11/20 Rocket PMPS 113.4 +2 73.8 +3 70.2 +4 88.2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4-SKIP SHOT?????

Please don't feed yet. It is better to wait and test again in about 15 minutes to see if he has risen, stayed the same, or dropped.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4-SKIP SHOT?????

he hasn't eaten since +9.....i got up to test him and then he ate....now he is lower than at +9...is this normal?

as i said he gives me drama in the early cycle (from his SS) but i can't be here past his +3.5

i don't know what to do........waiting the 15 mins to test again....haven't fed him....but he also needs his phenobarbital which i can not stall at +12.5 and he needs food then...... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4-SKIP SHOT?????

So, you have until +12.5, then?
How long is your appointment?
Let's see what his numbers are doing. Maybe, you can give a half dose this morning, just to get something in the shed for tonight.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4-SKIP SHOT?????

he is already getting 0.5u....pretty hard to measure half that.....it's snowy here so who knows how long it will take me to get there and back...roads are pretty bad....so calculating maybe 3 hrs away....best case scenario 2 hrs....do i give the science food instead of his normal food FF and give full shot 0.5?
i questioned this yesterday...i can not be here past +0.5 tonight after pmps either.....oh this is so upsetting.....
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4-SKIP SHOT?????

I am not help with dosing but I know if you are going to worry about him a lot then I would do with what you feel comfortable this is what I do for my cat
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4-SKIP SHOT?????

Breath. You're doing fine. I see you shot a simular number a few night ago. But, I know you're worried about leaving him, and you don't need the extra stress of driving through the snow, too. You do need to do what makes you feel comfortable.

Did you get another test, to see where he's at?

I see at the top of your spreadsheet it says you give fluids right after AMPS. Can you delay giving his fluids today, until after your appointment? The fluids may lower his BGs, I think.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4 +12.15 99-SKIP SHOT?????

if it's any comfort Claudia, you have a rising retest number there.
what ever you decide, given the options, leave plenty of food out for him.
you can mix LC and MC if you like too.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4 +12.15 99-SKIP SHOT?????

I don't blame you for being worried if you have to go out for a little while. If you feel more comfortable giving a reduced dose or skipping this morning, I'm sure Rocket will get back on track quickly. He might not even get off track, who knows?
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4 +12.15 99 +12.5 99

gave reduced shot...not sure by how much...so long as he got something in....feeding now...will give phenobarbital...then at +2 fluids....hopefully all goes well

i was surprised to see that number cause he ate at +9 and before eating i tested him....so i didn't do a +11 as i saw the number going up from his +7...is this common?
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4 +12.15 99-SKIP SHOT?????

Dyana said:
Oh good, Libby's here :razz:


I couldn't help but chuckle when I saw your comment Dyana. Like....Oh good, Mom is here now....everything will be OK. :lol: :lol:

Libby has good advice regarding the shot Claudia.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4 +12.15 99 +12.5 99

it's not uncommon for Lantus kitties to drop a little at the end of the cycle. We call it a "double dip." Also, if he ate after the +9 test then it's possible that his pancreas helped bring the number down between +9 and +12. :smile:
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4 +12.15 99 +12.5 99-gave reduced s

does that mean he is getting better? or was that a fluke?
could he be heading to otj again? or am i jumping the gun here? so many questions so early in the morning.....

where are my manners??? MORNING ALL AT LL!!!!! it is snowy and bitterly COLD....brrrrrr....if it were me i would not go out at all but such is life that i have to :sad:
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4 +12.15 99 +12.5 99-gave reduced s

Claudia & Rocket said:
does that mean he is getting better? or was that a fluke?
could he be heading to otj again? or am i jumping the gun here? so many questions so early in the morning.....

He's definitely getting better. As far as whether he is heading to OTJ again, we'll have to wait and see but he's looking good.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4 +12.15 99 +12.5 99-gave reduced s

Nice hooting Claudia!
You did see my comment about the fluids maybe lowering his BGs? I'm not that familiar with giving fluids (only did it once on a friend's cat), but I thought I read they can lower the numbers, so you might want to be careful if you give them at +2 before you leave. Hopefully, others with more experience can chime in on this.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 95.4 +12.15 99 +12.5 99-gave reduced s

Dyana said:
Nice hooting Claudia!
You did see my comment about the fluids maybe lowering his BGs? I'm not that familiar with giving fluids (only did it once on a friend's cat), but I thought I read they can lower the numbers, so you might want to be careful if you give them at +2 before you leave. Hopefully, others with more experience can chime in on this.

Have a good day.

in Rocket's case the fluids don't lower his numbers based on the data i've gathered....with that said...he keeps me guessing and on my toes so i will keep a watchful eye on him...

