1/18 Sara AMPS 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

jan and Hep and sara (GA)

Member Since 2009
Morning LL,

Sara is doing well. A little to well for me re her PS. So I shot at +13 [#126] She is guarding her bathroom rug, which is not a surprise to me.

These are the #'s I took this morning:

+12 71
+12.5 108
AMPS 126 [shot 1.75 @ +13]


I gave her HC last night because she was 53 and had to go to bed. I did another check to make sure that she was going up. In hindsight I probley should have let her get lower, so I can see if she needs a dosecrease.

I'll see what happens tonight. Tomorrow is one of my late days. I don't have to get up till 4:30am instead of 3:30.

Of course I'm off to work.

Have a great day,

jan and sara

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2911
yesterdays thread
 
Re: 1/18 Sara AMPS 71

Numbers are looking good. Not too low to be scared but in a nice range. Have a great Monday :)
 
Re: 1/18 Sara AMPS 71

Morning Jan!

Sara is doing really well! These are great numbers, but if you have to keep stalling in the AM because of preshots that you don't want to shoot, you can reduce the dose to get back to a 12/12 schedule. Don't want you to have to keep stalling because you are uncomfortable with what you are seeing.

Can you fix your spreadsheet so that the actual number that you shoot for the PS after stalling is in the AMPS/PMPS section? You can put the +12 and subsequent stalling tests in the note line on the side. Whatever number you shoot is your AMPS/PMPS.
 
Re: 1/18 Sara PMPS 289

Sorry about the wrong AMPS this morning. I knew that, I guess my brain was'nt working to good that early.

I would shoot a lower # if I was going to be home to test. Although that 71 I don't think I would have touched with a ten foot pole. Plus I'm gone till AM +11.

Could this higher # be because I stalled the shot this morning?

I'm glad I have all you to help me through this. It was much easier when I just shot blindly like I was told to do when she was first DX. [before I found FD] I'm only kidding, I shutter to think of how low she might have gone. It was vetsulin too. It's a miracle shes still here.

Thanks,

jan and sara
 
the higher number could be due to stalling this morning, or it could be some bounce from the 50's last night, or most likely a combination of the two. It's not a bad number at all, though.

I agree with Cassandra, if you keep having to stall because the number you get isn't shootable for you, then you can decrease the dose a little bit to try to bring the preshots up to a point where they will be shootable every 12 hours.
 
Re: 1/18 Sara PM +3 214

Cassandra/Libby,

How much do you think I should decrease? 1.5 instead of 1.75? confused_cat [I always like to have an excuse to use the blue cat]

And is this just for those times that she is low, and I don't want to shoot?

No keytones.

Thanks again,

jan and sara
 
You would decrease the dose overall, so that it would give you higher preshot numbers that you could shoot on a 12/12 schedule without having to stall until you got something that you were comfortable with. Lantus and Lev work best with 12/12, otherwise you get shed draining and lack of consistency each time you have to stall.

Another option would be to shoot 12/12, but BCS dose each time you get a lower preshot, but that pretty much leaves you in the same situation. Lantus and Lev like consistency. We need to have you have a dose that you can shoot without fail 99% of the time 12/12. You could take it to 1.5u, or you could skinny the 1.75u up a bit (like a fat 1.5u) and see what kind of preshots that gives you. If you are still getting preshots you are uncomfortable shooting without stalling, then you would reduce again to the regular 1.5u.

It would be great if she gave you a nice green preshot on a day that you were home so that you could shoot it and see what happens. One saying here is the lower the preshot the flatter the curve/shoot low to stay low, and that really is true. I can shoot preshots in the 60's and 70's without issue and Sasha usually stays pretty flat. It's those mid blue preshots that she has more action with. I think you'll probably see that with Sara too, but you have to see it to believe it and to be comfortable with it.

It may help you to look at other Lantus/Lev kitties that have green preshots often, to see what I am talking about. Here is the list of current LL kitties: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html

Check out Sasha (both mine and Barbara's are good examples), Heather/Jasper, Lynn/Bear, Kathy/Kitty, Jackie/Punk, and Deb/Spot for some good examples.

We just want you to be comfortable with what you do. If you aren't okay with shooting green now, then decreasing the dose a bit would be a solution. Otherwise you can hang in there if you think you may want to try shooting green in the future. Everyone gets used to it at their own speed. :smile:
 
ditto to what cassandra has said. take a look at alex's lev ss, too.
i think you'll find it illustrates what cassandra is talking about...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top