12/14 Mowgli+13~59+14~65+16~56+18~70+21.5~72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mowgli and Keri

Member Since 2010
If mowgli doesn't come up on his own in an hour, I have no time to stall today..
so would it be best to not shoot...considering he has been govering at 59 all night? Or try and give a .25
I know I am ahead of the game here, but today I am literally needing to be out the door at 6/605


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31998
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli__question

Mowgli looks like he is hanging out in the normal range.

They say skipping shots is not a good idea. You could definitely due a BCS dose and leave extra food out.

Maybe Sienne will chime in here before you shoot too.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli__question

Has Mowgli been eating....I know he had not been eating very well so I want to make sure he will eat before you give any insulin.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli__question

I always make sure he eats before insulin that's fersure...his appetite is slowly starting to come back to normal..
but that being said he doesn't tend to go to the dish on his own yet...i either take it to him or him to the dish...Although this morning while i dilly dally he has gone to his bowl....
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli__question

If you are not comfortable shooting the full dose then .25 would be fine. I don't want you to worry about him while you are at work.
I would go back to regular dose tonight.
Have a good day Keri. :smile:
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli__question

I have to say that skipping a shot is a decent option, especially if you are worried and must leave.
Remember: you can always give more but you can't take away too much.

OK so if you skip the shot, what happens? The shed drains and you have to build back up again.
Some give a half shot as a compromise, but it's all up to you.

I am not giving advice, but just sayin'. I have skipped a couple of Ollie's shots because I had to work or worried he was not coming up in numbers.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli__question

I am about to feed him,
he is at 68 (i feed him now because it takes me about 15minutes to make sure HE eats it and not the civvies)
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli__question

Keri I just wanted to make sure that the 59 was not AMPS.....I would not shoot this number if you are not going to be home. I thought that was your +11 and you still had an hour until AMPS.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli__question

I am not sure I am comfortable having you shoot this number since he was surfing the 50's all night and he does not eat very well on his own.
Are you gone all day?
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli_question

Gone all day ya :sad:
I suppose I will be ruining his cycle...dammit.....
but his eatting IS less than desirable...so that isn't very comforting to leave..
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli__question

You will get right back to where you left off tonight. I think he is too low to shoot without eating very well and no spot checks.
I think you should skip the shot this morning and give yourself a stress free day. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgl

Okay,
I appreciate your early morning advice very much!
I am gone all day tomorrow again, but as you said I can get back on the insulin bus tonite, see what his numbers are when I get home tonite without any juice...and more than likely be able to give him his dose tomorrow AM too..

Thank you very much!!
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AMPS~68

Good morning guys! I agree, skipping the shot would probably be the best way to go, especially if eating habits are questionable .. mowgli is doing good enough that he will be back to these numbers in no time, even if you skip this shot .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AMPS~68

Keri, I think it's fine that you skipped the shot this morning, that was a very low AMPS and with him not eating well and you not home to monitor, skipping is a good choice. Peace of mind is important.

I would suggest that you start practicing measuring 0.1u and "some" insulin. :mrgreen: There are pictures of the microdoses in the "New to the Group" sticky. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139&start=0
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AMPS~68

Maybe Mowgli is jealous of all the parties & wants one of his own??
Oh we can only HOPE!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Maybe soon!! Have a great day!
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AMPS~68

It would be a Christmas Miracle if things work out for the best!! :-D
I am not going to jinx it and say any of those good words, lol

I am curious to see what he is when I get home though...
And I am still wondering...MAYBE he just isn't that hungry anymore, now that he has more normal BG....
I keep an eye on him and the civvies, one civvie eats more, but the other is about the same as Mowgli...and I keep reminding myself that ECID...i just have to relax and not be paranoid...
I am sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo used to him scarffing everything he can through so many years of his life..that to have a minimal appetite is just ODD....
:shock:

Hope everyone is having a good day!
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AMPS~68

He is looking very good, numbers-wise, Keri. :smile:

How much total food is he eating per day, and how much does he weigh? I would weigh him weekly, so you can keep an eye on if he is gaining or losing. It is possible that his appetite is just less since his BG is under control, so his body is able to use all of the food he is getting.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AMPS~68

Christmas is a time for miracles :mrgreen:

I would monitor his weight closely too. I wouldn't assume its BG related - if he's losing weight you can step up feedings. We have a baby scale for Maverick.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AMPS~68+11.5~50!! ADVICE??

I guess we can clearly assume that mowgli didn't eat anything today...and obviously I will not be giving his insulin tonite...
I should be trying to get him to eat MORE, this appears to be the case??
thoughts please??
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50!! ADVICE??

And you didn't shoot this morning either did you.

Wow. Don't have a clue - I'm too new at this myself. I'll be popping in to see what others advise.