+1 108 :? looks like all the drama for nothing, right? he has eaten both times...AMPS and +1....the reduced dose might bring him to be all blue for the day....but i guess it's ok since i won't be here for a little bit....
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +1 108 :(

Be careful driving today Claudia. Leave food out for Rocket and try not to worry so much while you are away. I hate driving in the snow too. You have to watch out for other drivers more than yourself.

[[[Claudia]]]
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +1 108 +2 90

ok let's see where he is at +3.....now +2 90

i can stay until +3.5 max

this is so stressful.... nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

forgot to say...fluids have been given at +2............he seemed dehydrated so i couldn't wait until i got back from apt.....
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +1 108 +2 90 +3 79.2!!!!

going down even with such low dose!!!!!
i can test at +3.5 and 15 mins after that but that's it....fed him at +3.....as he is 79.2

what do i do? every 20 mins or wait the 1/2 hr?

meant to say i tested him at +3 and fed him shortly after
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +1 108 +2 90 +3 79.2!!!!

I would test in 15 and maybe give some HC...would that help ease your mind?
The HC will be temporary but will give you some peace.....and leave some out for him too.....
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +1 108 +2 90 +3 79.2!!!!

I agree with Pat, if you're going out then feed some HC and test in 20-30 minutes to be sure he's heading up. Then you can leave out more HC before you go.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +1 108 +2 90 +3 79.2 +3.5 77.4!

feeding HC will test in 20 mins now...last chance...my apt is at the hospital...so i can't cancel....
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +1 108 +2 90 +3 79.2 +3.5 77.4!

Claudia...I know you're busy with this but just wanted to lend our support and wishes for a safe trip out for you and that Rocket will be JUST FINE with some HC while you are gone. Please be careful esp if the roads are much worst than usual.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +2 90 +3 79.2 +3.5 77.4 +3.75 82.8

+3.75 82.8
leaving both types of food out for him HC and LC
he will surely nap for a while though...hope it's ok as he gets the ondansetron as well...makes him sleepy....
my poor Rocket...he has such tight med regimen....the diabetes is throwing everything out the door for him :sad:

off i go...will report later
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +2 90 +3 79.2 +3.5 77.4 +3.75 82.8

was staying out of the way earlier...but ditto on the safe driving!

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket AMPS 99 +2 90 +3 79.2 +3.5 77.4 +3.75 82.8

Be careful out there girlie.

Shadow has never had a dose so small but look at some spread sheets and see whose doses are less that .25 and ask them how they draw them up. I have practiced with a used syringe and water on wax paper, drawing up .25 and squirting back out a drop or two. Somewhere Elle talks about twisting the plunger slowly instead of pushing it as a way to squirt out only a drop or two at a time.

(man, I stink at explanations. @-) )

It just seems like the way it is going for Rocket, the time is almost upon you when you're gonna have to know how to do those micro doses.

But yay! for him. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket PMPS 113.4

i made it back home at +7.5 so tested right away he was 106.2
he did not eat anything i left him....NOTHING!!! so i gave him some food and he was so willing to eat....
then tested at +10 129.6
now PMPS 113.4...let's see where this night takes us!

btw i'm staying home...no biggy....i will monitor him closely...the roads are not great and rather than be concerned about Rocket and him NOT eating while i'm away i decided it was better to have some hot soup and watch him....DH doesn't mind...he is watching hockey lol!

we shall see if the 0.5u given at pmps makes him dive again!!!! nailbite_smile

Kim, i will try practising as well....i do get what you are saying! :-D
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket PMPS 113.4 +2 73.8

i was cooking and time went by so i didn't test at +1....then he ate about 1/2 hr ago at +1.5....so i figure gives me time to clean up etc with DH's help....so at +2 73.8

so i wait another 1/2 hr or 1 hr to test and see? he ate at +1.5....should i feed more?
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket PMPS 113.4 +2 73.8

this looks good. I think you're fine waiting an hour, especially if he just ate. Rocket is a fine surfer.
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket PMPS 113.4 +2 73.8

another ?

to what point do i need to lower Rocket's dose from 0.5 to 0.25?
based on the blues today and yesterday i don't think it can be lowered yet, right?
what are your thoughts?
 
Re: 11/20 Rocket PMPS 113.4 +2 73.8 +3 70.2-?

ok so at +3 70.2...so do i let him be or do i feed and test again in 1/2 hr or 1 hr or not feed and test in 1 hr?

i know i'm rumbling...sorry....he has not eaten since +1.5......

what should i do?
 
he ate on his own (came to his bowl rather than me bringing food to him)...that was 15 mins before +4 so now i tested +4 88.2

will try to get another test if possible before going to bed....if not then back at it tomorrow...

thank you all for your help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top