Nora & John & Tommy
Member Since 2010
Hi,
We recently re-started at 1.5u Lantus, and are up to 3.5. BG's have stayed very high, and dose increases do not yet seem to affect BG. Also, BG does not seem to follow a 12-hour Lantus curve.
We are very concerned that BG has been so high so long (neuropathy appears to be worsening), and feel that Tommy needs more insulin. However, if we increase too quickly, we may miss the appropriate dose.
It has been suggested that we consider using short-acting insulin booster shots as a quicker way to arrive at an appropriate Lantus dose, basically following this protocol: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... ?15,471430 .
So...are there folks who've had experience with this approach, and would be willing to do some coaching??
Any other suggestions?
Thanks.
We recently re-started at 1.5u Lantus, and are up to 3.5. BG's have stayed very high, and dose increases do not yet seem to affect BG. Also, BG does not seem to follow a 12-hour Lantus curve.
We are very concerned that BG has been so high so long (neuropathy appears to be worsening), and feel that Tommy needs more insulin. However, if we increase too quickly, we may miss the appropriate dose.
It has been suggested that we consider using short-acting insulin booster shots as a quicker way to arrive at an appropriate Lantus dose, basically following this protocol: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... ?15,471430 .
So...are there folks who've had experience with this approach, and would be willing to do some coaching??
Any other suggestions?
Thanks.