12/10 Khan Amps 115, +5.5/107,11/144 Pmps 206,2/333,4/232

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31738

Khan's 5Ps:

Peeing- Ketones negative
Pooping - less smelling and solid-normal
Purring- was purring last night and this morning when BG was 53
Preening- last night when BG 187, 98.

Coming out to living room and hanging out with his brother more, insists on Wisp(his mom) to clean his head!
 
Re: 12/10 Khan Amps 115

Jenee, I'm sorry I didn't see your question yesterday...I would have said to keep him at 1.0u, because he was bouncing and would be getting back to better numbers anyway. You don't want to increase when he's bouncing, because when the bounce clears, his numbers will drop low. It's ok, now you know. Lovely numbers overnight!

I see you shot a reduced dose, left food out and are planning on checking him at +3.5..that's a good plan because that 115 is food influenced so he may (or may not) drop again. Since he usually bounces from the greens, I think he'll be ok, so don't panic! I'm glad you shot something, his numbers would be very high tonight if you hadn't....between no insulin and the bounce combined.

Anytime you need a question answered or just want someone to take a look, please put something in your subject line to indicate that, and post to your condo to bump it up, ok? You need to edit the first post on you condo, add something to the subject line, then submit...then it will show up on the board. I'm sorry I didn't see you had questions, and I will be gone most of the day today, but I'll check back on you when I get home later today. Others will probably be around, so if you need help, do what I said above, ok?
 
Re: 12/10 Khan Amps 115

Take a look at this post, there's great info about how to handle low PS #s and will help you! Next time, I would also suggest you post and get someone to help you decide when to shoot, ok? You should have stalled a bit this morning....I don't have time to go into detail now, will explain more later, but it's in the post I'm linking also...

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27894&start=0
 
Re: 12/10 Khan Amps 115

Will do. I really appreciate your advice and look for it daily. I will stay close to FDMB because I really want to do everything I can to get his numbers to stay under 150 ..he seems so much happier-nice to see that.

Love the new picture! Khan use to have a mane like that but it will take some time to grow it back at the rate he is losing his hair again. I believe his allergy is to beef. I need to go switch the food at the store to chicken Fancy Feast and see what happens then. The savory salmon worked great- his hair grew back beautifully. but he seems to be gaining with the beef & liver and Mixed Grill and Beef variety.
 
Re: 12/10 Khan Amps 115

I have the print out of how to treat low numbers and read it last night and this morning. I had to leave and couldn't stall any longer this morning. The reason I shot was I didn't the other day and he shot up to 400.

My thinking was this (let me know if this is right ok?): His Pmps shot was 1.25 since I felt he must of had some stacking going on when he had the 42 number so I wanted to see if that was the case. Since his BG was headed down at the end of the cycle I tested to see if it was going to start to come up so I would know when this occurs...but BG went down to 53 so I had to give food. I waited as long as I could to test after 7am and 715am his number 115 appeared to me that the numbers were headed up again which would make sense. His Pmps shot insulin would be almost depleted so without a shot his BG would skyrocket again to 400- I didn't want that so I shot 0.5 to be safe and left out food with a plan to check at +3.5. If his number is low at +3.5 I will post and ask for advice on whether to leave out HC food.
 
Re: 12/10 Khan Amps 115, +5.5/107

Thank goodness!! BG is looking good!

Left out 2 frozen cubes of food, 2cFF at different locations. Khan is hanging out with the other furbie family members on the couch in the living room. Funny picture. I'll try to post it later.
 
Re: 12/10 Khan Amps 115, +5.5/107,11/144 Pmps 206,2/333,4/23

Switched Khan's food to Fancy feast savory salmon, chicken feast and chicken and liver feast-- all on no grain, low carb binky's list. Lets see if this will slow down and eventually eliminate his scratching of ears/front legs/belly..if not then he is allergic to chicken too.
 
Re: 12/10 Khan Amps 115, +5.5/107,11/144 Pmps 206,2/333,4/23

5Ps are looking good for Khan tonight. He has been hanging around in the living room, even jumped up on the other cat bed! Even was purring and all stretched out on the bed. Can't tell which cat has sticky pee but one does which is a big indication of renal. I believe it is one of two cats: Wisp (cancer) or Gracie (the on that meows in the basement all the time). Gracie is scheduled for lab work-no outward signs of any issues. Wisp well I believe it is her. I just pray she is good through christmas. Grandma is eating everytime I offer her fancy feast with extra water, purring and sleeping in cat tree (khan's room). Had a young cat come visit last night during snow storm. I did what I could, invited cat to come in (well sort of -come by me but the cat ran as fast as it could). Set up outside shelter. Just read a post on this with storage unit.. I will do that but in mean time have large cardboard box with styrofoam inside, warm blankets and a flap to cover the hole, food and water. No sign today at all of the cat. Oh well I tried and will keep trying. My son was sad and worried since he saw the cat run away in the snow. I told him God takes care of all the animals- we can only play the part in his story.
 
Re: 12/10 Khan Amps 115, +5.5/107,11/144 Pmps 206,2/333,4/23

You had asked about insulin resistance in the remission vs mgmt thread - you are doing fine with a low dose, so you don't need to worry about insulin resistance. The doses are much higher with an insulin resistant cat.
You had also asked about using a fast acting insulin along with Lantus and yes, most of the high dose cats have received both bolus and basal insulins, as needed.
I don't see any insulin resistance or a need for use of a fast acting insulin like R for Khan; it looks like he is doing just fine.
A little more regularity in his shots and you may be needing to worry about measuring a dose small enough for him!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top