viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30779
WCR: All P's Present
Good Morning Everyone
I imagine everyone is crazy busy around now so hope all is well with each of you. Have missed posting - as in glad to be back. It's just that scheduling is hectic. Prefer to hang around and read and post.
It's been kinda "bouncy" with Gandolf. We're still recovering. I just got back home in time this a.m. to "poke & shoot" and the poke says 46! I didn't panic. Surprised but knew it came from the 1.5 dose. I stalled. I had to update the SS so I could post. So I stalled, BG came up and I shot a fat 1U at 10:00. Here's some of my reasoning.
ambg 46*; AMPS 69**; :* fed HC 2 Tbsp. **a food induced BG rise to shoot; Dropped dose to a fat 1 unit for several reasons; went to 46 shooting 1.5 last nite. 1.5 too much. He had earned to 1.25 before his stressful weekend. He would have been reducing from 1.25. ALSO, and big, we are shooting brand new insulin. Very possibly more potent than what we've been shooting. Plus, having yellow and pinks for several cycles at 1.25, upped it to 1.5 full, once. We're backing down. Also, shot 1U this time cause his BG is so low and really didn't want to skip the injection (half-hour stall/delay OK). Hopefully with food and monitoring we can ride this through a little steadier. That's some of my reasoning.
Something else, today's low number came much later in the cycle (Due to new insulin, I wonder?).. anyway, trying to be on the cautious side. Fed him again with HC before shooting - so that's 2 HC feedings. 1). to raise the BG and, 2) to keep the BG steady while the insulin kicks in. He's pretty carb sensitive so I don't want to completely lose this low. But I might. More reasoning.
Hope that all makes some sort of sense. But you know how kitty-logic is soooo different than bean logic so any comments with REAL LL kitty logic and experience are certainly hoped for. . (Note: Sorry! - missed Laurie and Sienne's post. Was time- squeezed to shoot or not shoot before the window of opportunity closed). I'm here till early afternoon with much to do in between, and will be watching him closely. Gotta go poke. BTW, Gandolf's mouth is much better. Looks healed. (another reason numbers going low maybe??)
So that's what's happening this cold & rainy Tuesday a.m. in East Tennessee. A big day today. Lots of big deep breaths and ear-pokes.
Wish you all the best.
Cee & Gandolf
WCR: All P's Present
Good Morning Everyone
I imagine everyone is crazy busy around now so hope all is well with each of you. Have missed posting - as in glad to be back. It's just that scheduling is hectic. Prefer to hang around and read and post.
It's been kinda "bouncy" with Gandolf. We're still recovering. I just got back home in time this a.m. to "poke & shoot" and the poke says 46! I didn't panic. Surprised but knew it came from the 1.5 dose. I stalled. I had to update the SS so I could post. So I stalled, BG came up and I shot a fat 1U at 10:00. Here's some of my reasoning.
ambg 46*; AMPS 69**; :* fed HC 2 Tbsp. **a food induced BG rise to shoot; Dropped dose to a fat 1 unit for several reasons; went to 46 shooting 1.5 last nite. 1.5 too much. He had earned to 1.25 before his stressful weekend. He would have been reducing from 1.25. ALSO, and big, we are shooting brand new insulin. Very possibly more potent than what we've been shooting. Plus, having yellow and pinks for several cycles at 1.25, upped it to 1.5 full, once. We're backing down. Also, shot 1U this time cause his BG is so low and really didn't want to skip the injection (half-hour stall/delay OK). Hopefully with food and monitoring we can ride this through a little steadier. That's some of my reasoning.
Something else, today's low number came much later in the cycle (Due to new insulin, I wonder?).. anyway, trying to be on the cautious side. Fed him again with HC before shooting - so that's 2 HC feedings. 1). to raise the BG and, 2) to keep the BG steady while the insulin kicks in. He's pretty carb sensitive so I don't want to completely lose this low. But I might. More reasoning.
Hope that all makes some sort of sense. But you know how kitty-logic is soooo different than bean logic so any comments with REAL LL kitty logic and experience are certainly hoped for. . (Note: Sorry! - missed Laurie and Sienne's post. Was time- squeezed to shoot or not shoot before the window of opportunity closed). I'm here till early afternoon with much to do in between, and will be watching him closely. Gotta go poke. BTW, Gandolf's mouth is much better. Looks healed. (another reason numbers going low maybe??)
So that's what's happening this cold & rainy Tuesday a.m. in East Tennessee. A big day today. Lots of big deep breaths and ear-pokes.
Wish you all the best.
Cee & Gandolf