11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +12 62 +14 88 +16 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bid's Mommy

Member Since 2010
Back to our regular schedule after a loongg weekend and 1 week after Bid was DX with diabetes..

His BG was 161 and we still gave him his 1U so I hope he's ok today. I have the day off but it will be the first day my husband is at work and I will have to check his BG all alone..

Yesterday's Thread

Happy Monday Everyone!! ~O)
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161

You'll do fine! Nice chance today to fill in the alternate AM cycle blanks in your SS, like +3, +5, +7 !!

That is one SUPER AMPS number, after just a week, Jenn - if I were you, I'd be VERY encouraged by that!!!!
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161

I agree, that is a wonderful amps after just a week! I'm sure you'll do fine testing by yourself, sometimes mocha acts up worse when it is me and peter trying to test her. Hoping that bid just surfs the day away for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50!

Ok I'm slightly freaking out that only 3 hours later, Bid's BG is only 50!! I really hope it doesn't go any lower! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60

Ok I gave him a little bit of gravy and 30 minutes later it's up at 60. I also fed him a can of FF but he doesn't seem to want it..
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60

It's best to give small amounts of food at a time when they are low. You don't want them to get full and then not want to eat when you need them to. A tsp at a time is the way to go. Did he eat any of the LC? If not, you could give him a tsp and put a bit of gravy on top. Retest in 30 minutes ok? I'll watch for it...
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60

Hey Jenn....good job!! When you get him up, you might want to think about more testing when you get a number like 161 at AMPS. It would probably be good to do hourly testing on a number like that until you know him a little better. Glad you're able to get him up to 60..good job.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57

OK I'm back.. I tried getting his BG at +4 but I couldn't get any blood and he was MAD! So I finally got it at +5 with a BG of 57... He still isn't eating much of his FF.. I don't know if it's getting old or what. He loved it for a few days..

And I don't know if he needs a lower dose of insulin cause I'm nervous about him getting too low tomorrow when I am at work all day. I can't even imagine what his BG would be doing if we were giving him 2U like the Vet wanted!!! Crazy!
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57

Jenn...can you get him to eat more HC gravy...this is a nice surf but you have to stay on top of it. If he won't let you test frequently, he probably needs more HC to bump him up a bit; there's not a lot of difference between 60 and 57 and if it were my Gracie at +5, I probably wouldn't feed her but I know where her nadir is. I wouldn't go overboard on the gravy...just a bit but if you can get another test in 30 mins, that would be good.

You should probably put "DOSE QUESTION" in your subject line and let one of the dosing folks look at everything and make suggestion.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57

Jenn, if he won't eat the LC FF, then give him a tsp of the HC with the gravy. Some cats don't like to eat when they are low, some only want certain foods. When did he eat last, and what was it?

We can talk about dose after...
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57

Ok I will try to get another BG test soon...

He had 1.5oz of LC FF this morning after his AMPS and then gave him 3oz at about +3 but he only ate about 1/2 of that..
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57

Plus the gravy at +3, right? No more gravy after that?

Ok, post the next test. Let's see if he's surfing or dropping.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57

Ok it's dropping still... now at 5.5 it's 49!!

And yes he had gravy at +3 and at +5.. should i give him more now?
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57

Ok it's 20 mins later and his BG went up to 63..

His poor ear is a little red.. I hope I'm poking the right area.. I'm pretty sure I am and it doesn't seem to be bothering him I just don't know what it's red :sad:
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Jenn....did you get the pics I sent you on where to poke his ear? I PMd them several days ago.

Good that his number is coming up. I know it's tough but you gotta keep an eye on this because you don't know where he's headed.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Ok good! Now, if you could give him just a teaspoon his regular LC food, put a little gravy on it if he won't eat it plain...maybe we can get him back on the surfboard. Retest in 30-45 minutes.

You are doing great, Jenn! I know their ears get red, but you are not doing any permanent damage. Make sure you are putting a little pressure with a cotton ball or tissue after you get your test to reduce bruising. You can put some neosporin on to help healing.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

OK Thank you so much for all the help!!! He won't eat the food at all right now, (he's been trying to sleep and I keep walking him up to test so now he's sleeping)

Yes Marjorie I did get the pictures, Thank you. I'm 90% sure I'm doing it correct, I think I'm just second guessing it cause it's a little red now and my husband as been the one doing all the poking and this is the first day it seems red.

