might indicate we need to do something else.. or maybe not.

As far as health, Gracie appears to feel great...she's been playing alot and eating well. First thing in the morning, she usually produces a large amount of urine but she's not in the box alot during the day and I haven't noticed her drinking alot at this dose. The only thing is I am suspecting some food allergies which seem to have kicked in when we started feeding more Merrick and less of other things in order to reduce the amount of fat in her diet (per Dr. Lisa). Before I started feeding her Merrick, she had not had any food with beef so that may be suspect as both types of Merrick food I fed her have beef. I've got her back on Wellness Chicken and WN Turkey for right now to see if that helps and, as I mentioned before, the NRT vet will check her next Tuesday (soonest we could get in with holidays) for food allergies; I'm also going to ask her to run some bloodwork and UA. She looks closely at Gracie's teeth every visit and just remarked last week at how beautiful and tartar free her teeth are and how great her gums look so I don't think it's dental.

I just think she's stagnating here right now (tonight may be different) and it may be taking some time for her to settle into this dose...that's ok but it would help me to know how many cycles we should wait before we increase her and if we should just increase by another .1u to a 1.25f instead of .25u to 1.50u (yikes...she's a little girl). Not being impatient...just like a plan considering the holidays and that less people will be around...I'm a plan ahead kinda girl :? :? I don't have enough experience yet to decide on my own when and how much to raise her if the dose experts are, deservedly, busy with holiday festivities.

Of course, I'm hoping by mentioning all this, that she will break whatever funk she's in TONIGHT and get with it considering all these days of flat yellows with a few pinks.

Thanks!!!!
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237 +5.5 261 QUESTIONS?

See this is what I don't understand about the dosing... at the current dose, if you weren't managing the curve with food, her numbers would drop fast and low and then bounce right?. SO is she really stagnant or will you be told to refine managing her curve with food at the current dose? Or would increasing the dose drop the preshot numbers and you continue to manage the curve with food to prevent dropping?
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237 +5.5 261 QUESTIONS?

Karrie....Jill told me once that you manage the curve with food....the curve gets flatter....then you raise the dose. I do not know if that is what is happening here; I don't think so because she hasn't even tried to drop the last several cycles so we've just been feeding her regular diet. I think she either hasn't settled into her dose (very likely) and still has some NDW and needs more time or she needs more juice. But I don't want to still be looking at flat yellows on Christmas Day and wondering if I should raise her and how much but not be able to ask anyone. :lol:

eta: wouldn't you know...now we have slidage at +10.
 
Re: 12/22GracieAMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237 +5.5 261 +9.75 210 ?

Hey Majorie.....I did a little digging awhile back about Feline Futures and the name change/packaging change. Was trying to find out why they didn't ship to Texas.

Long story short....it was a lawsuit issue w/a company in Texas that had patented the name...yada, yada, yada....Feline Futures changed their name and packaging but not the ingredients.

The company in Texas is not well known but they do seem to offer similar products. I dropped the issue of trying to go to raw for now.
 
Re: 12/22GracieAMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237 +5.5 261 +9.75 210 ?

WOW what a flat day for Gracie. I wonder.... dose settling? ready for some action? time for an increase? It's hard to say - but I would guess that if something doesn't break soon then maybe up her dose. It's been a while since she's seen much green. I'm curious what the dose folks have to say...

have a good evening!
 
Re: 12/22GracieAMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237 +5.5 261 +9.75 210 ?

:lol: at the jail pic...much better than binks' mug shot.

celi

psssttt tobey...i is already ona poo list fur ...ummm...burrowin sum bras n stuffs...so ifs ya wanna tell em i breaks da ornament, is ok. tell em i stuffs it ina too lil bra, maybe?
binks
 
Re: 12/22GracieAMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237 +5.5 261 +9.75 210 ?

Ok....so she heard us and we are out of flat yellow for right now :lol: :lol:

Michelle, Karrie, and Ann: thanks for the bump, girls. Guess my question is OBE :lol: :lol:

Tena: thanks for the news on the Feline Futures. I left a post on Tess's condo about info I got, too. If you want to do raw, have you thought about Nature's Variety Instincts raw medallions?

