12/19WhiskersAMPS406+3 208+5 148+7 194+11 420

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/19 Whiskers AMPS 406

Morning Cheryl! Good job posting & your SS--This number could be a bounce from the 137 yesterday--Whickers' liver & pancreas is not used to lower numbers, so this could be panicky liver response..The liver dumps glucose into the body, as it panics at lower bgs- That's really what a bounce is-It Will Pass!! A bounce can take 72 hours to pass.
You need to stay on this dose until the dose helpers tell you to increase & see if he comes down today, which I think he will..
Not to worry, let's see where he goes today--OK?-Post all the tests you do in the heading after the amps with a +3~and the number-
You are doing fine.
 
Re: 12/19 Whiskers AMPS 406

Later today or tonite, after we see where the numbers go, you can post in your heading dose help--But let's see what happens-OK? :smile:
 
Re: 12/19 Whiskers AMPS 406 +3 208 +5 148

EXCELLENT!!!!! This dose of 1.25 maybe good--Look you have several numbers in the blue range!! That is great--
You see I know on N you can raise & lower the dose according, but Lantus likes consistancy of the dose to make a difference--
All this is Good!! Finding the right dose is not easy, bt that's what we strive for--Let's hope he is getting used to this dose now & the numbers will level out.
You can do a +10 or +11 to see where He is-
 
Re: 12/19 Whiskers AMPS 406 +3 208 +5 148 +7 194

He is doing just fine--Keep checking do a +10 or +11--Want to see where he is going...Good Job!
 
Re: 12/19WhiskersAMPS406+3 208+5 148+7 194+11 420dosing advi

Thanks Celi....I edit my first post of the day, but it doesn't bump up, maybe I'm under the wrong idea of how to bump.
 
You have to add a new reply in order to bump your condo up to the top of the board. (That's why Celi "bumped" you.) To have your subject line show on the board, you edit that but editing doesn't move the condo up.

What you're seeing at +11 is a bounce from those blues. It's normal. Whiskers isn't used to spending time in normal BG numbers so his liver panics. The wonderful news is that he clears these bounces quickly.
 
Re: 12/19WhiskersAMPS406+3 208+5 148+7 194+11 420 dosing adv

We have been at this dose 1.25 units for 4 days, she continues to bounce. The vet has recomended an increase to 1.5 units. She has actually been on lantus since 10/18/10. She continues to urinate outside the box on a daily basis, which the vet attributes to having to much glucose. I thought someone said that we need to wait at least 3 days for a bounce to clear. I also seem to recall someone saying wait 7 days. I am really concernced.
Vets email:
'Hi, I left a message on your machine. I think the worsening values may be secondary to the recent bout of pancreatitis. Pancreatitis can injure pancreatic Beta cells causing decreased insulin production. It looks like since the pancreatitis the best values have been on the 2.0 U twice a day. At this time I think a dose of 1.5-2 units twice a day is the best course. Ideally an hourly glucose curve would be best but whiskers may not allow for that. Dr. Kris Evans
 
Cheryl....I can't tell you what your dose SHOULD be based on Whiskey's numbers...that's up to those that know about assessing the doses. I do know that for where Whiskey is, you do not want to take her dose from 1.25u to 2u. The protocol for where she is in her nadirs allows for small increases and decreases so that you do not bypass the fitting dose. I don't understand why vets always want to bump up the dose so drastically when the cat is getting blue nadirs. You can get dosing help in LL by adding "DOSE ???" in your subject line but going from 1.25u to 2u is not recommended with blue nadirs for a kitty getting low doses like this. For my kitty, Gracie, I'm actually just shaving up and down as she is sensitive to changes of even .25u. Good luck!
 
Cheryl I was looking for your post--This is a continuing condo from yesterday..In the am, start a new condo with that day's 1st numbers like you did yesterday.
I think I would increase Whiskers when I was going to be around to monitor..Yes the next dose increase would be from 1.25U to 1.50U, but as I say, if it were me, I would want to be able to monitor.--If you do, just leave out some extra food, so in case he goes low,there will be food there--
Just rite in your heading, dose help-OK?
 
Hi Roni,

I am working thru Thursday. I will be off Friday Dec. 24th, so that is the day I will try to go up to 1.5 units, when I will be here to monitor Whiskers. Thanks

P.S. Whiskers is a she.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top