I will test again in 30 mins. And try my hardest to get him to eat some LC FF.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Ok, that's fine...watching for the test.

Good for you, first day doing the testing by yourself...lots of practice today, you'll be a pro in no time! :smile:

You can give him some of the HC food if he won't eat the LC. The gravy is good for boosting the numbers, but it doesn't hold them up too long, so if you can add some food he may stay up there and surf.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Alright that was rough.. took 20 mins to finally get some blood. He is so over being pricked :sad: But his BG is down again at 50... I gave him 1.5 oz of FF Cod, Shrimp & Sole... He seemed to love that one. A lot better then then turkey and giblets that he wouldn't eat earlier..

This is stressful and I'm nervous for him to be all alone tomorrow from 8-6 :!:
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

You could give him some gravy too, since he dropped again...silly boy, we want you to surf! He really likes those 50s. Retest in 30 minutes.

I know you are worried about tomorrow, so let's talk about it....give him some gravy and I'll post again with my thoughts about that.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Ok, on dosing...He earned a dose reduction to 0.75u with the 49 this morning....however, when I looked back at yesterday's condo, I see where Libby and Sienne both recommended that you reduce to 0.5u. The fact that you won't be home to monitor tomorrow and the way this cycle is playing out just reinforces that recommendation....I would reduce to 0.5u. Also, please get a +11 test and post it tonight so that you can get advice about tonight's shot.

Another thing that is really important that Sienne talked about is that you need to get some tests in the PM cycle. Even if you get a +3 right before bed, that will give you at least some idea of where he's heading. Many cats go lower overnight than they do during the day, and if you are not getting any tests, you are missing that...plus you are missing literally half of your data. Some people set their alarm to get up, some just stay up late enough to get a test or two after insulin onset. It's important.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Ok so I will lower his dose to the 0.5U. We are going to call the Vet now to get the 1/2 dose syringes.

And yes I plan on getting some tests done tonight during his PM.

Thank you so much Laurie for being around all day with all this advice! I appreciate it more then you know!
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Jenn, I am glad to help, I was here taking care of my own scuba diver anyway! :lol: Besides, that's what we do here...help each other out. I've been in your shoes, and other people helped me...I'm just paying it forward. :smile:

Did you get another test? Come on Bid, surf!
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Well I can't say Thank-you enough :smile:

And yes I did just do another test and it was at 59..
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Jenn I am sooooo impressed!!! :thumbup

You handled things amazing today! See why I was worried about Mavericks vet and any vet that says no to home testing. 2.0 would have been scary i think. Bid is in great hands with you and your husband and the great people on this forum. I am 100% confident managing Maverick with everyone here behind me.

You are doing awesome!
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

More gravy, please....if he will eat some of the HC food you could give some of that too...let's try to boost him up a little higher so he has more cushion.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63

Alright so I gave him a little time off from all the poking and just did it again at +10 and it's at 55.. Not really sure why it's not going up or if we will be giving him any insulin tonight.. I tried giving him some more of the gravy but he won't eat any more.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63 +1

Ok Jenn, he's still surfing, it's not unusual to see long surfs with lantus especially if the dose is too high. As long as he stays above 50, it's ok that he's not hungry...if he drops into the 40s and he won't eat gravy, then I would use a little karo on his gums...but hopefully he will surf or rise at this point. Some people use an oral syringe to get gravy into their kitty if they won't eat.

I know all of the testing is no fun for you or him, but it is for his safety. Not trying to scare you, but if you aren't testing and he drops, you could be looking at a hypo. As long as you keep testing, you can keep him safe.

You're doing fine! Let's just see what happens between now and PS time, ok?

I'm going to have to leave for about an hour, please test again in 30 minutes and post the result...I'll ask someone to keep an eye on you, OK?
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63 +1

Thank you! Yes I will test him again in 30 minutes.. I do know it's the best for him. Just have to keep reminding myself that! I definitely don't want him getting to low without me knowing!

I've been giving him a piece of chicken each time I check his BG.. is that ok to do? Even with how many times I've poked him today?
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63 +1

Wow! Jenn I am so proud of you! You're having quite a day today with Bid!