Celi: so now I have to get to your condo and see Binks' mug shot. :lol:

Of course, it will be interesting to see what our little darling has in store for us. I told Mike that never ONCE has she gone low at night when he's monitoring her...tonight, I'm back on the night shift even tho I have to work tomorrow because he also has to leave and I don't want him sleepy and flying people around so he's off to bed early tonight. But it's ok...I'd rather have her do something and get some nice numbers then sleep.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie PMPS 171

I was going to post and suggest you wait until you see what the PM cycle looks like but I think you got your answer. Sometimes those flat yellow cycle indicate action is going to follow.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie PMPS 171

Sienne: I know but we been a waiting and a waiting on those flat yellows that weren't doing anything...until tonight :lol: :lol: Thanks for responding.

Uh Celi....hate to tell you but that ain't Binks.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie PMPS 171

nice pmps for Gracie!!! i guess she is not tired from last night's party!!!

nice pic too....oh sooooo very cute and looks so innocent! :lol:
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie PMPS 171 +1 136 +1.5 86

wow....that was fast; glad I checked the +1.5; fed her 1 tsp 4% with 14% gravy; looks like it will be a night of 30 min checks but that's ok cause we finally got green.
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie PMPS 171 +1 136 +1.5 86 +2 71 +2.5 52

Looks like a pajama party to me. :lol: Gracie was just waiting for you to be home. :lol:
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie PMPS 171 +1 136 +1.5 86 +2 71 +2.5 52

Long night ahead? Nice green :mrgreen:

Yes pajama party.. I don't think I can get Frip in one of these :-D
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie AMPS 336 +2 245 +4 237 +5.5 261

Ann & Tess said:
Poor Gracie! Behind bars for borrowing bourbon balls!

TCFeline's website drives me crazy! Tons of really good articles, I scanned through every one!, and not a word about their product! I was trying to find the list of ingredients and the Nutrient analysis that were there for the new formula the last time I looked . Nothing to be found old or new. Marjorie, how are you getting to their site now? I linked to their "home" page from the order page I have book marked.

Maybe I was hallucinating when I looked at the site and saw info on the name change, looked at the ingredients and saw they were very different and even the nutrient profile was changed! confused_cat But I can't find anything on that site about the TCFeline product and it was the home link from the order page.

Anywayhere is the ingred. list from the old formula:
Ingredients:
Egg Yolk, Milk Mineral Complex, Whey Protein Concentrate, Gelatin, Calcium Lactate, Omega-3 Essential fatty acids from Fish Oil, Taurine, natural source Vitamin E, Kelp, natural source Vitamin B Complex.
From what I remember about the change the Milk Mineral complex was replace by bone, and some other changes as well.

Ingredients for the new formula can be found here: http://tcfeline.com/2010/08/20/ingredients-and-analysis/. I suspect the Texas company is Feline Instincts. I've used their products for 3 years because Willie was misdiagnosed as a renal kitty. From what I've gleaned online, the owner of Feline Instincts may have worked for Feline Futures in Canada, but moved to the States and opened her own supplement company using essentially the same recipe but building some other varieties on it as well? Not sure what I'm going to do once my current tub of powder is gone. Since willie may have a poultry allergy, would like to find a raw supplement without egg yolks.

And oh, my. That Gracie is a cutie! Will have to stop by her condo more often! :)
 
Re: 12/22 Gracie PMPS 171 +1 136 +1.5 86 +2 71 +3 56

Tena: :lol: :lol: that actually reminds me of how I saw contestants on "The Amazing Race" ziplining across a rain forest on Kauai in HI; I said to Mike.."we're doing it" and so we did....it was incredible and such a blast...we even learned how to flip upside down.

Ele and Sylvie: yes....it definitely has the possibility of a pj party..we'll see whether I'm keeping her steady or overcarbing her.

Christie: thanks so much for the info! I swear Ann and I both searched that site; I found it once but then couldn't find it again. I really appreciate the info...I wondered what the deal was on the company, etc. That's really bad..Natascha has done so much for so many people and their cats. Oh yes...pls come by...Gracie is doing a series of photos celebrating the 7 days before Christmas...started last Sat.

Dorothy...I ordered you ones for christmas. lub ya!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top