11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91 +36 58 +39 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bid's Mommy

Member Since 2010
Bid's BG is only 103.. didn't come up much from yesterday at all... Not really sure if I should give him any insulin as I won't be home all day to check him every hour or so like yesterday.. So should I give him any or skip it? Does anyone have any ideas why his BG isn't rising?

Yesterday's Thread
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103.. Need Dose help??

Hi there just want to say good morning to you since I am up on the board waiting for advice myself I may have to make a decision if I do not hear soon I think you have to do whats comfortable for you and your cat if you are going to be gone today :-D
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103.. Need Dose help??

Good morning. I have not posted in your condo yet. Welcome....looks like you had long day yesterday. I am looking at your spreadsheet now.
How long before you have to leave?
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103.. Need Dose help??

Hi and Good Morning.. ~O)

I have about a hour til I leave.. I work about 20 minutes away but I'm a Nanny so it's hard for me to pack the kids up and leave but if I have too then I will.. I can test his ear in like 30 minutes and see. But if it doesn't go up a lot I don't know if I should give him any insulin cause if he dips back down in the 40's again like yesterday I will be nervous all day while at work.
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103.. Need Dose help??

Why don't you retest in 30 and post the number. The dose has been reduced but I don't blame you for not being comfortable....this is very new and you don't have a lot of data to support shooting low.

Just curious......you may have answered this question in a previous thread but I have not been here all weekend.....what are you feeding for high carb?
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103.. Need Dose help??

We are feeding him Meow Mix Market Select Brands that have gravy in it for the High Carb.. It's what we had left over when we started feeding him Low Carb.

I will let everyone know what his number is in 15 mins.
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103.. Need Dose help??

I was asking about the hc food because it seemed like you had a hard time getting the numbers up a little yesterday. It could just be that BID is not very carb sensitive. I could not find the Meow Mix on the list so not sure how many carbs......I am assuming that is wet food.

The link to Janet & Binky's food list is below. Fancy Feast has some new flavors that say for gravy lovers on the can not listed on the link below.
Anything with 18% carbs is good to have around. If I am repeating information you have already been given....my apologies. :mrgreen:

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodOld.html
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103.. Need Dose help??

Alright took his +1 and it's down to 92... I did feed him his breakfast which he ate about 1oz of.. So needless to say no shot this morning! I just hope it doesn't continue to go down today while I'm not here nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103..(+24).. +25 92

I agree.....I think the shed needs to be drained a little more. So nobody is confused and think you shot could you take the AMPS out of your subject line. It is only AMPS if you shoot. You could put +12 103 etc, the rest just like you did.
You don't have to worry about him dropping too much today since he has not had insulin in 24 hours. You can leave food out for BID.

Have a good day. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103..(+24).. +25 92

Hi Jenn....that is +24=203, +25=92 (you can take the AMPS out of the header)
I use Friskies Chicken and Tuna Dinner in Gravy Prime Filets (19%) or 9 Lives Tender Slices w/ Real Chicken (24%)

Bid's shed will drain even further ...this is good...he certainly did not rise too high at all w/o the shot last night.
Do you leave food out for him during the day? That is good if you leave him some LC for when you are gone...
Can you get a +11 this evening and post the number?
Hope you have a good day today....
 
Re: 11/30 Bid AMPS 103..(+24).. +25 92

Do you guys think that BID might be able to be managed with diet alone? Like Maverick was when he was first diagnosed?
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92

Hope I did the subject line correct.

I can try and get a +11.. I usually don't get home from work til like 6:15pm which is 15 mins before his PMPS.. but I'm going to try and get out a little early tonight.

And yes I'm going to leave out some LC FF while I'm gone today... This is the first day since he's been on insulin that I've had to go to work. I wish I could be home all day to watch/test him.
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92

good morning! Looks like bid is doing really well the last few days .. how encouraging! I know you will be nervous while you are at work but remember he hasn't had insulin in a few days so he should be fine while you are out .. have a great day!
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91

Alright got a quick +27 in before I had to leave for work.. His BG was at 91. I left out 3oz of LC FF and I'm off to work now... :smile:
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91

Looking very good today! I hope he continues to surf while you are gone, can't wait to see his +35 (it just looks so strange to type that +35! :lol: )
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91

Ha ha.. I know I'm all new to this but it feels very strange that he hasn't needed any insulin since yesterday morning.. I'm twitching to go home and see where he's at and what his BG is!! Counting down the minutes til I get to go home :-D Also very curious to see how much he's had to eat! I wish I could be home all day with him to give him smaller meals, seems to do better with 1/2 a can instead of a full can. bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91

GO JENN! GO BID!

I think we're all waiting with anticipation for your numbers this evening!!!
:smile:
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91

Jenn, there's a couple of ways you can portion out smaller meals while you are not there. One way is to use an auto-feeder, I use the PetSafe 5 meal feeder, there's also a 2 meal version. Many people here use one of those. Another way is to add some water to the food and freeze it in either ice cube trays or muffin pans. Then when you leave, leave some fresh food, and some frozen to thaw out for later. I've done that, and it works well. You can do the same for overnight.
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91

Hi Jenn,

Wouldn't that be great if Bid could be diet controlled. Waiting to see what you get for a pm #. BTW you did great yesterday. :-D

jan and sara
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91

Wow - this is fairly amazing. I would love to think that maybe Bid could be diet controlled. How fantastic! I can't wait to see what he posts for his +35. My gosh - so weird to type that. Good luck!
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91

Alright just got home and took his BG (+36!) and it's 58! I would LOVE if he could be diet controlled but I don't want to get too happy yet...

I just hope he's eating enough.. How much LC canned food should he be eating each day?
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103, +36 58

Go go go Biddy!!!

the way his #s drop after eating say his pancreas is working! I am glad you're monitoring, in case it needs a little support before he's declared 'diet controlled.'

As for caloric content... Dr Lisa has suggestions. But I think somewhere between 15-20 calories per pound of ideal weight is the formula. I THINK.

Best of luck on your OTJ trial!
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91 +36 58

Yay!! I'm very happy right now **fingers crossed* he stays in the green :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91 +36 58

Thanks guys! :smile:

And I have never been more excited to go to the vet and show her our spreadsheet and see what she has to say! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91 +36 58

I didn't read every word of your condo. But I am very happy for you :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91 +36 58

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

GO BID! Keep it going green! What a good kitty you are! :)
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91 +36 58

What wonderful numbers!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I am so happy for you! I hope your vet is overjoye too.
 
Re: 11/30 Bid +24 103 +25 92 +27 91 +36 58

Just a little update.. got a +39 of 66.. I won't be poking him again til tomorrow morning... I'm off to bed soon, going to feed him some more FF.

I'm a little low on money but I plan on going this weekend after I get paid to look for some more LC canned food and try out a few different kinds.. He's a little picky with the FF, sometimes he'll eat it all up and sometimes it sits a while so I'm going to try some other kinds see what he likes.. (He was a HUGE fan of the little bites & gravy kinds) So have to try and find something healthy and that he likes. :smile:

And I'd like to say Thank you again for all the help and support! I really have never come across another board like this for any reason that is so helpful, nice, and always there!! :YMHUG:
 
Congrats Jenn and Bid on these great numbers!! Wow!!! I'm with Sienne on this...would love to see the vet's jaw drop!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top