11/29 Simon: AMPS 435

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Today is only the third day of testing and yesterday went so well with decreasing Simon's insulin to 1 unit. His number is so much higher today. Do I give an extra amount or keep with the 1 unit for three days to see what happens? Thanks. Georgia and Simon
 
hi Georgia,
I think the others will say to hold the dose - you are basically starting over and will follow the protocol as suggested by others.
With Lantus and the shed, you may still be seeing some of the shed draining, and if you look at the 116 you got last nite, it could be that Simon went even lower overnite and this morn is a bit of a bounce.

Whenever changing a dose, up or down, it's best to give everything some time to settle. Holding for 6 shots is nice, but if some constant high numbers are found when you test, then maybe it may be suggested to increase sooner.
The dose changes are usually based on nadir, commonly .25u or .5u, but for now, you and Simon can get used to the testing process, and you can amass some data for your spreadsheet.

Just watch and see; very soon you are going to see Simon's pattern in his numbers and you understand more each day how the insulin is working and how SImon is reacting.

Awesome job with the testing and recording, Georgia!
 
Ok, I'll give him the 1 unit this morning and then do a re-check in an hour before I leave for work and then again at lunch. Thanks for the quick advice!
 
good morning guys! Looks like Gayle gave you some good information so you are all set on what to do for awhile ... I hope that simon comes back down for you today and joins the other kitties on the lower floors .. have a great day guys!
 
hi all! I'd stick with this dose for a while too. Gayle has given you some great information. You're off to a great start - it will get easier as time goes on. Sorry for the high number this morning, I hope he will have better ones later today. Have a great day today!
 
Re: 11/29 Simon: AMPS 435; +7 315;

Thanks for the support. i was pretty upset with Simon's big number this morning, but it has gone slightly down to 315 at 7 hours -- I tried to get home to test at 6 hours, but couldn't get away from work. Hope it is ok to do mid day test at 7 instead of 6. Simon is feeling good today and has eaten all of his food without throwing up. I will continue to give 1 unit over the next couple of days and hope for better numbers.
 
I would not worry too much about getting mid cycle tests during the week days. Lots of people work and just have to leave their curves to the after work cycles and on weekends.

I am not sure if it's been mentioned but you can try to catch different times on your testing. You don't have to always get +3 +6 +9 numbers; you could get +2 +4 +8 sometimes. Change it up and see what you find. One of mine has a nadir a bit before +6, but my other is closer to +10, and the way I found out was by testing at different hours.

Keep your eyes on Simon as that's who will let you know if it's all working or not. There will be times that you have high numbers but Simon is acting better - it may be a sign that he's getting ready to have some better numbers soon. Often you see the cat improve before the numbers improve.

And one great sign is eating! Eating nicely and not hurling after is a great sign.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top