:dizcat
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)

eatting?? other than tuna mixed in with his FF, not really...
i think i will be force feeding him a few times tonite, like it or not....
still on his meds yes..
Tramadol till thursday morning, and his anti biotics for another week..
i am trying to find the flortiflora (i know i am saying that wrong am just babbling) but none of the vets around me have it...
I should be happy with his numbers, but I am worried there is something more going on with him, and I am thinking his low numbers are greatly influenced by his lack of eatting enough...

thoughts of the syringe feeding?? could he just not be overly hungry??
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)

also his demeanor when not on the drugs is same as always....(an starting to be more the same on the tramadol too)
so i guess I just am not sure...i am worried..
*expletives*

I AM going snowboarding tomorrow..and will book an appointment with Dr...Maybe he will have a saturday appointment available..
is just weird that all of a sudden at the beginning of the month his appetite changed..
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)

have you read this thread on Think Tank, and the article that is linked in the thread? viewtopic.php?f=22&t=30843

I'm linking this even though I haven't read it all myself yet, but it seems like it could be relevant.

About the lack of appetite, I don't know if that could be due to the drugs or not, but if he is not eating enough calories then you should try to syringe feed. I think a vet appointment is a good idea too.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)

here you have it
 

Attachments

  • 0e4ce539-3aed-472e-93fb-cae281482674.jpg
    0e4ce539-3aed-472e-93fb-cae281482674.jpg
    41.7 KB · Views: 945
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)

maybe i should feed him some HIGH carb food, and try to get his numbers up?
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)

Wow, great link - I never ever would have thought that tramadol could effect blood glucose.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)+13~5

thank you libby for the link..
i am now not sure if i should continue the tramadol, or stop it tomorrow morning and see how this plays out?
Also, would feeding him high carb be counter productive?
or at this point, it is what it is? and just continue to monitor?
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)+13~5

I would say on the food part, feed whatever he will eat, and hopefully he will eat a bit more for your comfort.
I'm sorry you feel crappy, but don't beat yourself up.
you are doing your best.

any chance you could speak to your vet about the tramadol? sooner rather than later.
tell them your concerns with the info you got and how he is feeling.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)+13~5

When you go to the vet, take a print of the tramadol effects info. Some cats are more affected than others, so it's something to keep in mind. If taken for a length of time, you may lower the dose, but what will happen after the tramadol is stopped? I don`t know if the dose would rise or if the tramadol has a certain amount of lasting effects on BG.
Something to watch closely.
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)+13~5

i can't open the link that is in the conversation that libby attached, is it just me?
 
Re: 12/14 Mowgli-AM~68(no shot) +11.5~50+12~49(no shot)+13~5

Nope, I can't open it either.

I wouldn't beat yourself up, you had no idea there was a problem with the meds. In fact, your vet may not be aware of it either. I would call him tomorrow and talk to him about the tramadol.

The good news is that you have been monitoring him and have reduced his dose appropriately...so good job, Keri!

In the meantime, I agree with Ronnie, feed him what he will eat.
 
His appetite is still less than stellar...
question..
i am thinking about stopping the tramadol..
As in, not giving his dose this morning..still an hour from now... I will be gone all day, i AM going snowboarding i need it.badly..

so once again, i will see what his AMis, but even if his numbers go up (which they have some) i am not confident enough that he will eat today, as I know he didn't eat all night...

Todays experiment...NO Am shot, NO tramadol.... see what his BG is tonite...

Thoughts?
 
P.S
Could he be nauseated??
He has walked up to plates of food this am, (the left overs from last night) and seems to want to eat...smells it and walks away..
could he have a smelling issue? i know that, that has alot to do with their appetites..
 
keri i just took a looksee and i think yu need to skip a shot today. the tram can lower bgs and do that for an extended period for about a week. also u had a dental and its quite possible that mowgli will require less lantus since his teeth are in a better stste. i do not suggest u give him any insulin today but rather let his shed drain. u are usuing less insulin right now as it is plus u have the tram in his syetem.tram will decrease the appy. skip the shot be safe. go snowboarding have fun and u can always deal with his BGs later. dont shoot him he needs more insulin like a hole in the head. he needs to drain
 
between the skipped shot,shed drain. and lower bgs numbers he will be high but its not a problem getting him back to square.i think you will end up having some less requiremnts on your dose after he heals up and is oiff any antibiotics.tram can and will decrease appy.
 
Thank you for your prompt response this morning!
I will shred some mountain for you!!
Oh my do I (and probably Mowgli too) need it! drinking24
 
just keep in mind that especially after dentals there is often a decrease that will need to be done.u have a few slipped shots there as well as i see yu had lowered his dose.already.good move on your part
 
Keri...glad you are getting out and getting some much needed recreation!! I wonder if he still needs pain meds this long after his appt AND I also wonder if buprenex would have the same effect as the tramadol? Just thinking...don't know. It will be very interesting to see what happens to his numbers when he's off the tramadol but back on the juice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top