Sounds like the day I had yesterday, except I've been testing for a year. I'm so proud of you doing such a great job in your first week!
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63 +1

What an exciting day for you and Bid! That is a lovely surf, even if you are biting your nails... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63 +1

You are doing a great job Jenn! Now, do you have one of those plastic syringes? I had mine for meds or something.....
I use it all the time because Shadow doesn't eat when he goes real low <50 or so. It might be a good idea to get some from your vet or a pet store. I strain the gravy out of the cans and syringe it into his mouth. Sometimes, like today, I add the karo syrup to the gravy. It gives me peace of mind knowing that I can get at least the gravy into him. It doesn't fill him up like the solid food does, so I can keep giving it to him if needed.
How are you doing?
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63 +1

Jenn,

I see you had a exciting day. Great job! Aren't these people awesome! Do you still think you'll feel awkward telling your vet you changed his dose? I bet not. :smile: You'll be a pro in no time.

See you saturday.

jan and sara
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63 +1

Hi Jenn! How's it going? Any updates?

The info that Pat posted can really help when they don't want to eat. It makes it fairly easy to get gravy into them.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +3.5 60 +5 57 +5.5 49 +6 63 +1

I don't have one of those feeding syringes but I'm definitely going to have to get one! It has been quite the day I must say! I'm just happy it turned out to be a day I had off! Can't imagine if I had been gone all day! We just did his +11 BG and it was still at 55.. I'm going to do it again in 45 mins which would be his PMPS but with numbers this low I don't think I'll be giving him any? I'm extremely thankful for EVERYONE on this site and all the help! And that I didn't blindly just listen to the Vet cause she is wearing a white coat! And yea I definitely will not be shy to say that I lowered his dose now.. I plan on printing out my spreadsheet and bringing it with me on Wednesday!!
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +5.5 49 +6 63 +10 55 +11 55

This is probably what Pat uses to feed Shadow gravy when he's low.
I also use these to 'assist' feed a kitty if they won't eat.

feedingsyringe.jpg
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +5.5 49 +6 63 +10 55 +11 55

very nice job today! You did great - nothing like just being throw into the fire by a newly diagnosed kitty, and with only a few days of testing under your belt. Well done. Enjoy educating your vet on Wednesday - I am sure once she sees the data she'll come around.

Be sure your post your next number, OK?
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +5.5 49 +6 63 +10 55 +11 55

Your Pm test will technically be called a +12 tonight...not PMPS since you will not be shooting.
You can change your header to read AMPS 161 and then +12=________
the subsequent numbers will be +13, +14, +15 etc until tomorrow's AMPS.
Put N/S in the box on your SS and in the morning, give the new dose of .5u.

Tonight, the shed will drain a bit and the numbers may bounce. Just ignore the possible higher numbers...it might take a few cycles to get back on track with nice numbers, okay? But there is good reason for the highs...what a day you two had!!
GREAT job Jenn and Bid! :mrgreen:

Oh, and do try to get that syringe. When you feed only the gravy, they don't get too full and you can give them more if you need to. How do you feel? Excellent job today! :thumbup
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +5.5 49 +6 63 +10 55 +11 55

Great job today, Jenn and Bid!

Re: the syringe. I asked the pharmacist at Target if they had any for sale and they just had them, loose, behind the counter. He gave me two and didn't charge me. Maybe it will work for you, too.
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +3 50! +5.5 49 +6 63 +10 55 +11 55

OK his +12 BG is 62.. So I wont do a shot tonight.. Do you think I should still test every couple of hours tonight? It wont be based on the insulin but do you think I should still see where he's at?
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +12 62

Hi Jenn! YAY- Bid came up some! :-D I would do some tests tonight, especially early on just to make sure that he hasn't dropped again, and to see where he is at. Excellent job today!
 
Re: 11/29 Bid AMPS 161 +12 62

I would do a couple of tests tonight if I were you. Good job! He really got a lot of mileage out of the 1.0u this morning,eh?
Maybe test at +2 and see where he is. Then, depending on that...one before you go to bed maybe. I do expect that he will be rising...but it is all good data. Did he eat his dinner just now?
Do you give a snack during the night at all?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top